The encounter

in #busy6 years ago

                                 

Image credit

My friend recently had some kind of paranormal experience.  Although I don't believe in these things, it was fascinating when he told me the story. I'm writing this as he told it to me and I'm trying to retell this as close to the real story. So here goes.....  

Many people don't believe in ghosts.  I have listened to many ghosts stories during my lifetime and I have always disregarded this as complete and utter nonsense.  I am a very open minded person and according to me there is an explanation for everything.  I do not believe in the paranormal. Until recently....  

A few weeks ago we decided to go away for the weekend with some close friends.  They have an eight week old baby, and we are the godparents.  Although the baby is still small and complicated things a bit, we decided that we were going to enjoy ourselves and just work around the baby's schedule. We all needed a break from life.  

                          

Image credit                

When we arrived at the cottage we were relieved to see that there were three rooms, and that we won't be cramped up.  We would be able to stay in one room, and the parents of the baby took the two adjoining rooms so that the baby could sleep on her own.  

We settled in quickly and were looking forward to a great weekend! We had a wonderful dinner, and played some games in front of the fire.  We were all very relaxed and after drinking about three bottles of wine, we all felt a little tipsy and decided that we needed to go to bed to get some much needed "alone" time.  

The baby was put to sleep an hour or so earlier, and everything was very calm and quiet.  We all went to our respective rooms to indulge in some personal time with our partners. We tiptoed past the baby's bedroom as not to disturb the little angel. My partner and I shared a kiss in front of our bedroom door....

Our friends were already in their room and we giggled because we knew exactly what they were up to. Having an eight week old baby does not improve your sex life much:)

We knew our luck was out, so we relaxed a bit because we knew we would be babysitting.  I went downstairs to go and fetch the baby monitor which my friend left on the kitchen table.  She definitely had other things on her mind:)

My partner was waiting for me at the top of the stairs and we walked back to our room hand in hand.  We opened the door to the baby's room just to take a peak and to see if everything was fine, and she was still very fast asleep.  

                             

Back in our room, I turned up the volume of the baby monitor and I could hear every little breath.  She sounded so peaceful.  My partner left me to go and take a cold shower, as the heat was overwhelming and possibly for other reason's too:)

I must have dozed off a little when I was awakened by a woman's whisper.  I turned to my partner and realized that she was fast asleep. It was nearly midnight.  I turned around to go back to sleep.  Something in my subconscious must have woken me again an hour or so later, and I sat up straight to focus better.  

The whole house was quiet.  I thought I had been dreaming, and turned around towards my partner and pulled her closer to me. She moaned a little, but then we dozed off again.  At  three o' clock I was once again awakened by a whispering sound.  

It clearly sounded like someone was singing to the baby. I thought it was her mother, so I turned around to go back to sleep once again.   

The next morning after a groggy night, we all went downstairs for some much needed coffee after our endeavors with the wine the previous night. Our friends were all happy and all smiles. We just smiled back at them as we knew how much they needed the action from last night.  

The baby started crying and our friend Sarah, went upstairs to go and fetch the little angel.  

"Thanks for babysitting last night" she said when she came back downstairs with the baby.  "I haven't had that much sleep in nearly a year" she laughed.  I just laughed and said jokingly:" Well, you were up a few times last night, I heard you singing to the baby, and you kept me awake half of the night" 

" Hmmm you must have been dreaming.  I didn't do any pajama-drill last night."  

I was a little bit shocked, but just left it.  I was certain that I heard someone sing to the baby last night.  I suddenly had a very eerie feeling, I couldn't shake it off for the remainder of the day.  

We had a great day at the lake, and we had an awesome barbecue that evening, before going back upstairs to turn in for the night. 

I still couldn't shake off that eerie feeling, but brushed it off, and made it off as my imagination.  It always felt weird not to sleep in your own bed. 

I fell asleep almost instantly with my partner in my arms, and was totally relaxed after a great day.  

Around midnight, something suddenly woke me up.  I couldn't pinpoint what it was.  I focused a bit and clearly heard someone singing in a soft voice.  Like a whisper.  I did not have the monitor with me, so I got up and opened our bedroom door slightly not to wake my partner. I checked the hallway.  Nothing.   

I went back to bed again, and made a mental note NEVER to go away again because sleeping in someone elses bed, just didn't do it for me.  

I lay there with my eyes closed for what felt like an hour. I just started to doze off when I heard it again. I immediately stood up and opened the bedroom door. I could still hear the singing and tried to follow the sound. It led me straight to the room where the baby was sleeping.    

The door was open slightly.  What I saw then I could not believe.  I was shocked to my core...I couldn't move. I couldn't breath.... 

Next to the crib was a beautiful young lady with long blonde hair. She looked as if she was floating next to the crib. I could clearly hear this blond figure singing softly to the baby.  I swallowed all sense of reality.  I couldn't stop staring at the blond figure, and she suddenly turned around, smiled at me and then disappeared into thin air.   

                            

I just stood there....I tried to scream but I couldn't make a sound.....I was frozen.  It took me a minute or two to get back my grip on life and I turned around and fled the scene.  

I rushed into the bedroom to go and fetch my partner so she could come and see the "ghost".  I just grabbed her arm and shook her vigorously.  With a shock she jumped up, and I pulled her to the baby's room.

 Silence....Only the baby sleeping peacefully in her crib.  I felt like a complete idiot. 

"There is nothing here, let's go back to sleep"  

Needless to say I didn't sleep a wink!  The next morning while packing to go back home, all I could think of was the beautiful blonde figure....

I told my partner about this girl I saw and she told me I have a vivid imagination...

It has been a few weeks since my encounter with the "blond beauty" and I have done a lot of research about encounters with spirits.  I can't explain the feeling I've had ever since......this mysterious feeling of contact with a being from another dimension....

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.229 which ranks you at #816 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 814).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 214 contributions, your post is ranked at #170.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78