Types of Governance

in #busy6 years ago

This will be a badly edited rambling. Sorry.

About the title: When I first saw @dan's post Proof of Governance, I felt like it was another pretentious post that would go right over my head.
I was wrong. It was not pretentious.
During the last days, I had to think about it again.

I am not much wiser, but I am trying to create a Discord community and I need to find a way to operate a community-run bot, which can reward certain actions inside the community with content-unrelated rewards on Steem. Everybody should have a chance to get the vote. The more you do for the community, the higher the chance should be, however ... I guess it boils down to picking a form of government.

An early member to the server was @isnochys.
I do not know him well. Since he joined, he contributed a lot of half-baked ideas to my brainstorms.
One was a gem though, and I had dismissed it too quickly; I will take inspiration from the feudal system of Crusader Kings II.

As far as I am aware, there is no such thing in the crypto space yet, but @ned seems to have gone down a similar path, according to his latest comments ...
Introducing a guild-like structure did not end well on Steemit, but I am sure another attempt at totalitarian blockchain governance will succeed, eventually.

For the United Decentralized Community for Freedom Peace Prosperity Education Environment and Liberty this is already established. I call the shots.
I don't want to be around all the time though and will therefore try to delegate most of the power to vassals. I have to think about this a little longer, but I am sure I can design an easy way for a vassal to create dejure titles within their own realm, which would allow them to recruit their own vassals, form alliances or challenge a title.

The entry barrier for this might be a bit high and the project a bit too big, but this is just a rambling anyways.

The possibilities are huge. Roles on Discord are color coded. I could reserve a certain range for a vassal and let him pick a shade for his subjects.. Perhaps I should go as far as creating a topological map and dejure counties...

For those of you already on the server: I am working on a simple registration for now.
Don't worry, it will be ready soon.

It is funny how the first stake-based community I ever encountered is so well established already, while so many fundamental questions have yet to be answered and I am afraid that only a lot of competition will bring this discussion forward.

How random was that n^2 @ 40 votes ? Where did those numbers come from anyways ?
How pointless is superlinear ?
I don't even get the latest proposals.. Is that a cast system ? Isn't that exactly what @dan was describing for his new eos-based social media ?
These forms of governance are pretty limiting to begin with and not very creative to be honest. I feel like I have seen that before.

How is it with all these proposals, that they are all so obviously aimed at further establishing the individual proponents influence ? It is ridiculous.
Who wants to buy into an enterprise where all the claims have been filed ?
Who wants to play a cash game where the rules will be changed, when the wrong players are winning ?

...

Perhaps I can find the time to finish the first service for UDCfFPPEEaL tomorrow.
Who knows; Maybe Feudalism is the perfect form of blockchain governance.
I will try to create a game around the bot's votes anyways. Why not go full grand strategy game ? It would be more honest and more entertaining.

I propose to abandon flags and replace flagwars with deathmatch duels.

Until we can get it on Steem, I could test it with UDCfFPPEEaL. In my normal sandbox games, I am a fair but strict ruler and rarely allow my subjects to duel ... But they are usually all descendants of my own dynasty anyways ... ( Crusader Kings is a great game, you should check it out )

For now, I am stuck with annoying problems, but I hope to be able to open at least the registration soon.

Sort:  

Yes.
Let's go full CK2.

I am 100% half behind this idea!

De jure titles?
Awesome!

Let's bring grand strategy to the blockchain!

I swear fealty.. Until I have enough power in the realm to challenge the title..

Few years already am waiting for bigger discount since it has like 150DLC and i want ost of them...:D

Have you heard of torrents ?
way of life dlc is nice.

I started with torrents, too..but as hunter and collector I needed those games "for real" :)

But yes, to get addicted, torrent it

well i dont steal games since i play them...forever...and i have money for them (mostly)...call it my ethics lol

The problem is, the longer you are waiting, the more dlc will come out.
You have to start at some point and buy into it.
Don't go full dlc! :)

haha yea...well if they never discount it sufficiently enough i will jsut seal the game for sure...for now i still have like 30 games to finish anyway sooo...:D

There is always a discount whenever a new dlc comes out.. Every 4 weeks or so:)))

I have given up in other games:)

"Few years already Im waiting for bigger discount", "well if they never discount it sufficiently". :) Steem has discounts all the time on vast majority of the games.

Great dear keep it up .

Ritter der Kokosnuss ...
Grandios ;-)
Sehr passend zum Thema!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

We must be much more tolerant of other people my friend @felixxx

Verkack's nicht! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55