Cheap Jeep Series - Steering Damper Replacement!

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to another installment of #CheapJeep!


Check out the previous posts here:


A lot of Jeeps (and other vehicles) come with a steering damper. This is one part of the steering system. It works kind of like a shock, absorbing impact and keeping movement to a minimum. This keeps the side to side movement of the vehicle within reasonable limits. When I was replacing our brakes, I noticed it was leaking and needed to be replaced. It's fairly simple with only 2 bolts.


It's right in front of the suspension/steering components with a bolt/nut at each end.
DSC_0603.jpg

DSC_0602.jpg

I begin with removing the cotter pin. This is here to lock the nut in place.
DSC_0604.jpg

I grabbed a 15mm wrench and a 19mm socket...
DSC_0624.jpg

...along with the impact and removed the first bolt.
DSC_0608.jpg

After that was out, I removed the castle nut and tried to remove the other end of the part, but press fit and rust doesn't work too well. I'd love to say it came right out, but the truth is I had to grind and drill it out.
DSC_0636.jpg

DSC_0650.jpg

Use of of these to remove it since it is press fit into the bore.

source

Old vs. new.
DSC_0640.jpg

There's two threaded parts on the bolt. One side goes through the damper with a nut on the other side of the damper, and the other side goes through the tie rod. Here's attaching the damper to it.
DSC_0654.jpg

DSC_0657.jpg

Reinstalling it.
DSC_0668.jpg

Tighten the castle nut, then put the cotter pin through it and bend both arms so it doesn't fall out.
DSC_0682.jpg

DSC_0683.jpg

Now reinstall the other bolt/nut on the other end. You're done!
DSC_0690.jpg

Stay tuned for the next installment of CheapJeep!

Special thanks to my talented wife @alovelymess for photographing me! Check out for page for more photography!


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

You must be fast-learning dude or this must be a learned skill. Which is it? You seem able to explain the process in a simplified way, better than the professional books on the subject.

I've been in the field for a few years, haha. Thanks man! That's a great compliment!

Great Explain!!!
i think this is the easiest method to teach or guide this process simplifiedly, superior to anything the ace books with respect to the issue.
Good job @drobinson!!! keep it up. (y)

Fantastic photos!!

She's a professional!

😂😂😂

That's as much as I know about cars. Lol

Good job with a good photography ,Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65