Cheap Jeep Series - Leaking Transfer Case Seal!

in #busy6 years ago (edited)

I have created a new posting series!


This series is to show others you can buy very cheap vehicles and fix them yourself for cheap, or even fix your current vehicle!


Checkout the previous #CheapJeep posts!

Today I replaced the transfer case's rear output shaft seal. It has been leaking for a bit, however it wasn't major. I ordered a new one a couple of weeks ago but I haven't had time to install it. This morning I decided to spend some time out in my office (garage) and get it done.

To remove this seal, first the drive shaft had to come out. Begin by stealing your wife's fingernail polish (this is a test to see if she reads my posts). Before you remove it you'll want to mark the drive shaft so you can reinstall it exactly how it came off.
IMG_20180120_091358.jpg

This is very simple to do, just remove the 4 bolts (2 on each side) holding it on. You may need to push the driveshaft forward a little bit and pull down to get it to separate.
IMG_20180120_091701.jpg

Pull the drive shaft out towards the rear of the vehicle. Careful, some fluid may come out. (This is after I pulled it out)
IMG_20180120_091801.jpg

Now you can start removing the seal. I used a cold chisel and a hammer by putting the chisel under the lip of the seal and hitting it to bend it in, a few profanity's later eventually I was able to get a good angle on the seal and pull it out.
IMG_20180120_093148.jpg

The new one can be installed now. I put some transmission fluid on the outside of it to help it slide in easier. You can put a big socket over it and tap it in with a hammer, or gently tap it all the way around to seat it until it's flush.
IMG_20180120_093505.jpg

Slide the driveshaft back in, and line up your fingernail polish marks, then reinstall the straps and 4 bolts. A torque wrench and blue loctite will come in handy here. Now that is it! Top off any fluid that you lost, then drive around the block then recheck to insure it isn't leaking anymore.
IMG_20180120_093932.jpg

Stay tuned for the next installment of #CheapJeep!


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

o wao... pretty lovely

Amazing thek for sharing with us..

Wow very beautiful machine photo Creative post

good post friends.

Great idea for a blog.

this is really great post

It is obviously a valuable post.
It beneficial to mechanic technology.
I thanked for your activity & creativity.
I will wait for your next post.
Thank you so much @drobinson.
#Resteem done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68