CheapJeep Series - A Reminder To Check Your Air Filter!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Happy Saturday!


In my last post, I started up a new repair series!

While I was consuming coffee this morning, I remembered I bought an air filter not long ago for our #CheapJeep that hasn't been installed yet. This is not something people normally think about, but it's very important! It may not look like much, but a clogged air filter can cause all sorts of problems.

Did you know that the recommended air filter replacement interval is 15k-30k miles?

If you drive on all paved roads, 30k is good. However if you drive down the logging roads in North Idaho everyday, it may need replacement as soon as 15k miles! It's not a bad idea just to check it at every or every other oil change.


Almost all the air filters i've ever seen have been on the driver side of the vehicle. Now the housings vary, some hold flat and square filters, and some hold cone/round filters. They all vary, as well as how you remove them.

On our Jeep, we have clips that you just push down on, then left the top half of the housing up. However some are held on with round clamps, or even screws/bolts such as the other one pictured.

After getting access to the filter, it just lifts right out.

As you can see, the left is new and right is old. It doesn't look too bad, you could bang it out and get some more miles out of it. I went ahead and replaced it.

If your filter looks like this....throw that sucker in the trash and spend the 10 bucks for a new one.

While you have the filter out, it's not a bad idea to vacuum out the housing of any debris such as this.

Now just drop your new filter in, reinstall the housing and you're good to go!


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

This is a great idea. I haven't seen any other repair-type posts yet. Will you be using your Jeep as the "guinea pig" for repairs?

Thank you! Yes, it's sort of the test subject for my vehicle repairs. Haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68