Transplanting Mielies!

in #busy5 years ago

Hey everyone, for everyone not too familiar with the title, a 'Mielie' is the South African Word for corn.

Here I planted Giant Glass Corn, this is the multicoloured heirloom corn I purchased on www.livingseeds.co.za check more about that here.. https://livingseeds.co.za/glass-gem-corn.html?search=glass+corn

20190926_163646.jpg

I did a little experiment.. I planted a few rows of these amazing mielies in rows as well as a few kernels in seed trays to plant into the fields later on! Turns out the ones in the seedling trays are growing faster which is rather funny given the roots are limted in terms of their ability to grow as they are hindered by the plastic container. I was fertilizing them however and the soil was probably better than the ones I planted in the rows!

20190926_163638.jpg

Now to transplant the Mielies that I had germinated in the Seedling Trays into the rows of perennial basil. The reasoning here is to try and keep cooler the perennial basil in the heat of the day, turns out this plant likes semi shade as all the others in my shady spots do much better than full sun!

20190926_133657.jpg

A nice shot of the rows of perennial basil on the right, in my opinion one of the best Bee-Foods available. These just need to green up and produce more flowers, hoping that with the bigger mielies rendering shade this will happen!

20190926_133651.jpg

As you can see with all the plants in the background I live on a Nursery, truly such a blessing for a bee, plant and nature lover like myself!

20190926_133644.jpg

20190926_135759.jpg

This is somewhat of an 'oxymoron' as the idea is for the corn to render shade to the basil and not the other way around. Corn (Mielies) needs full sun all day, Perennial Basil not. That role will reverse in around a month when the corn grows tall and wide, hopefully my plan works?

20190926_135756.jpg

All planted and done, this Mielie should in my estimation be producing some nice corn in around 2 months or less by which time it will be nice and big rendering good shade and cooler temps to surrounding Perennial Basil!

20190926_135804.jpg

Nature the incredible! I trust you have a super cool week further!

Cheer$;)

Sort:  

Might have to surround the basil on all 4 sides with corn for nice shade or did you align it so it will provide full afternoon shade? !tipuvote 1

Hey bud wow what a long time it has been are you well? Crazy how two years later when we met steem was $6? and now? I hear good times are imminent though? Well ye Sun Angle a biggie... It should work based on the Sun angle will keep you posted, thanks for poppin in ... Cheer$;)

Yeah, just keep fluttering over the steem sea. I am not powering down or doing anything with steem so the $ luckily not something that matters much. It is actually nice that steem is low because you do get more steem than you would have. Yeah will check how it turns out, it does sound like a good plan using plants to shade others etc.

Really cool! So the basil loves semi-shade? No wonder.. nothing work because I plant it under the sun. Hope your heirloom corns will grow faster😉

Well this technically is Perennial basil so yes this one loves semi shade or maybe 4 hours Sun a day the rest semi. Sweet Basil which I have too and love, likes full sun all day long, just lots of water for both. Cheer$;)

My neighbour planted the perennial one at the side of the street we live, under the sun but.. lucky that a jackfruit tree grow near to it. I see it ... you planted the basil for bees

I did plant them for the bees I am a bunny hugger like that.. and I love honey been a beekeeper it really is gold and one of the best plants for bees all year round, bonus I cook with the leaves too... can make a magic basil pesto and it literally goes with everything, including ice-cream ;)

Whooaaaaa.... you remind me to your sister 😉 and I ead your amazing experience with the bees and swarms (eventhough it's hard for me to differentiate it..I'll be the first who run away when the bees around, and the first one who grab the honey😆)

Basil ice cream 😱 it must be waaaayyyy better than the mint!

Yeye I love her broken, she has just had a daughter so totally besotted and busy, she will be back soon ;) @buckaroo its time?? x

Nice work! I heard those mielies also have a very nice taste to them. Keep it up dude!

Dude they are the best. Anything heirloom is. My landlord comes to me today.. Yissie Craig those Multicoloured Carrots are delicious sweet have amazing flavour not like store bought shit.. I said ye, heirloom no pesticides... I grow for myself him and his wife.. All of us have never eaten better.... with a little boy on the way 4 months we will and do all eat like Kings. Cheer$;)

Thanks my brother and super cool eating too. Cheer$;)

This post is supported by @tipU upvote funded by @penderis :)
@tipU voting service + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Congratulations @craigcryptoking! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2250 replies. Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @craigcryptoking!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.939 which ranks you at #4308 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 110 contributions, your post is ranked at #75.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50