Just Finished "Stranger Things" Season 3

in #busy5 years ago

image.png

image source


I've been a fan of "Stranger Things" since the very first episode. I think a lot of it just had to do with the nostalgia factor. Sure the acting and dialogue was pretty great too, but there was something about the "feel" of it that really hit home having been a child in the 80's.

I got the same feeling when I was watching the movie "Super 8". Even though the movie had a bit of a crappy ending and JJ Abrams nearly killed us with the excessive lens flare, it was still a really great movie just because of the atmosphere it had.

I thought season 1 of "Stranger Things" was close to perfect. I know there are some that don't agree with me. I actually commented on a post where someone was critical of the show a while ago. For me, it had the perfect blend of adventure, scifi, scares (I am a bit of a wuss), humor, and drama. Sure Winona Ryder's character can get annoying at times, but I would have to say that is pretty spot on for portraying a worried mom.

image.png

image source


I am going to do my best to not give any spoilers for season 3. At this point I was probably the last person in the world to just finish watching it, but I want to be careful anyway.

I am surprised to find myself saying this, but I really was quite underwhelmed by season 3. I think there were a lot of things that made me feel this way, but here are two of the most glaring reasons I can think of:

  1. They jumped on the nostalgia train much too hard in my opinion. Maybe I was being a bit naive, but I feel in the earlier seasons the 80's references were much more subtle. In season three they seemed to be much more "on the nose" and it was almost like they were trying too hard to include them. It's sad for me because those little Easter Eggs were part of what I loved about the earlier seasons.

  2. They ruined Steve Harrington (played by Joe Keery). Again, that is my personal opinion, but season 2 gave us a better side of him than we saw in season 1. Quite frankly season 3 was a side of him that I never wanted to see. The bumbling doofus persona is ill applied to someone portraying a high school graduate. Especially after having such a strong showing and transformation over seasons 1 and 2.

My favorite part of the whole season probably involves a "Never Ending Story" sing along. You will have to watch it to see what I mean.

I read that they are coming out with a season 4. I hope that lay off the fan service a little in that season and get back to the things that I feel made it such a strong show in the first season.


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

Looks like an interesting series! I hear a lot about this show.

I was not sure if you gave any spoilers in this post so I will admit I didnt read it as I am just about to start watching it I didn't notice season three was out

!trdo

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @bozz!
@bozz will receive 0.32806800 TRDO & @tattoodjay will get 0.21871200 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Watched season 3 only last week.
Just like you, I fell completely in love with the 80s vibe in the first season. Everything was just perfect, the scenery, the cars, the music... I don't know why or how, but I didn't get the same vibe from the 3rd season.
Still thought it was cool, tough. Can't wait for the 4th :0)

Glad to hear I wasn't the only one! I am excited for season 4 as well. It will be interesting to see the direction they head given the ending of season 3.

Well.. I might not bother now. I have seen 1 and 2, though (1) was better. @dismayedworld told me that 3 was out but I haven't bothered yet.

It's only like 8 or 10 episodes, so I don't think it is something you should skip, but just going in knowing you might not be as wowed as you were for the first two. You might love it though. It could just be me :)

I love me some stranger things! I would have to agree on all your points here.. it really upset me how weak and dumb they made steve in this season. I really hope the show doesnt fall off but if they dont do something great for season 4 I fear it may be the last season.. i also couldnt stand wills character, they just made him a whiny selfish brat who always complained about not getting his way... but yeah, good write up 😉

Yes, Will and Mike both were a bit annoying to me this season. If I had to pick a standout it would probably be Max or Lucas's sister. If I had to pick rock solid it would be El. Even Hopper was more annoying this season than in past ones.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Noooooo! I didn't read this as I am just starting it!!!!!

But thank you!~

!tip .20

No worries, I understand. I didn't really give any spoilers. Just my opinion of the characters.

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Living Abundantly Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I love season 3. One of the subtext is to show how the malls are fast becoming zombieland!

Very true!

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 2.51% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58196.53
ETH 3121.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42