Bozzlife: Thoughts from the weekend

in #busy5 years ago

IMG_20190525_205442.jpg


It was Memorial weekend here in the US and in addition to taking a moment to remember those who have lost their lives in service of our country, it also means the start of camping season for @mrsbozz and I.

Having brought home our travel trailer from storage at my parents house in April and spending the subsequent weeks cleaning, de-winterizing, and prepping it was finally time to get it on the road. There was just one minor problem as I was hooking it up though:


IMG_20190524_152727.jpg


This is one of the safety hooks that used to clip onto my old truck no problem. If you don't recall, I was recently forced to get a new truck and much to my surprise, this "S" hook was just a little too narrow to fit through the hole.


IMG_20190524_152734.jpg


Had it been just a little wider, I think I could have gotten it through. Since this is hardened steel, the only way to accomplish that would be to apply heat. I don't own a torch and we had to get on the road, so that really wasn't an option. Instead we quickly ran to the local farm supply store and got a couple of these:


IMG_20190524_162217.jpg


As you can see, they worked like a charm and with just the minor delay we were on our way! We made it to the campground without issue and within about two hours from when we had left our house we were all setup and ready to enjoy the weekend.


IMG_20190525_173225.jpg


We got some significant rain on Friday night, but by late morning on Saturday, things were looking much better.

As I was relaxing and getting caught up on some Discord stuff on my phone, I happened across this post in the @dlike Discord server.


Screenshot_20190526-103353.png


I am really excited about what this might mean for Dlike.io as in the past I have been pretty vocal about my love/hate opinion on them. @steemhunt went down a similar path when they first started with lots of spam and them realizing the need to create a whitelist to help ensure beneficial content was shared.

I have been delegating to @dlike for quite a while now and this recent announcement gives me some encouragement that I haven't been delegating in vain. The funny thing is, while I support them, I really don't post that much in Dlike. I have always felt it was a bit "spammy". I really like their addition of requiring forty words minimum with your opinion on the post. We will see if these changes work for the benefit or detriment of the dapp.


IMG_20190525_142836.jpg


IMG_20190525_134347.jpg


IMG_20190525_142644.jpg


IMG_20190525_142712.jpg


As I mentioned the camping trip this weekend was very relaxing. Jovi and I always enjoy our outdoor naptime when @mrsbozz goes inside to lay down.

I was reminded of a quote by Maya Angelou this morning and I really feel like it fits well with the weekend that we just experienced.

“love life, engage in it, give it all you've got. love it with a passion, because life truly does give back, many times over, what you put into it.”

Perhaps if more of us looked at Steem that way there wouldn't be so many people leaving... Speaking of Steem, @mrsbozz posted some of her first posts this weekend using the @actifit dapp. Okay, full disclosure, I authored the apps, but she wears the Fitbit that gathers all of the activity information. I look forward to spending the weekend hiking/walking with her and sharing about it through her Actifit posts. Her three posts so far are already doing much better than my first thirty posts did when I started on Steemit!


IMG_20190525_205543.jpg


Finally, I wanted to leave you with another campfire picture. I was given some little packets last Christmas that you can put on your fire to make it have fancy colors like you see in the pictures.

I hope you folks had as awesome of a weekend as I did! The next camping trip takes us to a park we have never stayed at before, so I really hope to have some awesome posts to share in the future!


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

always appreciate a camping trip with a loyal doge!

For sure! Now if we could just keep her from laying in the dirt... :)

Ah... good news about dlike! They were really low quality posts before... and I really had the feeling that scammers were just harvesting votes and rep with it. Great that they are making an effort to reign that in... steemhunt... I wish they would do that as well....

Looks like a nice spot for camping and glad you got some nice weather other than all rain

LOve the colors in the campfire i wondered how you did that so thanks for sharing

I love that quote and may steal it lOL

Thanks for this great post and being an active member of @steemusa !tip

No problem! It is one of my favorites. I know some people throw pieces of copper into their fire to get that effect or pieces of old garden hose. I can't speak to the environmental impact of it all though :p

I have seen that done with both hose and copper it may not be the best for the environment but it does look cool I guess if you don’t get too carried away with it it’s ok 👍

Oh I really enjoy camping. Farm supply stores have the fix for just about anything. That's quite the rainbow campfire there, really cool! My girls would love a rainbow fire like that!

life truly does give back, many times over, what you put into it.

True that.

We try to get as much in as we can in the Spring-Fall. Good old MI doesn't let you do much more than that. Caseville is our go to spot for the first trip of the year, we can get there without having to go on the expressway and it is still relatively close to home in case something goes wrong.

We live in metro Detroit area, we like to go up north or to Ontario to camp. It's tricky as a family of 6 (soon to be 7), but we make a practice of camping at least once a year.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: May 26 2019 Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I really like that first shot of the fire.

The colors are very interesting and the overall photo looks awesome.

I've never heard from @dlike... Looks an interesting thing.

Greetings.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 10.34% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bozz! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 30 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 485

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35