Bozzlife: Disaster Recovery Part III

in #busy5 years ago

image009.jpg


If you read this post or this post, you know that @mrsbozz and I have been dealing with a flooded basement for the past week.

This is truly something that I wouldn't wish upon anyone. The smell alone from the wet carpet and pad is enough to make your insides curdle.

Luckily we were able to get most of the water out of the way and a restoration crew was on site within a couple of hours getting to work. When I last left you, they had been running their dehumidifier and blower equipment for about a day.

Thursday morning I decided to stay home from work while @mrsbozz went in to work. I am not the type of guy that likes to get in the way of workers while they are doing their job so I stayed upstairs while they took care of things downstairs.

image006.jpg


Now that things were starting to get dry, they had the task of removing the pad from under the carpet and exposing the wall studs to allow them to dry. The project manager had told me the day of the incident that carpet pads are made up of a lot of recycled materials so when they get wet, they smell to high heaven.

You can see in the picture above and in the next series of photos the amount material that needed to be removed. After they had everything pulled up and away they let their equipment run for the next three days.

image001.jpg

image002.jpg

image003.jpg


The amount of destruction is pretty substantial. It feels like it is never going to be back to normal at this point. Either that or we still have a long way to go to get there. I had to shut the air ducts in the upper part of the house because the smell was coming through the vents.

On Thursday morning @mrsbozz alerted me that there was no hot water when she took her shower. When the workers took a break for lunch, I ran downstairs and discovered that the water had been high enough to put out the pilot light on our water heater.

It was a pretty quick and easy process to get it started again and after about an hour or so we had hot water again.

image004.jpg

image005.jpg

image007.jpg


We were supposed to go away this past weekend to visit my inlaws down in Ohio, but because of all the equipment running in our basement we didn't want to risk the chance of their being a fire. That would have been pretty ironic given how the situation started.

Saturday we did get a chance to get out of the house for a little bit and spend some time together which was really nice. We just needed to take a step away from the whole situation to clear our heads and collect ourselves.

Saturday afternoon was an extremely hard time going through the stuff in the garage and deciding what to throw away and what to keep. There were some tears shed for sure.

image008.jpg

image010.jpg


The workers set up some of the machinery so it would blow under the carpet to get things as dry as possible. By Monday the smell had diminished quite a bit, but it was still there. The workers came early in the morning and as soon as they arrived, I headed off to work. When I returned home, they had pulled all of their equipment and the carpet was laid back down in place.

The fact that their equipment was gone means that they hit the magic number of 14% humidity in the basement. Any higher than that and they would have left things running to make sure that mold could not grow.

I had told the workers that because of cost concerns it would be nice to keep the carpet. However, If they couldn't guarantee the smell will go away then I wanted it gone and I would deal with the financial impact later.

I am waiting to hear where we go from here. I am guessing they will either pull out the carpet or install a new pad underneath the old carpet and then clean it. At some point we need to have the walls re-dry-walled and painted and I have already been on the phone getting quotes to have our furnace inspected and a backup sump pump installed to hopefully avoid future incidents.

I still haven't gotten a cost yet, but hopefully it comes in lower than what our insurance is willing to cover. I promise you, more updates will follow for sure. This has been a huge impact on @mrsbozz and I's lives. What better way to commemorate it than to blog about it!


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

Good to read in your last reply you had an small insurance for this disaster! How are things going now?

Really sorry for your vinyl in your part II post..😔

They are still working. They need the dry wall to finish before they can paint an then do the carpet. Hopefully by the end of the week things will be back to a more normal state.

Crossing my fingers for you that the more normal state will be there by the weekend🤞

oh good grief dude. what a friggin nightmare.

Yeah, it has been horrible! I had to wear flip flops to work on Friday because all of my shoes were pretty much destroyed!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

What a nightmare i do feel for you both having to deal with this but rest they got it down below the magic 5% fairly quickly

Damn, that must cause some pretty big headache :( That's just bad luck that you have to make such big costs to get it fixed, I hope it's all over soon.

Take care and don't let it get to you too much!

Thanks, I appreciate it. Yeah, it has been a huge pain. We had to go shoe shopping the other night because I lost all of mine and I had to make a quick trip to the store for a new router because that got fried too. I haven't even tried to turn on any of the other electronics that were down there yet.

Ugh, all those electronics... Might be useful to get a huge bag of rice and put them all in there for like 2 weeks. Doesn't work every time, but it saved my phone when I dropped it in the toilet.

I had two laptops I had to junk for sure. I was close to getting the one working but I think I tried to power it on too soon. As long as I didn't lose my TV or my Turntable I should be okay.

O man you really got a handfull with this one my friend. I know a little bit about repairs and it is never easy. Usually, you start fixing one thing and run into 10 more problems along the way. I hope you get it fixed soon with no complications.

Thank you! Me too! It is definitely a pain!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 2.45% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

For something to look nice, you have to destroy it hehe first
My niece told me when I fixed the floor.
Aunt this fool has bought a broken floor haha.
Surely in a while you don't remember lying on the couch watching TV
Happy day

I really hope so! Thanks!

hehe seguro que si

OMG I don't even want to think about this happening to me!

It's bad, like I said, I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36