Bozzlife: Building something big

in #busy5 years ago

IMG_20190921_104547.jpg


It is usually a pretty good weekend for me if I get the chance to bust out one of my favorite power tools. Table saws scare me (I really like my hands and fingers), so most of my projects get completed with my trusty miter saw.

I wouldn't call myself a world class wood-worker, but I am mildly dangerous and I occasionally create some practical and decent looking pieces. My greatest accomplishment would either be the desk I made for my wife (that I have now taken over) or the shelves I made and posted about close to a year ago.

If you look really closely, you can see my old grill in the background behind the folding chairs. One of the things I loved about that grill was the fact it had a folding shelf on the side of it.

IMG_20190907_141239.jpg


In an effort to save a little bit of money, you can see the new grill I bought does not have a shelf. I figured I could make my own for less than it would cost to buy the grill with one attached.

Spoiler Alert It didn't turn out pretty, but at a low cost of $10 for some screws, I did in fact spend far less than I would have buying the other grill.

IMG_20190921_112048.jpg


I am a big fan of reclaimed lumber. Not the fancy barn stuff you see people selling at flea markets for insane prices though. I am talking about the pile of leftover scraps that lived in the corner of our garage growing up. Pieces of wood that could be used for anything and everything because they were scrap so who really cares.

When @mrsbozz and I had our deck redone, we demolished the old one ourselves to save some money. Channeling my dad, I kept a bunch of the left over 2x4's and 2x6's in the corner of my garage. I knew the end product was going to end up being pretty heavy, but since it was free wood I didn't really care.

I started out making the frames for the top shelf and the bottom shelf as you can see in the picture above.

IMG_20190921_114052.jpg


You can't tell from the picture, but the wood wasn't nearly as straight as I thought it was going to be. I had to use my circular saw to shave a little bit off two of the legs to make the whole thing stand level without wobbling.

IMG_20190921_120813.jpg


I was starting to run out of wood for the tops of the shelves too, so I had to add some spaces to the bottom shelf to make my wood stretch farther. In the end, I am pretty happy with it. I added some hooks to the side of it and I actually used it that night while I was grilling.

It is heavy and to save my bad back I used my hand cart to move it out to the grilling area.

IMG_20190921_120818.jpg


IMG_20190921_170733.jpg


Looking back, it is probably a little higher than I had originally intended, but I wanted something that I could easily place plates of food and other items on without having to stoop down too far. Someday maybe I will recreate it with some higher quality wood but for now, I think it will get the job done quite nicely.


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif


Earn free crypto income with Mannabase


Would you like a Steem account or know someone that does? Get started with Steem Ninja!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 195 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Nice craftmanship :) I do love DYI over bought stuff, give so much more satisfaction...

great handiwork and it will do all you need and save you a lot from what you would have to pay to buy one

Thank you! Yes, it will definitely get the job done!

Making the best of it

Thank you!

Looks good buddy. One of the things I dislike about my transient lifestyle is my inability to have a workshop of sorts

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Our new house has a garage that is much more conducive to this sort of thing. It is one of the reasons I feel in love with the house.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I am so envious!!!
Nothing worse than when you have a Weber Kettle grill and nowhere to put utensils and pans.

LOVE this table!

Thanks, I appreciate it! Yeah, that was the biggest drawback, but the model with the table was $60 more and didn't come with all of the accessories.

nice one @bozz, ... I'm a good one for buying the hardware but rarely get round to using it. if ever I do get round to using it, .. ill have everything already. that's my plan! :-)

Sounds like a great plan to me!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your table really looks great! So much nicer when you've made something yourself with your own specs, I'd love one like this!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59