Bozz Eats: Shorty's Pizza and Growl

in #busy5 years ago

About a week ago I wrote this post about a trip to Chilie Verde Cafe while we were visiting my in laws in the Columbus, OH area.

That same weekend we were there to watch my nieces play basketball and get them from one place to the other while their parents were busy with a prior engagement.

We got my older nieces game taken care of Friday night before we went to Chilie Verde so Saturday was fully committed to my younger niece.

Somehow in the course of her second game on Saturday she fell down and her head took a pretty nasty bounce off the floor. Worried about a concussion or something more serious @mrsbozz and I took her to the hospital. The ref wasn't going to let her go back in the game so it wasn't a big deal anyway.

I am happy to say she ended up being okay. I think her parents probably wouldn't have reacted the way we did had they been there, but they left us in charge and if I had to make the call to take her to the hospital again, I totally would.

Anyway, after we were all comfy at home with basketball done for the day, our nieces were going over to some friends for a couple of hours. Meanwhile, my brother in law and I had been talking off and on about how good chicken wings sounded.

Not wanting to go to a "chain" place that I could get anywhere, he decided to take us to one of the top ten places for wings in the greater Columbus area.

Shorty's Pizza and Growl is that place. I am not posting this as a Tasteem.io post because quite honestly, I was having too good of a time relaxing and enjoying time with my inlaws to take that many pictures. In fact, I got zero pictures of our food. That would make for a pretty crappy review right?

I really encourage you to take a look at their webpage, they have some great photos on there and it gives you a general idea of what to expect.

I did get a picture of my beer though! As well as a couple of the menu...

We started with the "beer cheese with pretzel bites" and I have to say they were pretty amazing. It was immediately apparent that they put a lot of love and effort into their food here.

@mrsbozz and her sister both got a stromboli. Meanwhile my brother in law and I were there for one reason and one reason only.

I got six of the sweet red chili wings and six of the spicy garlic wings. Meanwhile my brother in law got six of the spicy plum and six of the Shorty's hott.

I had eyed the spicy plum when I was trying to decide what to get, but there was something about them that scared me off. Luckily my brother in law is a generous man and traded me one of his spicy plum for one of my sweet red chili.

The wings I got were fantastic, but I have to say if I make my way back here again, I will be getting the spicy plum. The plum was much less subdued than I thought it would be and the heat level was perfect for me. As for the two flavors I got, I can't really compare them, they both stand alone on their own merits. Let me just say, this place has totally deserved its top ten rating.

At just over $64 this wasn't a cheap meal, but if @mrsbozz and I had skipped the two drinks a piece, the price would have been much more manageable. Despite that fact, I hope this wasn't the last time I visit Shorty's. The service was great and the one staff member remembered my brother in law and his hesitancy to try the spicy plum wings the last time he was there. I find that kind of impressive.

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif



Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Sort:  

I think you made the right choice taking her to the hospital better to be safe

Shorty;s sounds good ,, Wings without a beer just isnt the same so i think having the beer is worth the extra cost

My Upvote is down a bit so !tip

No worries about your upvotes 😀 a comment is enough from you! Thanks for the affirmation and yes wings aren't wings without beer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe that why I seldom eat wings these days LOL

Now you know why I am not a food reviewer. I ALWAYS forget to take a picture or pictures until I have completely taken the shine off :) When food hits the table I'm ON it.

Looks like a cool place. My kind of place. The best pizza round here is from a place called 'Da Boyz'.

That sounds very New York/Jerseyish for a pizza place in AZ! I bet it is fantastic. I am with you, I can't tell you how many times I am halfway through a meal and my wife is like "you aren't going to take pictures?"

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks like a very inventive menu! I love green beans, but I've never tried them with a dipping sauce. I'd probably go for the veggie pizza or the tomato and spinach, and I'm wondering what banana peppers are - I'm guessing they are yellow and banana-shaped! This is making me hungry.
I'm glad your neice was OK. The head is the worst place to get a knock.

Banana peppers are the best. They are usually pickled and mildly spicy. Yes, they are yellow. Thanks for the kind words.

🎁 Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Sunrise By The Pier Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 3.79% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 414 (02/28/19)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44