Leading By Example - 1.5 LBS Of Recycled Legos Sold From The USA To AUSTRALIA For 515 STEEM

in #business4 years ago (edited)

Hopefully this transaction won't turn into a Bitcoin for pizza meme in 5 years.

After my first post aiming to sell some curb-recycled goods for Steem, a courageous Steemian sent me 515 Steem in exchange for this 1.5 pound batch of Lego minifigures and accessories. This is exactly what I was hoping for as motivation to try to do this again, plus as a model for others to break the ice.

I win, he wins, the environment wins, and Steem wins.

@brickmanbrad is now a Steem LEGEND in my book as my first crypto-paying customer. After starting with a smaller set in my last post, we upped the ante with a larger batch to justify the international shipping expense. I sent him the pic below to show some of the lot, leaving many as a mystery at his request. We settled on a fair price and he sent the Steem to my wallet. MAGIC!

For entertainment, and so I find out if I passed along any rare pieces, he's going to do an unboxing post as a Lego expert. I hope people can upvote the heck out of it to reward him for his good faith. That's what the rewards pool should be for... using Steem...not taking from Steem. Most impressively, Brad's Lego business website already advertises that it accepts Steem for purchase, so check it out on his profile page. He's early in the ball game, but this precisely the type of person we need more of.

We have enough people ambitiously bloging and vlogging about conceptual ideas, but it's about doing things in real life to pave the way.

The haul he's bracing for:

Plus the original starting set:

Yes, all of these were found and salvaged for FREE from my city's curb recycling.

Touchdown:


Ironically, minutes after he messaged me today about being ready to send over the funds, I found ~8 pounds of loose Legos and more minifigures/accessories in the recycling. The Law of Attraction, or the Cryptoverse giving a sign that I'm on the right track?? Maybe so.

The point here is that it's not that hard to leverage Steem, rapport with others, reputations, and value exchange via Steem applications to conduct peer-to-peer transactions. You don't need an elaborate system or platform. Keep it simple. Buy and sell using Steem. One example at a time.

Yes, a bit of trust is involved in exchanging some personal info, but at some point, we need to be practical to open up more day-to-day use of this blockchain. There are smart ways to go about it. Most of us give banks tons of info about ourselves, and many already feature their personal lives on the blockchain, so this might not be that crazy.

There aren't a lot of active Steemians these days, but if we set examples of successful goods and services exchanged for Steem, others will ultimately feel more comfortable about doing the same to get the snowball rolling.

As I just crossed 6,000 Steem from organic blogging and curating before his transfer (since I only wanted to earn my Steem), I guess this tranche was technically "earned" in a way I hadn't considered much before. Perhaps I can expand upon this if more people use Steem in more robust ways outside of farming from the reward pool.

Brad bought the Steem for this with fiat. This is how we increase demand and raise the price.

And I got Steem for recycling.


Anyone looking for anything interesting in the household/collectible space I can see if I have available or keep an eye out for? I find so many random odds & ends on top of common items. Put me to the test!

@steemmatt

P.S. Packaging materials for this shipment will also be curb-recycled to minimize our carbon footprint.

Sort:  

I'm not saying I've already checked the mailbox 4 times, but I'm not saying I haven't either....

Lego is the best. I still have like 40 sets. Maybe 20 of them that have 98% pieces with the manual. The rest are scattered in a big box. Cool transaction and story!

Are they vintage sets? Any sealed new? Some fetch quite a bit these days, or rare minifigs. That sounds like a pretty penny to me either way.

Legos are awesome!

But aside from that, I think it's awesome that you are initiating actual commerce here in Steemlandia! We need more of that, lots more of that.

The new LeoShop is another great step in this direction, although it's only digital goods at this point... but I am hoping it will develop into a peer-to-peer marketplace for physical goods, as well.

Anyway, well done!

Thanks for your kind words and for sharing your link. I'll open the tab now and check it out tomorrow.

that is awesome! Man I might be interested in buying some Lego for Steem, I am in Utah (84664 zip). Don't care about minifigs or sets as much but just random bulk pieces interest me, sounds like you just found another score?

I have absolutely no complaints with this! After recently selling a lot of them for the holidays, I do happen have a decent batch of random pieces/partial sets growing again from several finds, ironically very light on minifigs. I have to tally things up on a scale, but roughly how many pounds would you be potentially looking for?? Let's make a deal!

Well I will differ to your experience as to the cheapest shipping method but I think generally within the US the flat rate boxes are cheapest particularly if filled full - maybe we could see how much you have in relation to flat rate boxes? E.g. if you have enough to fill a medium or large flat rate box we could see how much that weighed and go from there?

Congratulations! I knew you're the best example from many points of view. I love what you are doing with recycling and now that you're using Steem as a currency for payment is just great! Keep it up!

Thanks so much for your kind endorsement and resteem. This group support motivated me to get on my horse to sell some more just now -- 10 pounds of recycled Legos sold to another Steemian who saw this post for 340 Steem! It's nice to convert some of my street recycling hustle into crypto, as it's usually kept as fiat for my day-to-day because I've been holding crypto for several years/not buying much these days. Furthermore, the buyers get a little extra pride in they're supporting my efforts + the environment.

You're a role model, I really appreciate what you are doing. We all could learn from you. Selling things for crypto is just amazing as I believe in Steem and this platform.
I also have a recycling, repourposing project but first I need to learn to sew. The bad part of it is the Romanian post can't be trusted, shipping costs a fortune, so no way I could sell my products worldwide for now.
Anyway, I believe we have to continue and try to change people's mentality.
Don't change and try to post about your work as it's important to everyone 🙂

There were a few Chima lion-like figures in this set in lion suit armor.

Ha. Cool. I'll have to look those up. Thanks for the word.

Most excellent Matt & @brickmanbrad.

Matt, will it be okay if I use one of your pics in the News?

Sure thing! Thank you. My 15 minutes of fame.

FYI - I also just sold 10 pounds of recycled legos to another Steemian for 340 Steem.

Most excellent! Maybe a Lego community will develop on Steem...

And hey presto, @galenkp has just set one up...

Excellent, I enjoy the crypto transaction as well. :D

While we're getting off the ground here, want a Moonglo aviation light by any chance?? Ever sell yours?

Still got mine... There were a few available last time I looked as well.

Still got mine... There was
A few available last
Time I looked as well.

                 - getonthetrain


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

This is a neat story. I don't think there will be any regrets. Maybe im 2 years that much lego will be worth 5 Steem. Who knows?

Hopefully I can get 5 pizzas for 1 Steem then too. Thinking big here!!!

Legos! I love legos! I have a massive pile of my own that I still like to use. Awesome to see others loving it too!

Thanks. I've sold well over 100 pounds of loose recycled Legos so far (and countless sets from thrift stores). Here are some recent examples mixed in with a few thrifted finds:

https://steemit.com/thrifting/@steemmatt/q4fvtw

Congratulations @brickmanbrad, you successfuly trended the post shared by @steemmatt!
@steemmatt will receive 0.00604463 TRDO & @brickmanbrad will get 0.00402975 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73