The Entrepreneur's Struggle With Unsolicited Advice

in #business6 years ago (edited)

One of my favorite parts of being an entrepreneur is being about to do whatever I want. If I want to own a restaurant, a florist or a hotel I can - I can also change my mind as much as I want. Most people do not understand how to start a business. They know nothing about how a location is chosen, what a marketing plan is, how much capital a business needs or how you can survive in a competitive environment - but they certainly have an opinion on all of these things and may view your behavior as mercurial rather than entreprenuerial.

In early stage business - outsiders don't understand what you are doing. They perhaps assume you don't know what you are doing because you've blown the business up and left the parts all over the floor. This is usually when an entrepreneur is planning and re-planning for the eventual "version 2.0".

One of the biggest challenges during this time of change - is unsolicited advice. Being an entrepreneur is fairly unique in the sense that people will openly challenge you. Some people will openly tell you they don't agree with your business plan (I wouldn't buy that) - or that its too risky - or you should put more pictures of monster trucks on your Instagram.

Unsolicited advice usually affects you the most when it comes from people you trust. The people you trust are usually the worst people at giving advice - they are biased and often times feel the need to "protect" and lets face it - criticize.

The truth is - it takes a special person to buy stock when everyone else is selling - to buy properties in areas that are in need of repair - to walk into industries that are already established or extremely competitive and attempt to carve a space.

The key is to not take unsolicited advice to heart. Look at who is offering you their two cents. Do you have friends who offer you advice on technology when they can barely operate their own electronics? Do they offer advice on business without ever having run one?

Many entrepreneurs silo themselves away from other entrepreneurs. The danger in doing this is you begin to put more faith in your social circle than you do in your gut because all the people around you question your gut. Your gut is what makes you different to begin with. The answer isn't getting rid of your friends - its developing a network of people who are just like you. We are not exactly the same but having a conversation business owner to business owner is a lot different than receiving unsolicited and unqualified advice.

Take wise council from those who are qualified to provide it and ignore the rest.

Ryan Geddes is a writer and entreprenuer located in Toronto Canada. When he's not writing, hes helping with House&Canvas Furniture Paint.

Sort:  

I'm slowly getting in the groove. Being an entrepreneur is electrifying.

I had always been the kind that has a lot of business proposals in mind. The bad thing is that even though having a starting capital isn't a problem, I often hear my parents telling me I am only good at start but will definitely lose interest soon. But what they isn't true. Now I am succeding with gigs I have started. And this post had reminded me of everything, especially about trusting yourself amidst the unhealthy and passive environment we have

Being an entrepreneur is all I have ever wanted and ever done, simply because of the total control I usually have over myself, the most challenging part of it has always been the starting point it can be so frustrating when you ain't getting even close to 30% of your projected earnings at that point.
It discourages every bone in your body, but a little more perseverance usually yield good results such that when you look back and remember those days you won't believe they ever existed

Ya - It sucks when you don't have a good idea to work on.. the longer that goes on.. the more you think about going back to school.. or hiring a professional recruiter. Eventually something happens and you remember that you can't change the fact that you were born an entrepreneur. Accepting your reality is difficult - but it also leads to new possibilities. The biggest challenge an entrepreneur has is "owning" their own identity. You know sitting at home for 6 months "doing nothing" might lead to your next discovery - but it looks way different to the people around you! These are the people you should not take advice from! Always remember who and what you are and good things will happen.

Wow!!!!I think this is really great post about buisness...thanks a lot sharing this...

Thanks for reading!

Great post. I get unsolicited advice all the time. I have a couple rental properties and a small business. Most people think everything should be cheaper. They just don't understand the overhead. I have also designed a few websites, products, things like that. People always put their two cents in. I had no idea that we tend to Silo ourselves away from other entrepreneurs. That makes sense though. I know a few other entrepreneurs but they are not in my Social Circle. I know them, and they are acquaintances, but they are not people that I talk to on a regular basis. Maybe I have done this subconsciously. Maybe they do it subconsciously. I have no idea, but I know it wasn't intentional. Thank you for the Post. I will be following and hoping to hear more.

I have rental property as well these days you need the property to appreciate just to keep up with demanding tenants - rents not enough!

Most entrepreneurs who are "high functioning" and who are not the type to go out and buy a franchise end up feeling alienated at times. When there is no game plan but your own - you get used to the fact that there is nowhere to turn for help. It can be draining "playing all the parts". When you succeed EVERYBODY gets it - but then of course you'll hear "Why doesn't everyone do this". Its really difficult to integrate into society when you make your money by being different! Other entrepreneurs will understand you - just keep them far enough away that they don't influence you.

The answer isn't getting rid of your friends - its developing a network of people who are just like you.

This is great and all but I can't find anyone out there like me. No one is as passionate as driven and hungry for success like me. Not that I've seen. And it's painful because it makes me feel bad. What can I do?

You may be right - nobody may be as driven as you - that doesn't mean there aren't people "like you". For example - if you own a software company - talk to other people who own software companies when you need business advice rather than your friends and family.

nice post @rgeddes. i couldnt agree with you more. especially advice from people who are not enrepreneurs themselves. as you mentioned, it takes a special kind of person to brave the odds and keep going when there is no hope. keep soldiering and keep working hard.

Having a business is as life altering as having a baby.. people who have never had a baby will never get it.. people who have never "put it all on the line" will never be a good source of business advice!

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Freinds - Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9000+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

You got a 20.61% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @rgeddes!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91