3 Things I Learned While Updating My Resume

in #business7 years ago

For those of us in the working world, one thing that can both your best friend and the bane of your existence is your resume.  Heaven forbid if you let it (or any of the millions of copies of it on the internet) get out of date. I have grown tired of din of recruiters calling me and asking if I would be interested in doing work I haven't done in 10 years.  Since it was time to get all those copies of my resume updated (and assuming I can find all the nooks and crannies on the internet where they are lurking), here are 3 Things I Learned While Updating My Resume.

Courtesy of pexels.com under CC0 license

Lesson 1 - You Resume Is A Marketing Tool, Look At It As A Consumer

I have heard more times than I care to remember that my resume is a marketing tool. Now, with that said I have never read through it from a "consumer's" point of view.  Huh??

Stick with me on this.  I recently hired a landscaper to move a tree away from my house.  When I was looking for companies to hire, there were a couple specific things I was looking for:

  1.   Have they done this kind of work before?  Is it one of their "Services"?
  2.   What evidence can they provide to demonstrate their skill?  Pictures? References?
  3.   How long have they been doing it?  I don't want the guy just starting out for this job.
  4.   Are they reliable? What do other people have to say about them?
  5.   Will they bring something "extra" to the table to convince me they are my best choice?

For my landscaper, his website was his resume and it successfully answered all my questions before I even called him for an estimate.

You may find this exercise difficult to do yourself, so I would suggest enlisting the help of a trusted colleague or friend.

As for my resume, I am re-writing it to ensure I clearly communicate how I created value and results that made a positive difference for my employers and clients.  I am also including that something "extra" that sets me apart from my competition. Which leads us to the next thing I learned.

Courtesy of pexels.com under CC0 license

Lesson 2 - Describe How You Made Things Better, Not Just What You Did

Recalling successes and failures is fairly easy.  Throw together a few bullet points and "bam", you are done.  Crafting statements that clearly identify the value they brought and how they created positive change; not so easy.

I found this to be the hardest part of overhauling the resume.  What helped me the most was following what I call the "XYZ Formula".  Basically, it follows this pattern:  When X happened, I did Y which resulted in Z. 

Now, you don't want to have every line look like that - vary the verbs, adjectives and numbers.  But follow the pattern and you will end up with descriptions like:

  • With slumping sales, I implemented a client-optimized sales model driving a $15.3 million increase in revenue and shortening the sales cycle by 63%.
  • Following a failed audit, I drove accountability across all lines of business delivering successful audits over the next 3 years.

You'll also note that I included specific numbers.  They stand out and quantify the difference you made. On a related note, never, ever make up these numbers.  It will catch up with you and it is never worth it to lie.

Courtesy of pexels.com under CC0 license

Lesson 3 - Resume Writing Is A Great Time To Look Backwards And Forward

What do I really want to be when I grow up? If you spend any time around me, you are apt to hear that question at some point.  And the fun part is that in my sixth decade of life I still don't know the answer!

In practice, our resume is mostly about our past accomplishments.  Many resumes include some form of "executive summary" that includes a forward looking phrase or two. But if we want to rise above the mediocrity of most resumes out there, we must craft a document that paints the picture of who we are becoming and how our next job/role/employer is the perfect fit.  A place where we can thrive and do amazing things.

So, in order to do this, we must not only capture what we have done in the past, but also point out where we are going. In many ways, I find that this becomes easier as I grow older.  If you can view all the significant things that have happened in your life as "trail markers" over time, you will find that they all point in a particular direction.  This is unique for every one of us and takes time in retrospection to discern.  But it is there.  Like a giant arrow pointing to where you are going.  It might take several "hops" to get there, but knowing the direction allows us to highlight the experiences that support that direction.

One final note on this Lesson - sometimes, we have to take a side trail in order to get to our ultimate destination. By most common definitions I am on my 5th "career".  Does that mean my first 4 were failures or mis-directed?  NO!  Some were clearly on the path to where I am today.  Others were side trails where I was learning skills or insights that helped me be better at what I do.  Keep this in mind as your journey may still have some "side trails" to explore.


As I'm sure some have noticed, I wrote this not just to share what I am going through as I rewrite my resume, but also to offer insights that may help others.  If you have discovered additional "keys" or "tools" while working on your resume, please feel free to share them in the Comments below.

Cheers!

Courtesy of @son-of-satire


Sort:  

I'm planning a major career change relatively soon. Good to know I'm not alone drawing up a resume. Thanx!

I have been through several major changes and going through the exercise (especially Lesson 3) was invaluable even if the resume didn't turn out the way I wanted.

Best wishes as you make the leap!

I'm trying to leave a 15 year stint at the age of 45. That's 2 years away, but it's definitely and exercise is looking forward right now.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by LanceS from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Do you write resumes for others ?

Not presently. I have spent many long hours advising friends and colleagues, but shy away from doing the writing. I could likely make a nice side income with it, but am not doing it now.

With your free time as you said you could make extra money as many people (I'm one of them ) have no idea how to do it

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.
Check out the other content resteemed by @resteembot.
Some of it is really cool!

Whatever @resteembot resteems, I resteem too!
I am a new, simple to use and cheap resteeming bot
I will automatically resteem posts resteemed by @resteembot until 2017-09-01 00:00:01 +00:00
If you want to read more about me, read my introduction post.

Congratulations @lances! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71