NETWORKING : The Pros and Cons

in #business6 years ago (edited)

I've heard my siblings talking as I passed by my sister's room where the door was left opened. Out of curiosity, I came in to join them as I see my brother who whole-heartily explaining about something to my sister who is intently listening but i could see on her face some traces of disagreement from time to time as she frowns or when her eye brows raise. Then I've just realized that my brother is actually talking about joining a Networking business and he is trying to convince my sister since he has already invested a quite big amount of money and my sister on the other hand was hesitant. While listening I was curious my self, what is networking actually? And how does it work?

In the Philippines, networking started to hit off in the business world few years ago. What is exactly the main purpose of networking? If I am to summarize what I have learned, networking is a a type of business that helps business people connects with each other and develops a strong feeling of trust among involved parties to help raise a company's profile. It sounds good and promising for entrepreneurs especially for the beginners. Few of my friends and people I know are into this business and yes, I've been invited to join meet ups or orientations many times at the same time I have turned down quite a lot as well. It's not that I don't believe them but for me the way they invite and introduce networking to the people they're trying to recruit are way too good to be true. Now here are my own ideas about it and I'll try not to be bias at all.pic.jpg

PROS vs CONS - sure there's money on it. If a person is just eager enough to spend time and efforts into this business, in no time you'll be able to get your investment back at the same time grow your profits. Aside from this, you'll grow your connections by meeting different business minded people like you and be able to learn new knowledge, widen your views about business which may help you on your future business ventures. On top of that, once you are already in networking for a long time and have created a stable status on top of the pyramid, you will be earning effortlessly as others work for you, well that's how they sugar coated it. Aim high!- as they say it.
What are the cons though? Earning money from it isn't as easy as trying to catch falling leaves from a tree in Autumn season. It's actually more on planting a seed and you need to take time in nurturing it to grow. In networking despite other people's testimonials that they were doing it part time, It's more productive if you go full time with it. You have to have the convincing ability to get the people's attention and interest so that they will spare few of their precious time listening to you and much more you have to convince them to invest their hard earned money into something uncertain. And lastly, nowadays, recruiters just randomly recruit anybody without even considering if they are capable or qualified just for the sake of getting people under their line-ups which makes it really upsetting.

It's the business world after all, nothing is personal, business is business. If you want to go on top, you have to make a ladder and step on it, that's the game. So, how about you? Which one are you? My open-minded brother? or my doubtful sister?

Sort:  

Congratulations @kenneth11! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @kenneth11! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56934.21
ETH 3091.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38