Mindset #15 - 6 Ways to Stay Motivated as an Entrepreneur

in #business7 years ago

GOOD MORNING STEEMIT!

After catching up with fellow #teamaustralia legend @bulleth for a beer in Sydney last night, I'm back and motivated to end the blogging week strong.

It's easy to lose motivation if your immediate social circle has no interest in Steemit or the crypto trading community as a whole and building these relationships on your shared interest is great to keep you focused.

Anyway, after the response I got for my last '6 traits' blog post, I wanted to come at you again with some short and sharp lists. This type of content easily transfers across to Twitter (give @forexbrokr a follow over there too!) so I feel it has double the value for my audience.

Let's do this!




Integrate your work into your lifestyle.

While you should work to live, not live to work… it’s still a lot easier to stay motivated if you don’t feel like you’re working at all.

Manage your own expectations.

You can’t allow a craving for perfection to consume you. Hitting realistic expectations will keep you on a high.

The grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

You’re here because it’s your passion. Don’t change paths on a whim because something looks better. It isn’t.

Scratch your itch with a hobby unrelated to your business.

If you have a wider interest, it doesn’t have to become your work. Enjoy it as a hobby or volunteer instead.

Deliberately take vacations.

A change from your usual routine gives you an opportunity to see things differently. Re-invigorate your motivation with time away.

Don’t lie to yourself. Face the music.

Who are you pleasing by lying to yourself? This is your business and your business alone. If you have a problem, face it head on.




How do you stay motivated?

What else would you add to the 6 points listed here?

Start a conversation with a quality comment and get upvoted for your work. Please at least try to mask your spam as a real contribution around this particular blog.

Peace!




The @forexbrokr Mindset Series

Mindset #9 - Home Truths That Might Require a Rethink to Make More Money
Mindset #10 - This is Real Life. Trading is Just a Facilitator
Mindset #11 - Do you Write Lists? How OCD are you?
Mindset #12 - The Evolution of an Entrepreneurial Idea
Mindset #13 - 3 Reasons that Entrepreneurs Fail
Mindset #14 - 6 Traits of Highly Successful Traders




Please leave a comment with your thoughts and ideas.

The Mindset series of posts is about making you think a little deeper about every day concepts. I look forward to having you follow along and reading what you throw at me.

Twitter: @forexbrokr
Instagram: @forexbrokr
Website: www.forexbrokr.com

Sort:  

Love the posts man, similar mindsets and writings. The first point is most important. Find something you love to do then figure out how to make a living from it. Then you feel like you don't work at all.

Then you feel like you don't work at all.

This has always been trading for me. Even when I was studying full time or in the 9-5 grind, I was always looking at markets any chance I got. The fact I can focus on that now is perfect.

Thanks mate, see you around!

I was once told that only because you have a business idea, it doesn't mean it's a good business idea. It's kind of difficult because you can't always know what is a good idea until you test it out. But by then, a lot of valuable time would have passed by. But I do say that a lot of times, some ideas are best left as ideas.

Motivation.png

I was once told that only because you have a business idea, it doesn't mean it's a good business idea.

Yep. ideas are just ideas until you put in the hours and hard work to make them a reality.

This is why I'm saying that you shouldn't just chop and change because to make an idea reality, it takes a LOT of time and effort. If you are always changing then you never get anywhere.

But I do say that a lot of times, some ideas are best left as ideas.

This actually kind of reminded me of Post it Notes. The original idea wasn't even about Post it Notes. The creators were working on something entirely different. I guess it's true that the greatest innovations sometimes come from failed ideas.

Motivation.png

By my opinion, when it comes to entrepreneur business it's all about your charisma. To get your charisma right you also need to master some mindsets. If the mindset isn't right it will show in your tonality and body language. I know you were talking about motivation here, but I just wanted to state that charisma is important as well.

For me, few mindsets that are crucial when it comes to charisma:

  1. I don't need to convince anyone of anything - I just ask, if they refuse, it's fine
  2. I communicate with purpose and I inspire people with my message
  3. I'm honest and I have integrity
  4. And last but most important: whatever happened I will be okay

That last one is most important because without that mindset you can't act with freedom. If you act with social pressure you can forget about being charismatic.

That's from me. Hope I didn't miss the topic.

Hey jokster,

Thanks for the epic comment mate. Appreciate it.

Charisma definitely ties in with mindset. Yes you are the one that has to put in the effort to make your business work, but once you start expanding then you need the charisma to bring other people into your ideas. You have to be able to inspire people and convey your ideas.

Catch you around! :)

Very good points you've listed in here. Especially the one on vaccations, just reminded me to take one soon again :)

Regarding your point that the grass isn't always greener on the other side I'd disagree in the way that you should at least take a glimpse to check it out. Otherwise you'll never know for sure.

Very good points you've listed in here. Especially the one on vaccations, just reminded me to take one soon again :)

Cheers mate. Haha I hear you about the holiday!

Regarding your point that the grass isn't always greener on the other side I'd disagree in the way that you should at least take a glimpse to check it out. Otherwise you'll never know for sure.

Yeah good point and that's one is open to interpretation.

I wrote it thinking more that you don't want to just follow every new idea that pops into your head because you see someone else doing well with it. Focus on your core passion and give it your all to make it work.

Taking a look from this perspective I can only agree with you :) Following everything will just make you one out of a billion... Doing it your way will make you special!

Love your post, glad I stumbled upon this.

I love this part -Integrate your work into your lifestyle,
where I am now is because of my lifestyle. I prefer staying at home and so I find success in working from home. Not for the monetary but for the time I can spend with my wife and child. And my wife works from home too so we're together everyday.

I guess that answers your question, I stay motivated because of my dedication to my family. I am not be what I am today without them.

Your post is definitely worth anyone's time and upvote. Thanks.

Not for the monetary but for the time I can spend with my wife and child.

Good one!

If it doesn't feel like work because you're making a living from doing something that is just part of your life, then you can't actually be overworked.

Little life hack I guess.

I stay motivated because of my dedication to my family. I am not be what I am today without them.

Makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside haha :)

Good luck with it all mate, I've given you a follow.

Thank you, yeah, I totally agree with you, if you're doing something you love, the monetary or the fame or whatever is just a bonus.

Followed you too my friend, thanks for the great post, keep it up.

How do you manage yourself is a clear reflection of what will happen to the business. It takes passion and dedication with consistent efforts to see the bull run in business.

How do you manage yourself is a clear reflection of what will happen to the business.

This is a great point that you make. Especially with entrepreneurial type start ups, the success or failure of the idea hinges on you and you alone.

It's up to only you to put the effort in to make things work. If you don't do the work, then it will fail. Simple as that.

There is no hiding in the entrepreneurial game.

dauymm I only live up in the central coast. Any idea when there will be a steem meet around Sydney way?

Hey Simo,

I'm definitely keen, but organising events isn't really my strong point haha.

There are a few Sydney and surrounds guys on Steemit now so we'd definitely have the numbers if something was to happen.

I've given you a follow and we'll see if it happens.

Your post is very useful, I hope I will continue to be able to communicate with you through this community and we will share information, I have business information that is very tempting for you, please check https://steemit.com/business/@ponpase/expo-2017-join-now-2017810t214715198z

BUSINEES-ST.gif


You didn't even pretend to talk about a single thing from my post before you spammed it with your shit flashing gif.

Jog on.

If you object, sorry I have appeared dikolom your comment, hopefully your day is fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33