If You're Going To Start Your Own Business, Start Early!

in #business6 years ago

Like many millennials working the 9 - 5 just wasn't something I could do for very long. I was only a member of the work force for 4 years after graduating and I felt I had had enough. It was time to try something new and go out on my own. I was 26 when I jumped ship and thought I had it all figured out. I was going to start my own tech company, have an amazing website and make tons of money I mean how hard could it be?

There are plenty of people out there who would like to take the leap but its not for everyone. What separates the “wantrepreneurs” from the entrepreneurs is action. A great idea is worthless without execution. I've spoken to many people who thought of an idea for a business and think they've made it already like they have some divine right to the idea without putting any effort or money and committing to see it thought.

The day my entrepreneurial seed was planted was the day I started reading Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. It helped me reassess where I was going with my career and that the path I was on was not going to ever be a satisfying one. It started jotting down ideas and It would take me over a year later to think of a business idea that I felt confident in pursuing.

Starting your own businesses you'll encounter plenty of opinions some good some bad, but and as annoying as it may be. I encourage you to take it in, you can and will learn from both insight and ignorance.

It's been 3 years since I left the safety of a monthly salary and I haven't looked back since. What I've lost in monetary value I've gained in experience. So what have learned thus far? I learned you need to start as early as possible every day you wait is potential revenue you're walking away from.

business plan.jpg

1. You're going to fail

You'll start your business with every confidence in the world, this idea is simply too good to fail it's a full proof money maker right? In rainbow land, it would be, but this isn't rainbow land and you're going to fail and not once but many times. Starting early gives you the benefit of time and allows you to fail faster and learn from it.

Having your business fail is hard for anyone but rather fail when there is less on the line than try to keep it going and you drag down employees with you on this unsustainable venture. Once you're able to find your groove and generate revenue you can then look to scale the businesses.

2. Live lean

When we’re young, we generally have fewer responsibilities. You probably don’t have a family or a mortgage to pay, and if you’re lucky, you’re still on your parents’ medical insurance. Starting a business puts a lot at risk. Aside from your finances, you’re also going to commit 110 percent of your time. Giving up a year when you’re splitting a room with your co-founder versus a year when you’re supporting a family is a huge difference. When you start early you also don't know what its like to enjoy the comforts of a fat salary, you can still live on a students budget and it is in no way uncomfortable for you.

Living lean also allows you to chase longer-term targets instead of trying to make sure all your bills are paid every month and forces you into making rash decisions that can bring down your business.

3. Think long-term

If done right, a business can be one of the best long-term assets you can build. Put in the time now, to make a passive income for the rest of your life. If you’re a millennial like me, you need to get started building assets as early as possible. If you simply trade your time for money, by earning a salary, you just won’t get ahead in life. While it’s tough, building long-term assets is always worth it. That said, you need to start as early as possible.

4. You’ll get a taste of the "real world"

Working in an office keeps you silo'd and you're not exposed to other sides of the business. You complete your tasks, you get your paycheque and you go home, well at least thats how it was for me. I was very sheltered during the early stages of my career and because of that I lacked plenty of real world experience.

Starting a business is the perfect way to get your "real world" education. There’s no teacher or manager telling you what needs to be done. You need to come up with your own ideas, marketing plans, fundraising goals, hire employees and much more. When you make a mistake, there won’t be anyone to cover for you either so these lessons will be ingrained in you and you will work around scar'd but wiser.

5. Don't bet your entire hand

Starting your own business comes with plenty of risks. The risk that needs to be mitigated with stability in other forms. This could mean you keep your day job and work on your business after hours, once you see what part-time work in your business can do, you can make a case for jumping in full time.

Make sure you have other revenue streams or savings put away and don't rely on your new businesses to feed you and keep the lights on, this just puts unnecessary strain on the business and you'll start making decisions based on finances and not based on your original vision of the company you started.

6. Iteration takes time

Your idea may be perfect but it's still only an idea and once you start taking the steps to manifest real-life working product you'll see it won't be plain sailing. You will have to jump through hoops, reduce your product scope into a workable MVP, you will need to look at how your product reacts to the market and from that insight begin to refine and iterate. In extreme situations, you may even need to pivot the businesses into something new or take your old concept and apply it to a new market.

One thing is for sure it will not be a straight road to success.

Have your say

Do you have a business idea you've been sitting on for a while? What is holding you back? Have you started your own business in the past? What lessons did you learn from it?

Drop me a comment and let me know what you think!

Let's connect

For more business and my opinion on the industry feel free to follow me @chekohler

Resteem, upvote, follow

Sort:  

Great post - Lot's of good points.

For myself (40 yrs old today:) I jumped into the workforce very young but was not serious until I had my first child at 25. After just a few years of working, I knew that my time was more important so I started trying to get new ideas and ventures off the ground. I struggled to find what I was passionate about and proficient at. After a few more years i had some success, but nothing game changing.

What did change though was I knew I could do it again and do it better next time.

Not having a lot of support and trying to do it all on my own; the greatest resource I have found over the last 15 years has been books, and audio books.

I love anything that keeps my hyped up for the challenges of the day. Stuff that teaches me new skills, hones old ones and really just helps push me to take massive action that day. If things are really doing well I find it hard to sleep at night because ideas keep flowing and when things are tough I remind myself that I did the best I could today and there will be tomorrow.

I hear from a lot of people who get stuck on getting started.

Everything from company formations, setting up business accounts, worry about the taxes and financials...... everyone gets stuck on something.

I say REACH OUT and someone that has been there before is going to grab your hand and help you; it's very rewarding to do so. Then pay it forward and do the same for someone else when you can.

Great post!

Thanks for the great comment and glad you took the time to give your opinion. The great thing about starting your own business and the scary thing is there are no rules there is no one single way to success. You just have to keep moving, learning and adapting. Like you said the important thing is not to give up!

Reaching out is so important, buidling a solid network, finding new leads and feeding off one another to create new ways of adding value

Gave you a follow and look forward to seeing more of you on Steemit

Some good advice. Most of the successful business people I know have had several failures in the past, including one losing his house over his first business. I guess it is important to understand that this is part of the process - what can you learn for next time?

Being able to analyse risk and then decide what you want to do about it, how you want to prepare and/or put in place contingencies measures is quite important and can save you a lot of stress later.

And have supportive, positive people around you who can provide constructive feedback - don't spend your time ŵith people who don't get it!

I agree and your last point is very important and not many people realise that when they go into business you need a solid support structure to bounce your ideas, your stress and your work load off on. Starting a business without a co-foudner or two is a seriously difficult thing to do

Co-founder is a great idea - or a network of people with some shared ambition and/or complementary skills. I always try to have a designer, a software engineer and a person who knows about finance in my network. The worse thing is those people who put down your ideas (I don't mean those who provide constructive criticisms). I have lovely friends who stop my worst excesses, but support the main idea of what I'm trying to do. You sound like you are doing really well - good to hear!

I agree having a good network is also critical you have to be open and bring people into your way of thinking they keep you grounded but can also help you see things you may have overlooked. I'm glad you've built a good support system for yourself and wish you all the best with your business

Well i'm not exactly where i'd like to be just yet but i'm working on it and not giving up, i'm sure i'll get there eventually and be better for it with all the lessons ive learned.

Hoooray.....Congratulations ! Done Free Resteem !! This post received a free Resteem to all my followers (+2600 followers) Send 1 SBD / STEEM for upvote from @SRL-ZONE as the memo : REGISTER SRL-ZONE , or if you are a steemauto user you can follow us on https://steemauto.com/dash.php?trail=srl-zone&i=1 , discord address: https://discord.gg/4jDrJYW , Get your free Resteem NOW! Just follow @asrizal , If you would like to delegate to the @srl-zone Project you can do so by clicking on the following links:
1SP | 2SP | 3SP | 5SP | 8SP | 10SP | 15SP | 20SP | 30SP | 50SP | 100SP | 200SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 2000SP | 3000SP|

Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi buddy

I've been away for past 3 weeks (short holiday) and finally im back :) Loads of catching up is awaiting me now.

I checked your profile and im glad to see that you're still very active on steemit.

How have you been doing?

Obviously upvoted.

Cheers buddy,
Piotr

Ah where did you have your holidays? and how was it? Things have been going well, getting into the swing of things and trying to stay consistant on steemit

thx for your kind reply. it's so good to be back.
I love community here on steemit that i managed to surround myself with.

I went for almost 3 weeks to visit my family in Poland. loved every moment of that trip.

all the best mate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55