You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If You're Going To Start Your Own Business, Start Early!

in #business6 years ago

Some good advice. Most of the successful business people I know have had several failures in the past, including one losing his house over his first business. I guess it is important to understand that this is part of the process - what can you learn for next time?

Being able to analyse risk and then decide what you want to do about it, how you want to prepare and/or put in place contingencies measures is quite important and can save you a lot of stress later.

And have supportive, positive people around you who can provide constructive feedback - don't spend your time ŵith people who don't get it!

Sort:  

I agree and your last point is very important and not many people realise that when they go into business you need a solid support structure to bounce your ideas, your stress and your work load off on. Starting a business without a co-foudner or two is a seriously difficult thing to do

Co-founder is a great idea - or a network of people with some shared ambition and/or complementary skills. I always try to have a designer, a software engineer and a person who knows about finance in my network. The worse thing is those people who put down your ideas (I don't mean those who provide constructive criticisms). I have lovely friends who stop my worst excesses, but support the main idea of what I'm trying to do. You sound like you are doing really well - good to hear!

I agree having a good network is also critical you have to be open and bring people into your way of thinking they keep you grounded but can also help you see things you may have overlooked. I'm glad you've built a good support system for yourself and wish you all the best with your business

Well i'm not exactly where i'd like to be just yet but i'm working on it and not giving up, i'm sure i'll get there eventually and be better for it with all the lessons ive learned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61224.26
ETH 2383.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55