Burst Coin - Development Fund Misappropriation Exposed

in #burst7 years ago (edited)


As the voice of the Dev Team currently working on the Core-Wallet I call for a vote of no confidence in Focus' ability to handle development funds. This is based upon a comment made to all developers in Discord (the primary communication tool).

"[4:49 PM] Focus: Hello iceburst,

I would like to know what you are basing your assumptions of milestone on?

First of all, I do not take kindly with poeple calling me a liar. You know damn well that you did in fact participate in trying to short the coin and then you just sent more funds to your wallet to make it look as if you didn't. I asked you to prove your innocence by screensharing and showing me your trades, but you did not do so, instead you called me a liar, further proving your guilt.

Second of all, I have re-assessed the Core Development fund, at the time it was calculated, it came out to be $8,000 and it will continue to be so. Milestones will be calculated at current rate towards the percentage of $8000 paid out. Since we are on core development, do you seriously feel we have reached a milestone, development has been stagnant and you did what in this whole last week? Merge 3 requests and change some constatnts?

Lastly, the brunt of the work is currently being shouldered by catbref and yet he has never asked for a single penny. I litterally have to shove them in his wallet. On the other hand, you are the only "dev" that comes in here basically begging for money. Are you in it for the right reasons? I ask you this because I have done a lot of dev in different forms and not once have I gotten paid for anything in the past year... Furthermore, you just went to the community for a crowdfund that you claim was feed a developper, of which it was fulfilled to the tune of $600 and yet here you are asking for more. I again repeat, every other dev in here I have to force payment on them, for god's sake @fusecavator has not even sent me his wallet address yet so I can pay him...

Having said all this, my position is the following: In light of all these developments, you are free to remain on the core dev project but be advised that it will be without renumeration from the BurstNation dev fund. If crow wants to pay you then that is his perrogative"

The above statement was posted by Focus as a response to the following:

[9:53 AM] IceBurst: I'm requesting a 10% incremental payout for the team based on progress of the 1.11+ Wallet
[10:42 AM] IceBurst: @Focus I'm also requesting acknowledgement of my statements in this channel

I'll address each of his bullet points in a logical fashion and then I'll ask the community to take action. Either demand the funds currently controlled by Focus be turned over to an agreeable member of the community or tell me I am completely off base and I will gladly step down from the Core Wallet team.

Item 1) I would like to know what you are basing your assumptions of milestone on?
I am an experienced developer with 20+ years of professional experience, I coded the entire Android Plotter and Miner from scratch and understand the Burst platform to the very core. We have successfully taken the NXT 1.11+ code base an adapted it to the current live 1.2.8 Burst chain and performed complete syncs. We recently completed the set reward assignment for pool mining and addressed issues with the H2 database. As you may or may not know working with a database that was generated nearly three years ago trying to get to properly sync with a modern version is challenging in itself. Do you recall any of the issues we fought with like a miscoded SHABAL algorithm, Milestone/Constant blocks that created roadblocks, B1 protocols missing, and even the generation of simulating the Genesis block. We have only claimed a 20% completion on the entire project. That is how I'm establishing my milestone.

Item 2) First of all, I do not take kindly with poeple calling me a liar. You know damn well that you did in fact participate in trying to short the coin and then you just sent more funds to your wallet to make it look as if you didn't. I asked you to prove your innocence by screensharing and showing me your trades, but you did not do so, instead you called me a liar, further proving your guilt.
I'm not sure what the recent inflation in coin value has to do with Development but if you recall you yelled and stated "I have to go" and hung up on me. I did send you a screen shot of my polo account showing the coins and everyone has the ability to see that I still have coins in my wallet as well. I have nothing more to "prove" to you, I am aware that you have asked multiple members of the community to corroborate my involvement in the price resistance. I find what I choose to do with my own coins irrelevant for the discussion of paying the Devs.
Item 3) Second of all, I have re-assessed the Core Development fund, at the time it was calculated, it came out to be $8,000 and it will continue to be so. Milestones will be calculated at current rate towards the percentage of $8000 paid out. Since we are on core development, do you seriously feel we have reached a milestone, development has been stagnant and you did what in this whole last week? Merge 3 requests and change some constatnts?
The value to be paid to the team was a sum of 2m Burst, there was never a fiat conversion discussed. Your ability to render the math when it suites you amazes me. There was no request for a reassessment, we agreed at a value of 2million burst. For the 2nd part of your question, "What did you do?" please see the paste bin associated with #4 below for full details of pieces and parts that I have worked on.

Item 4) Lastly, the brunt of the work is currently being shouldered by catbref and yet he has never asked for a single penny. I litterally have to shove them in his wallet. On the other hand, you are the only "dev" that comes in here basically begging for money. Are you in it for the right reasons? I ask you this because I have done a lot of dev in different forms and not once have I gotten paid for anything in the past year... Furthermore, you just went to the community for a crowdfund that you claim was feed a developper, of which it was fulfilled to the tune of $600 and yet here you are asking for more. I again repeat, every other dev in here I have to force payment on them, for god's sake @fusecavator has not even sent me his wallet address yet so I can pay him...

You are correct Catbref is performing the largest share of the work and as such he is receiving the largest percentage (39%) as determined by the entire team. The percentages were posted publicly in the Dev channel and all Devs that were active at that time agreed to the percentages.

I'm posting a link to pastebin.com where individuals that are interested in seeing how the developers worked together and the contributions of each can be reviewed

https://pastebin.com/ptJRSK5H

To shove coins into others wallets might be a wee bit of an over exaggeration. I cannot prove this statement publicly as I will not share any private message between myself and other Devs without discussing it with them first.
My crowd fund was independent of the Core-Wallet, I specifically stated what the coins would be used for and I plan on completing my social experiment in the next week. If I was a Trash-Man I would have called it "FeedATrashman". At the time of the Crowd Fund the total burst was valued at $140. My contribution to the Burst community exceeds the majority of those involved;. Projects I have worked on include but is not limited to, the Price tool on BurstNation.com, The Prediction Tool on Burst Nation.com. The BTC to Burst Gateway, The Android Wallet, Miner and Plotter, and The BNR Asset PSA and sometimes being the voice of the Dev team on the weekly Live Stream. I typically receive many "Thank Yous" from members of the community in threads or PMs/DMs and they often don't know how to say thank you, I simply provided a vehicle.

The funds raised to pay for the Core Wallet project were not raised by BurstNation.com as the wallet makes it appear but instead were transferred to Focus to be managed, most funds were donated by long standing members of the community as assets or direct burst coins. At the time of this posting Burst is currently trading at 521 Satoshi and the Development fund contains 2.5m+ Burst coins valued at over $26,000.

I now ask the members of the community to voice your opinion on this matter and cast a vote. "Transfer the Funds" or "IceBurst You're Wrong"; it must be resolved. There is no middle ground as Focus' comment is clear, I shall not be paid for any work completed on the Core since 4/25 or any future work.. I see this as a potential threatening situation to our coins future development.

-IceBurst
Just Another Expendable Dev

Sort:  

Doesn't look good for BURST.

agree. I hope this can be fixed somehow. stop my burst from falling :(

There's hope but it may be dwindling. It seems to me resolution should be easy but other see it as "buckling under" and won't conform.

i hope for the best and burst to go up again ;)

With a lot of other very good altcoins out there... this is certainly not good news for Burst and their future development

These type situations cast a dark cloud over a coin and it's community.
I'm a latecomer into the community, about 3 months now and hope it can withstand the current drama. Unfortunately, I don't know all the players and enough specifics still to know what to think but I'll keep supporting burstcoin to the best of my efforts.
One thing I know for certain is in order for an altcoin to survive the evolution of crypto currency ALL the main players need to be transparent and not hiding behind avatars and cute names. Many of the new generation coins and core teams have already figured that out.
Just my humble two cents.

This has to be the worst project ever.
Their entire POC is bogus. This does not look good indeed.

The PoC concept is interesting and is "green" however your correct, if Burst ever becomes valuable it will be a victim of it's success. I have evaluated the algorithm and while initially it was thought to be ASIC proof may not be as solid as originally thought

Can you by any chance substantiate this claim?

Yeah, the use of writing to disk as a form of stake in the network is ripe for attacks. The economics don't work out. See my post history for a burst lowdown

Thanks kyle, will dig dig into this, however i must say that if his claims are right...I will be very sad as the proposal is beautiful. The equitable accessibility to this kind of resource makes it a perfect candidate for the aim of crypto in my opinion.

That is how they want you to feel. I agree with the aims to prevent miner centralization, there are actual mining algorithms that are more resistant to ASICs and thus more assessable to your average joe. CryptoNote coins are profitable on consumer CPUs. They have actual proof of work behind them. Also just because mining may end up requiring specialized hardware and skills - such that you are not able to mine - does not mean that mining will become centeralized. People and groups who have those skills will still experience the competition that drives decentralization.

I hope your right.

Well the economics of mining have shown themselves over the last 7 years, dispite some flaws it is doing OK.

It is insecure is what it is. It is anything but green. Who cares about the algorithm, the game theory is dangerous.

ALF AWKWARD.jpeg

I dont think we should be clouded by a disagreement between devs though. Normally this kind of thing wouldnt be public but be sure it happens all the time. Burst coin has already been hurting, hopefully this wont bring it down more. The actual coding and work put into it is more important. A scuffle between devs is nothing. Keep faith.

This is not an issue between Devs, but an issue between the Public Funds holder and the entire Dev team.

It is definitely worrying for me. But I will hold out. I feel burst is about as low as its gonna get. Hopefully it will be worked out. Thanks for the post. Hopefully it will work out for you, im guessing that your the dev?

I am one of the Core Devs, I am the primary voice for the Dev of the Team. I was the individual that negotiated the payment for the team. My payout percentage was a median amount when compared to all that were to be paid.

I understand completely. I feel your frustration.

Anytime we work are asses off for a cause or just for a job and we are not given the respect and payments deserved it is very frustrating. How is the voting going?

we seem to allways get burned mate.

i just hope we get paid for all the work we put in

I am sorry for your experience. I can not help. That dude banned me when I asked about governance model and relayed that lots of my non crypto friends, and traders call all kinds of coins, ponzis and scams. He took it personally, banned me, and sent me a snarky comment saying something about "anarchy" or something. I didn't understand it. All I know is I have a little bit of Burst and that is it. I can say a lot of other things, but I will not at this time. I wish you the best. Sorry I can not be of help as I can no longer go on Burstnation because of that guy.

The core dev's need to decide who is the weakest link and severe it asap!!

Ya, not good news after that huge jump it had.. There are so many coins out there. Some have survived situations like this though. So good luck to the Burst coin in the future. Good luck to all of them, but some of them more than other right lol!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58805.73
ETH 2642.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45