Are Weirdos Trying To Brow Beat You?

in #bullying6 years ago (edited)

Over the years, plenty of people have tried to brow beat me into doing what they wanted. Actually, they usually tried to brow beat me into not doing what they didn't want.

Their tactics were simple, like a Rubik's Cube with the same colour on all six sides. They'd either raise their voices and talk down to me as though they had authority or they'd try to make me feel ashamed of doing the right thing. I'd go so far as to say that these tactics work on the majority of people most of the time, but not me. I listened to metal songs about respect and strength when I was growing up, making me impervious to lesser men!

Name Calling


I’ve recently seen the term ‘virtue signaling’ being used as a pejorative with increasing frequency. It’s typically used by those who want to bully people into not making a compelling case that may be a major factor in deciding an argument.

Those same people also use the term ‘social justice warrior’ as a pejorative. The fact that they try to insult people by calling them something which is undeniably good just shows their deficiencies. Are there supplements that they could take?

If you want to see the face of evil, speak of peace and wait to see who argues against you. Yeah, those people called me a Care Bear. That was back in the days before snowflake was used. I wonder if there was a snowflake Care Bear. I imagine that there would have been.

Be a social justice warrior and signal the hell out of its virtue. Anyone who speaks against you is only signalling that they're afraid of you.

Sort:  

I am also belonging to the group that is immune to such tactics. My motto for such people is "You don't like me? Well that is your problem, not mine.

I always tell them that such tactics only work on cowards and people who are junior, neither of which describes me. The typical response is that they then feel that they're junior to me and they fall into line.

I've learnt to care less about what people say about social media.

They resort name-calling when they can't put up a good argument.

Name-calling is a quick way to lose an argument.

It sounds like you are talking to the majority of all Youtube comments sections towards the bottom.

Long live the snowflake Care bear! Say no to assholes, say yes to rational thinking and respect.

During the Israel-Gaza conflict in 2014, I took the approach of talking about peace rather than taking sides. Some people made me out to be the devil himself.

The World isn't about good versus evil, like in Star Wars. It's about moderates versus extremists.

I totally agree. It's not enough that the world is crumbling around people, they always without fail have something to hate on.

Hopefully, in the years, to come we can see some change with different exposures coming into play. But we will just have to see.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 42 (2/11/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.12
ETH 2932.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62