You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bully Whales Pt.4 - Post On Flagging Solutions? DENIED @smooth: I will be flagging this post if it still has significant rewards ($11)

in #bully7 years ago (edited)

Flagged as trolling (name calling and personal attack)

Also downvoted as complaints about not earning enough money from rewards (much less from the top earner) do not add value. And when repeated with a high volume of posts saying essentially the same thing also become a form of abuse (spam, bombing, etc.)

EDIT:

I'm not allowed to make rewards I get from people who upvote me

You are operating under a flawed conceptual model of the system. Neither you nor anyone else gets rewards you make from those who upvote. You get rewards from the consensus result of the voting calculated by the blockchain logic once all the voting is complete. Until that time, the amount shown is only an estimate of what you would make if the voting were to end at that instant, which is usually not the case.

Sort:  

I seem to recall making that that exact argument to you and ngc/steemed/kushed before the July payout, but back then you wouldn't hear of it, but of course back then it was your rewards that were being threatened. I suppose I should be glad you've changed your mind, even if there is a slight smell of hypocrisy in the air.

I'm not sure which rewards of mine you are talking about. I've never earned much from the site (you can count my posts on one hand and comments never earn much). I did earn some curation rewards (especially pre-July when I was likely the most active curator) but there was never an issue with downvoting on those particularly. So I'm honestly not sure what you mean.

It is true my views have evolved as we've seen the platform develop. In a private chat I recently noted that I used to contribute to problematic whale upvoting and reward concentration (of other people's content, not my own) but I haven't been doing that for months, and usually don't vote much at all any more (and when I do it is even more rare that it is a high power vote), with the exception of funding posts for open source projects and contests and some posts on understanding or improving the system itself (all of which benefit the platform/ecosystem directly or benefit many more users than just the one poster).

So whatever it is that you think we disagreed about it the past may well have been an instance where you were right and I was wrong. I have no problem saying so.

from the consensus result of the voting calculated by the blockchain logic

beep boop

"... once all the voting is complete"

You are just an algorithm searching for equality and balance, we get it. BEEP BOOP

The word is consensus

I think we pretty much have consensus now but if I say it it's probably mean.

[nesting]

I think we pretty much have consensus now but if I say it it's probably mean.

Getting paid for posting on a web site is not mean, even if you are paid less than you otherwise might like. @krnel is one of the highest earners on the site. He continues to earn on every post, even a little bit on most of the drama/complaint/trolling posts. Sorry, but I can't agree there is anything mean going on. Maybe entitled? Desperate? Was promised consistent earnings from whale sponsors and that plan is being frustrated ? I really don't know what the problem is that is leading to these attack posts, but ultimately no, it isn't mean to earn a little less than otherwise for posting on a web site.

Steemit.com has every opportunity to adjust the UI to remove dollar amounts especially pre-payout or make any number of other changes such as: a downvote button in addition to or instead of the flag icon, a way to include a reason when placing a downvote, changing the voting from upvote/downvote to a star system, etc. in order to reduce negative feelings which have been widely felt (not only in this sort of situation, but also others) and has thus far declined to do so, which is your call of course. Maybe that could be considered mean?

Meanwhile, I continue to get positive feedback on my manner of engagement, such as this one

Therefore I appreciate it even more that you explain so thoroughly why you did flag this article of @thecryptofiend. I think it is much more easy to accept and understand a flag if it is explained in such a nice and friendly way. That helps a lot against the first (and very human) impulse to feel personally attacked.

Furthermore there is another way to reduce hurt feelings and disappointment that comes when pending payouts are reduced and that is for whales (along with bot and trail owners) to not to vote in a manner that creates such high concentrated payments in the first place. Everyone who votes bears responsibility in the overall process, not just the one person who took the time to explain why.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59940.43
ETH 2988.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61