Frugal spender: Still do not deny yourself. #1

in #budgets7 years ago

It is that time of the month, our bank accounts are swollen with salaries. It is December so afew of us got our bonus early. Now we want to buy everything or we are scared it will not be enough. For me I go with the scared bit. My salary has not yet hit the account; good timing it is still early as I get paid by 5th. I am however not getting any bonus yet and he month of December scares me.

We have to buy gifts, we have to organise trips, in kenya we have three holidays this month.

Over the years I have come to a simple budget, 20% save at times I do more, but who are we kidding this month that ain't happening. I pay rent, buy food, pay internet, phone, electricity, and water. I remember to put aside expenses like (transport and weekly groceries) anything after this is a luxury.

For this first post, lets go back to a few years when my monthly income was 40,000 KES. In writing this I am trying to show you how much you can achieve by starting where you are.

After saving 20% and catering for my needs I would have been left with enough for entertainment and to buy one cloth at that time. But my emotions could not allow. So for that whole year, I worked and spent and in the end I had nothing to show for it. Maybe, we are allowed to make such mistakes when we are starting out. But if you found your way here, then you must have been looking for advise or you are wondering whether it is possible.

Yes, it is. Over time I will share spending habits one can adopt over time to reduce the bulk of your spending , increase your savings and still not deny yourself. Want to get your self that gift you have been admiring on the display. It is possible. We just need to change your spending strategy. Maybe even teach you a few new ways of making extra cash on the side.

I am not a financial adviser, I am only sharing what I have seen working for my case. so do come back for more.

Sort:  

Congratulations @trusit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trusit! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @trusit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46