What browser do you use and why?

in #browser5 years ago (edited)

vivaldibrowser.jpg

I've been using Vivaldi for about a year. Actually I use Vivaldi, Chrome, FireFox and Opera, but mainly Vivaldi. (Yes, I'm a Windows user.) Can't remember why I changed to Vivaldi from Chrome and from Firefox to Chrome when I did, but what I do know is that I don't switch from one browser to another altogether without a proper reason. Because I'm so loyal a lazy ass. So there must have been some big problem in those at that time, or I encountered one or several features that I didn't like. Or perhaps there was something I wanted the browser to have or do, and it didn't.

I use multiple browsers the same time for various reasons. Mostly because they all have something good and something not so good in them. So I have different bookmarks in every single one of those browsers. For instance in Steemit.com I'm logged in with different accounts in different browsers. But I also use SteemPeak to switch between accounts, and I'm glad that SteemPeak has that option in it.

I sometimes like to design web pages and I like to know how they look in different browsers. The developers tool in Chrome has an excellent feature where you can examine how a Web page looks in different smartphones, but that's not enough for me. As I said, different browsers have different good features but also limitations in them.

I use Chrome in my smartphone, but I've heard that there's also a new browser for Android phones that has a built in ad blocker in it. Brave. I could give it a try.

Brave is a free and open-source web browser developed by Brave Software Inc. based on the Chromium web browser and its Blink engine. The browser blocks ads and website trackers. In a future version of the browser, the company intends to adopt a pay-to-surf business model.

Source: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Brave_(web_browser)

So what's your favourite browser and why?
Any Chromium enthusiastics here? Edge users?

Sort:  

.

Opera for specific tasks only possible on Opera.

I have not used Opera that much, what are those specific tasks. If you want to share. :)

Hacking an online game for youtube videos :D

Totally valid reason. :D

Chrome for me too because developer's tool and its the best one you get in browsers!
Had I used edge, you would have got this reply after days.LOL

Is Chromes developers tool also the best of all developers tools? :)

So Edge is slooooooooow? That's not for me then. And I would imagine, not for most people.

You are the web developer. You should know better than me insane!

It's just a hobby. I really don't know shit. I just use that browsers developer tool that I use mostly at the time I do some web designing. Now it's Vivaldi and as Vivaldi sometimes still puzzles me for being a bit weird, I double check stuff with Chrome and FireFoxes developer tool. I have no idea which of those is the best. As I know shit. About stuff.

  • My primary browser is Opera, which is much faster than Chrome or Firefox and a joy to use!
  • Firefox is my number 2 browser, if I have to use one for testing something.
  • Edge is number 3, but has some serious limitations.
  • I don't use Chrome because it is slow AF and I despise Google's habit of collecting data and spying on users. In fact, I can't figure out why so many people who claim to be anarchists and fans of decentralization would support Google by using their browser. It mystifies me.
  • Brave seems okay on the surface, but is riddled with problems deep down. Bookmarks won't save properly, paste-and-go won't work, the start screen keeps reverting to the default, etc.
  • I've never tried Vivaldi, but would certainly consider giving it a whirl one day!

I don't use Chrome because it is slow AF and I despise Google's habit of collecting data and spying on users.

Now I think I remember why I switched to Vivaldi from Chrome.

Brave seems okay on the surface, but is riddled with problems deep down. Bookmarks won't save properly, paste-and-go won't work, the start screen keeps reverting to the default, etc.

O-ou. Sounds terrible. Maybe I won't try it.

I was fanatic about FireFox until it got excruciatingly slow and I ditched it for Chrome. Sometimes I also use Ecosia and I am going to try Brave Browser or whatever its name is. 😁

Now, what the heck is Vivaldi? A Browser for Classical Music fans!?

A Browser for Classical Music fans!?

lol. Yes. Like Opera is for... opera fans. Overacting and singing all the lines your going to say. And massive amounts of paint... sorry... makeup in your face. :D

If I remember correctly I switched to Vivaldi because Chrome was too slow for me. But now I think that Vivaldi is nothing but slow nowadays. So I might switch again. Or maybe I should switch myself... to a slower version of me. :D

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vivaldi_(web_browser)

https://vivaldi.com

But what is Ecosia and why do you use it?

Ecosia is a Chrome clone, which plants trees every time you use its search

79 - This is the number of searches you have performed with Ecosia. On average you need around 45 searches to plant a tree!

Ah Ecosia! Isn't it enough to just use their search engine in any other browser? Some have it through an extensions and in others you can just add it manually.

(Though if their Chromium variation is decent enough, why not.)

Yes, I think so. At least on the PC.

Ah browsers! I customize mine to the point where when I have to switch it's a huge pain in the ass!

Good old Firefox, which lost a lot of its useful extensions when transitioning to a new and admittedly rather effective engine. Finding approximate extensions was a pain, but I've got most of its important functionality back.
Chrome Canary (which basically means "eXtreme Beta") to check out what's going on with the browser engine development that all smaller players depend on these days.
Opera for a Chromium with a highly curated extension library that I can reliably expect not to have any malicious add-ons or 12 mediocre variations of one functionality I need.
Vivaldi or BATBrave are not browsers I've spent a lot of time with just yet (although I should have!), but then Brave went through a complete overhaul recently and seems to be mostly another Chromium now with a special variety of ad block, though admittedly a very unique and interesting one.
As for Edge... I think in my attempts to secure it or hobble its potential as an attack vector on a Windows machine I've broken something somewhere and the poor thing hangs on startup. I won't cry for it though, even if it is a decent browser by today's standards.

I tend to separate my browser installations by major activity -- for example Opera is my browser for all things STEEM and some related crypto stuff.

I customize mine to the point where when I have to switch it's a huge pain in the ass!

I feel you. Only thing I do nowadays are the bookmarks and an ad blocker. Nothing else so if and when things go sour, I don't have to bang my head to the keyboard.

for example Opera is my browser for all things STEEM and some related crypto stuff.

I do that too. One for fun, one for work, one for spammy pages, one for something else. And if I need to, every browser for testing sites. But you clearly know your browsers so I'll ask your opinion if I decide to abandon Vivaldi some day.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @insaneworks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1250 replies. Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84