Baking Inspiration from Krakow, PolandsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #breadbakers6 years ago (edited)

It is 100 years of Polish independence today.

I came back from SteemFest3 in Krakow yesterday after attending conference days. Of course I baked bread today. I made bagels for tomorrow breakfast and pizza for dinner.

While I was making bagel dough, I started thinking about making some of them in Obwarzanek shape. Obwarzanek is older cousin of bagels, which I had for snack in Krakow following @breadcentric's The Most Important Krakow Guide for SteemFest³. It is a Krakow bread & bakeries guide :)

When I read the guide before I flew to Krakow, I was interested in the way how an Obwarzanek is shaped with two stripes of dough. Not like bagels or brezels.

Then I made my first Obwarzanek-bagel ;) The biggest mistake was that I forgot to put sesame on its surface .......

IMG_2670 (1).jpg

My daughter liked the handy shape more than bagels :) Good finding!

IMG_2667.jpg

I wish I could have taken a class at the Obwarzanek museum ... It's also mentioned in the @breadcentric's guide.

Next time I will start from Obwarzanek dough and don't forget to put sesame on them ;)

Happy independence day!

Sort:  

I heard about the celebration on tv, unfortunately i did not join the steemfest by the way your sweets seems delicious!!

Thanks noemilunastorta! Some more to improve but I'm happy about the result of my first Obwarzanek attempt :)

Congratulations @akipponn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

breadcentricさんの記事も読み、Obwarzanek krakowskiのことがよく分かりました。この形は赤ちゃんがteethingの時に噛み噛みするteething ringに似ていますね。
娘さんが食べている写真を見てそう思いました (^^)

言われてみると確かに。お友達が子供に「もう二人目は適当になっちゃって!ははは」と言ってドイツの固いパンをまるまる渡していたのを思い出しました。食べられる teething ring ;)

They look really tasty though, @akipponn
I will look out for those in the Polish shop in town - I'm not really good at kneading dough :D

Ah they may have some too. I also will take a look Polish stands at weekly market. Good idea! Talking about Polish food, I want to make pierogi too :)

I went past the shop today but had forgotten the name, @akipponn - I will write it down so I impress them with my 'pseudo' knowledge :D
Oh, we have had pierogi and kefir :D

The Obwarzanek name or spelling is quite difficult for me to remember. I remember the first "Ob" and the last "nek" but those in between is the difficult part. Always I copy and paste it from somewhere mostly from the @breadcentric's post :)

Ja Kefir! I like it too.

A baking class at a museum sounds wonderful, hopefully you will have this oppertunity again. To learn historical techniques is amazing. Does the Obwarzanek needs a special dough?

I booked my flight already when I read breadcentric's post and knew there was a class on Saturday. And there was flight delay on Saturday!! ... No Ryanair's fault it was because of fog ;)

Here is a post by @breadcentric, which mentions also the ingredients :) After I finish writing an application of Shippo (tail) for EU WORTH project, I make real Obwarzanek.
https://steemit.com/pl-kuchnia/@breadcentric/simit-prawie-jak-obwarzanek-z-turcji

Sorry to worry you, but this is simit, a Turkish one ;)
Polish one is boiled before baking, like its cousin, bagel.

Oh no it was a big miss take ... But I came up with an interesting analogy. It may be like mixing up Japanese Sushi and Korean Gimbap. Both looks the same but something different :) It's interesting to find these food similarity and relationships.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77