🔹 Andre Berto Wants To Make The Move To MMA

in #boxing7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

Another MMA-Boxing Crossover?


A former opponent of Floyd Mayweather, and actually one of the most recent, want to sign up with the UFC. Andre Berto, who fought Floyd in 2015 in a boxing match wan'ts to give MMA a shot, and he's not taking baby steps, he wants to fight in the UFC.

I want all of ‘em! Dana White, you know me, you know my family’s been in MMA for a while, I’m coming to the UFC so Dana White, call me! Tell Dana to call me. I’ll go to the UFC. I wanna be the first fighter ever to be a world champion in boxing and go get a UFC world title. It’s never been done. That’s never been done. Tell Dana to holler at me!
-Andre Berto

Although it would be quite an accomplishment, holding titles in both boxing and MMA, he is not correct when he says it's never been done. Holly Holm, former UFC women's BW champion, held titles in boxing.

This actually isn't as crazy at it sounds. Berto comes from a family of MMA. His father competed in UFC 10, his brother in EliteXC, Bellator MMA, and Strikeforce. His sister was even on the Ultimate Fighter Season 18. Who knows, maybe he does train a bit of MMA every now and then. Not sure he'd be the biggest draw though, but a super fight between him and current FW champion Max Holloway would be pretty interesting and they are both standup fighters.

What do you think about all this talk of more MMA-Boxing crossovers?

"If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate a follow or an upvote, thank you for reading what I had to say"

More MMA News!

Francis Ngannou Officially Out Of UFC 215


What's Next For Conor McGregor


Mayweather vs McGregor Results!

Sort:  

I heard Andre Berto has experience with other martial arts. Maybe he could do well if he build himself up. And he does hit very hard, just doesn't get to land it often against other top boxers.

But only time will tell how he does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42