🔹 What's Next For Conor McGregor

in #ufc7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

Where Does Conor Go From Here?


He's got a lot of options really. He's planted seeds everywhere. He's already told Dana several times that he wants to fight one more time this year, not sure if that's true but the seed has been planted.

Also before the Mayweather fight, he hinted at a trilogy fight with Nate Diaz, who was his opponent in the 2 biggest fights of Conor's UFC career. Even before that he said he wanted to fight Khabib in Russia. Now we also have the Interim Lightweight belt which will go to either Tony Ferguson or Kevin Lee, so one of those guys could be Conor's next fight. This is of course assuming he comes back to MMA, which I hope he does.

Khabib certainly seems to be interested in a fight wit the Notorious One.

Image Source

Khabib called out Conor on Instagram. Honestly this is the fight I want to see the most. Khabib is the best grappler in the LW division, and I wanna see how he would deal with a striker like Conor, who's so good and managing his distance. Also I think Khabib is long overdue for a title shot, unfortunately he messed up his chance at the Interim title when he missed weight for UFC 209.

Interestingly enough, Rafael Dos Anjos also called out Conor.

Image Source

RDA and Conor were supposed to fight at UFC 196, back when RDA was the LW champion. That fight didn't come to fruition because RDA pulled out with an injury and Nate Diaz took his place. RDA currently fights at Welterweight. I'm not sure this fight makes any sense at this point, but it would be an interesting match up.

Now for Tony Ferguson and Kevin Lee...

Image Source

Honestly, as much as I love Ferguson's fighting style, I'm just not interested in seeing either of them fight Conor. Tony get's hit too easily, and with a heavy hitter like Conor, I just don't see him lasting very long. Tony is good on the ground, but Conor's takedown defense will keep him upright I believe. Tony isn't the best at take-downs in my opinion.

Now for Kevin Lee, well... Honestly I've only seen one of his fights, the Chiesa fight. He performed well, I'm told he's got a lot of heart. But there's just not enough hype behind him at this point, and unless he defeats Ferguson impressively, I don't think he deserves the next title shot. Nothing against Lee, but the UFC wants to make money fights, and right now Lee's name just isn't big enough... at least not yet. He has a chance to make a name for himself at UFC 216.

"If you enjoyed this post I would greatly appreciate a follow or an upvote, thank you for reading what I had to say"

More MMA News!

Mayweather vs McGregor Results!


Ronda Rousey Getting Married Same Day As "Money Fight"


Mayweather vs McGregor Embedded: Vlog Series - Episode 5

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43