Steemit.com Developer Bounty: Split Blog into Blog and Resteemed 💰 $50 SBD + STEEM/SBD Author Payout From This Post 💰

in #bounty8 years ago (edited)

In my Attention: Calling All Developers - Let's Polish The Steemit.com Mothership post, I encouraged more community developers to help out with some much needed enhancements to the Steemit.com website. I am happy to report that two of the seven features I suggested have already been completed and are live on the site!

  • A confirmation box before the UI "Resteems"
  • Display a user's "joined date" on their profile

In order to try and encourage more participation, I am offering a bounty to complete one of the remaining features. This is a highly desired feature by a lot of people, and it would add a lot of value to the site!

Splitting the "Blog" tab into separate "Blog" and "Resteem" tabs!


Technical Requirements:

  • In the profile section, there should be a "Blog" and "Resteemed" tab.
  • The "Blog" tab should only show the posts that the user authored.
  • The "Resteemed" tab should show the posts that the user Resteemed.
  • There should be a link to both tabs in the profile menu.
  • The order on the profile page and the order in the profile menu should be the same.
  • Both tabs should display the correct information when viewing data for the current user, and when browsing other users' profiles.
  • The code style and format should match with the existing Steemit.com code-base as much as possible.

Bounty Requirements:

  • In order to receive the bounty, the developer must implement the feature described above.
  • The code must be submitted to the
    Steemit.com GitHub repository / https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com
    via a "Pull Request". It is recommended to use GitHub issue 616.
  • The pull request must be accepted by the Steemit development team and pass all internal tests and code reviews.
  • The feature must be deployed by the Steemit dev team to the official Steemit.com website, making it available on the live site for everyone to use.
  • It is the developer's responsibility to ensure that the code meets all of the Steemit dev team's requirements, and make whatever changes are necessary in order for the pull request to be accepted and published to the live site. I have no control over what the Steemit development team will accept.
  • The bounty must be claimed by January 31, 2017. If the feature is not completed by this time, the bounty will be voided. An extension may be provided if reasonable progress can be demonstrated, although this must be discussed with me and approved by me ahead of time if it is needed.

Technicalities:

  • The bounty payment will be $50 SBD + the STEEM/SBD portion of the author payout from this post.
  • After the payment period for this post closes, I will be exchanging any STEEM from the payout to SBD, using the internal exchange. I will make note of the final bounty amount in the comments after the exchange is complete.
  • If any other users in the community add to the bounty in the comments below, that transaction is between the person offering the additional bonus and the person who completes the bounty, unless they provide me with the SBD to hold and distribute as part of the official bounty reward.
  • It is the developer's responsibility to ensure that all the requirements in this post are met.
  • If you are unsure about anything, please ask.

Final Thoughts:

  • It is recommended that if you are planning to pursue this bounty, that you let me know in advance, and request in GitHub that the issue be assigned to you.
  • If you have any questions, you can reply to this post or contact me in Steemit.chat.
Sort:  

Way to be active in implementing these needed features.

I think many would resteem more if it wouldn't clog their own page.

I'm split on my feelings about the separate tabs @timcliff.
Maybe I'm a minority here, but if you bother to create a separate tab for resteems, you may as well get rid of it altogether because I would personally never visit it. I want to see what the author is posting
Instead, I think I would prefer to see a small notice above the posts in the existing tabs (Home, New, Trending, etc.) that states how many of my followers have resteemed an article. I don't even need to know who they are. It would be enough information to pique my interest without being in my face.
That all being said, if the split tabs seems to be the direction we want to go, then I'm all for decluttering my profile page. :)

Yes, but this would allow others to resteem posts they like, which puts that post into the feed of all their followers at that moment, without cluttering their blog.

Does that make sense?

It does, papa, which is part of the reason I'm torn. I understand the benefits, but I also know myself. It's one extra click that I would likely never do.
Personally, I don't follow people whose resteems outnumber their posts either. Maybe I'm the strange one?

Personally, I don't follow people whose resteems outnumber their posts either. Maybe I'm the strange one?

You're not alone. I don't either.

I do not think that the main goal is to see what people have resteemed, but rather to not see what they have resteemed when you look at their blog.

If you are following them, every post that they resteemed would already be in your feed anyway.

hey Papa-Pepper,

I just made a little chrome plugin to do exactly this...and you can hide/show all resteems on profile pages with one click(it adds a button to the profile page itself)
https://steemit.com/steemit/@itchykitten/extreemit-chrome-plugin-to-hide-resteems-on-profile-pages-original-by-itchy

Take a look, let me know if you have any suggestions, I'd love to hear them.

I'll try to check it a little later. Thank you!

Totally not!! I think most of us do that...I just made a chrome plugin for this issue though merej99, maybe you'll find it helpful...it adds a little toggle button on the place to hide or show all the resteems on someone's profile page.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@itchykitten/extreemit-chrome-plugin-to-hide-resteems-on-profile-pages-original-by-itchy

Sounds pretty cool @itchykitten - I'll definitely check it out. :)

@merej99 - just to be clear, the "Feed" would still show both from everybody that you are following. This change is just for how they are shown in the user's profile. Currently the "Blog" page combines both the 'blog' and 'Resteemed' content, which is not really how it should be. It is hard to see what user's have actually posted (which a lot of people are interested in) without having to scroll through all the "Resteemed" articles.

Instead, I think I would prefer to see a small notice above the posts in the existing tabs (Home, New, Trending, etc.) that states how many of my followers have resteemed an article.

This is a separate feature that I think should be added as well.

I made a quick chrome plugin that does just this Tim! Take a look, let me know what you think!
https://steemit.com/steemit/@itchykitten/extreemit-chrome-plugin-to-hide-resteems-on-profile-pages-original-by-itchy

Cool, but I don't install plugins :)

totally understand. If you're worried about what's in, you can always download the quite simple JS + html from github and load it into chrome as an 'unpackaged developer mode' extension.

I agree that it's a good thing and a step in the right direction, but as I mentioned to @papa-pepper, when I curate and look for new people to follow, I tend to skip over the people who resteem more than they produce, so separating it removes a "tool" that I've implemented. I really am conflicted about it but not opposed by any of the changes. I'm just a girl on a boogie board waiting for the next wave. LOL

I'm torn on the main feed page too, but I think Tim's talking about having the option on our personal blog pages.

Perhaps this is a step in the right direction. I would also love to see a true profile page where I could have a short bio, and columns/sections that show my stats, a list of my blogs and resteems, and maybe even my last 5-10 comments. Milestone badges might also go a long way in rejuvenating users to interact. And wouldn't it be neat if the curation guilds actually hosted competitions for best quality posts so they could award their own badge to be proudly displayed on said profile page? That's my dream. Tabs? meh. Not so much.

A lot of that is in the works :)

I would definitely like to see such a feature available!

Valuable information you share, thank you very much for it, congratulations for what you do for the community.
Another great material thank you very much

PM me if no one has taken on this challenge come December. I definitely can't commit to it during the month of November.

Someone will step up though I'm sure. Do you code yourself @timcliff?

I'm a developer at heart, but my company pushed me to the "dark side" of project management a few years ago. Now I just do what I can to help the developers do all the "real work" :)

It's really urgent to clean the mess in homepage (blog tab).

The final Bounty amount is: $51.405 SBD
50.000 + 0.188 + 1.217

Author reward of 0.188 SD, 10.340 STEEM and 11.828 STEEM POWER for timcliff/steemit-com-developer-bounty-split-blog-into-blog-and-resteemed-usd50-sbd-steem-sbd-author-payout-from-this-post

10.340 STEEM was converted to 1.217 SBD

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $27.23 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 13 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77