Where am I? #10

in #bounty8 years ago (edited)

Hey, I'm running out of pictures of myself for this "Where am I?" series. Although I've done an awful lot of traveling, and have been to lots of places, I was never into taking selfies. Or even taking many pictures at all.

So today I am submitting for your guessing prowess a picture of my mother (who died just before Steemfest this year) and two of her brothers (my uncles). The first person to guess BOTH where the photo was taken, AND the year it was taken, will be the lucky winner of 10 SBD. If no one gets both right, the first person to get one of the two right will be the winner. If no one get either exactly, the closest in both categories will be declared winner.

Guesses must be in comments to this post. One guess per person please. (No near relatives of mine are eligible to guess). The decision of The Distinguished Panel of Judge (ie. me) is final.

Good Luck!

The previous Where am I? #9 can be found here:
https://steemit.com/bounty/@onceuponatime/where-am-i-9

MominLondonipadphotos125abc76.png

Sort:  

I was sure before reading your post that the boy to the left was you!!!
I can't guess when(now?) the photo is taken but looking at their faces I am convinced the place can only reflect to... paradise!

I guess that there might be a few people on this site who would think that the location is close to paradise. But that's probably an individual thing, so I can't accept your entry (in order to head off flame wars, lol)

Estimating your age and usual parental age.. maybe around 1925. Place.. somewhere in (takes a stab at google map) - Manitoba? More specific? .. winnipeg?

@johnrt had already wrongly guessed 1925, and @eric-boucher was the firt to correctly guess 1926. So, only the location is up for grabs still. And it is not in Manitoba. Thanks for playing!

What a difficult game! World's so big Lol

But we've already ruled out big chunks like BC, Alabama, Maryland, Ontario, Michigan, etc.
And to win, there is no requirement to get the exact place. Closest gets the prize!
And certainly beats buying lottery tickets, right?

O.k., here's my attempt: I'd say Brampton, 1926! How's that??? Thanks for the contest, I was looking forward to it. :) Namaste

1926 is CORRECT! But it is NOT Brampton.

So then, there's the answer on the photo below in my Mother's own handwriting:

The shot was taken in Valois, Quebec in 1926!

Valois was a distinct village on Montreal Island that later got absorbed into the city of Pointe Claire. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valois,_Pointe-Claire)
And Pointe Claire itself today would just be considered a suburb of Montreal.

Nobody guessed correctly both the year and location. @eric-boucher was the first to guess correctly the year as being 1926! Congratulations, 10 SBD goes out to you.

I have decided to add a second 10 SBD prize for the person who guessed closest to the location. There were three likely possibilities:
(I had to look up the distances to determine a winner)

@gregory-f guessed Baltimore, Maryland (734 km)
@eric-boucher guessed Brampton, Ontario (504 km)

and, the winning guess
@johnrt guessed Ottawa, Ontario (164 km)

So 10 SBD is also going out to @johnrt

Thanks everyone for playing!

momshandwritingIMG_1940f7828.jpg

hey man, the original had a nuclear mushroom cloud in the top right corner which you edited out. Otherwise I would have guessed correctly. I knew you guys were testing that after World War I, way before the Manhattan project. :)

And you can just imagine the technology that we have now!

if you have made any breakthroughs on time travel, I can use a tip or two on Poloniex.
It's funny how most of the time travel movies show someone betting on the horse in the 7th race or buying a lottery ticket lol

I'd say 1930ish because of the children's clothing, the car and the fact your parents were married 70 years which would be around 1946. So your mom couldn't have married younger than 16 in my guess. 1925 was incorrect as someone else guessed. Ugh. I checked all your posts and no clues except your beautiful parent picture. I'm not sure where you are from but I know you live in BC now, so I'll guess BC as where it was taken.

Sorry, not BC and not 1930. But thanks for trying!

Can't wait to hear the answer !

  1. Ontario, Canada and the dog's name is Fido , lol

Not Ontario, and I don't know the name of the dog :-)

West Virginia 1926

Well, you got the 1926 right (unfortuntley @eric-boucher guessed that first). But it is not West Virginia.
Thanks for playing.

Awesome! thanks again for the game and, even more so now, for the prize! Looking forward to more contests... I can't wait really. Where was it taken? Namaste :)

Birmingham England and the year was 1952

Sorry, both are wrong. Better luck next time. Thanks for your guessing.

@onceuponatime 1926 in Switzerland
it's a wild guess, I just want to thank you for your support to the SCC announcement
thank you very much!

Good try, but it is not in Switzerland. Thanks for your guess, that helps narrow it down for others! One hand washes the other.

1926, Richmond, British Columbia, Canada

Sorry. @countrygirl already guessed British Columbia, and I told her:
"Sorry, not BC and not 1930. But thanks for trying!".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60340.70
ETH 2597.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53