Boulders of Cascadia!

in #bouldersunday6 years ago (edited)

Hello folks, I'm getting this post in just a little early for @shasta's #bouldersunday.

This week I've got some photos from British Columbia, Washington and Oregon... Long live the Pacific Northwest! Remind me sometime to write about Cascadia... a new nation to be carved out of the USA and Canada. We even have our own flag. It's known as "Old Doug" named after the Douglas Fir tree. Here's a quick look at Old Doug:

y7cwo7kw75.jpg
source

@shasta... Alaska, or parts of it, gets to be included in Cascadia as well. If you want in, you might have to move down to the panhandle. I'm not exactly sure where the border is being drawn.

But enough about Cascadian politics! We're here to see some Cascadian Boulders!

First up, I've got a long exposure monochrome shot from Bandon Beach, Oregon. That's way down near the southern border of Cascadia - which dips just a little into NorCal. Check out the Wizards' Hat Rock. Do they make boulders any more cool than this? I very much doubt it!

ax2zvbo671.jpg

Next, I've got a nice little scene with boulders, taken at Ruby Beach, Washington. This is getting close to the geographic center of Cascadia.

tidirhyqzv.jpg

Finally, from the very heart of Cascadia... Mary Vine Falls, near Victoria, British Columbia. Check out the moss-covered boulders of the BC rainforest. I was standing on a boulder just like the big one you see at the bottom left. It was slippery, and I almost took a bath there - me, my camera and tripod. Fortunately I was able to stay on my feet!

34xs1ojsy5.jpg

Now before you guys figure out that I'm just another crazy Cascadian, I'll explain that there are only about a dozen or so people on earth who are serious about this project. There are a few Hippies from Portland, some Anarchists from Seattle, and some pot-smoking Maniacs from Vancouver... That's why the capital needs to be here in Victoria. We'll straighten all you weirdos out! That's a promise from the future king President of Cascadia! Look for my likeness to soon be engraved on the (wooden) nickel of Cascadia!

That's all for today, my friends! Keep on rockin' and don't take too many wooden nickels! :)

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

If you go by the Cascadia bioregion instead of the lines on the current political map, you get something like this.... the tiny red dot being my Throne Room... err... I mean my house! :-)

map.jpg

All hail the future Tsar of Cascadia @keithboone!

Ooh, Tsar! Now you're talking! :)

all great shots but I love the first and last ones especially,

Thanks very much, I appreciate that! Hope you're having a great weekend!

Most welcome and yes a nice quiet weekend so far which is just what I needed next week is going to be a crazy week

Take it easy then. We're still dealing with the flu here - or whatever it is. Cathy's pretty sick but her meds are starting to work now.

Lulu is battling a bad cold, hoping it is just a cold, will see how she is doing tomorrow seemed a little better today thanksfully

haha! howdy sir Keith! Cascadia lol. I'm sure it's going to be a wonderful place to live. Love the photos, they're all outstanding.

Not my idea, but if it happens, I'm running for Emperor I mean President :-) Thank you! I'm working on the next movie now - this one is easier to watch!

Ruby Beach and the B.C. Rainforest falls are spectacular, Keith. Glad you didn’t take a fall. I like the wizard 🧙‍♂️ hat boulder.
Have a good day my friend and don’t take any wooden nickels. 😂

Thank you! I was just thinking... what if you could put people's faces on "wooden nickels", like for tourists? You stop for a second, the camera takes your photo, and some kind of laser or 3-d printer or something puts your face on one side... The other side is already done in advance... Wow, another zillion dollar idea! WooHoo! ;) And the price will have to be $50 or so!

You might just be onto something Keith. Those wooden nickels may become a new currency and rise above Steem one day. 😊

HA! Yes... or maybe they could just be wooden Steem nickels ? :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

🎁 Hi @keithboone! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Sepia Saturday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Blue skies, white mountains and green valleys with
nice big trees, wonderful flag! Tho it needs a
boulder and 7 little stars on it lol
I've lived on both ends of Cascadia, from NorCal
to Alaska, perhaps it is time to be smack dab in
the middle! :-)

All those different plates coming and going
make for some excellent scenery!
You have really awesome boulders ❤ @keithboone!
Love the wizard's hat and even those slippery
boulders! Sure glad you and your gear survived!
The boulder next to the hat looks to be screaming
about his hat that fell off lol

Thank you so much for posting these fantastic
photographs for #bouldersunday!
When can we get some of those new nickels?

Thanks so much! I'm working on the nickels :)

I will be moving, save me a spot...
I thought you left Steem?? It was just Mountain Monday you left??

No, I changed my mind. It's not the first time. Guess I can't stay away. Mountain Monday will live on :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36