Bouldering introduction

in #boudler6 years ago

Hey,
I‘m Leo a IT student from Germany, I earn my money these days as a teacher for bouldering so I would like to share some information, to get your opinion on these things to become a better teacher also to improve my English writing skills.
I boulder now for 2 and a half years. Before that I was climbing a little bit and spent most of my time with my slackline, jogging and some time in the gym.
Usually I go at least 3 times a week to the boulder gym. Especially nowadays when it is to cold outside to do anything else. I try not to go more then 5 times a week, because then I don’t have any skin left on the fingers, but it still happens.

Bouldering is a sport for the whole body. You need the strength everywhere and you have to think.
If you ever went bouldering you probably have seen some people climbing up just with the power in their arms. You can do that but then you just do complicated pull ups and you miss the whole fun of bouldering.
It is like doing a quiz on the wall with your arms, legs, ab and back. If you know your body well you will solve the quiz easily. So while doing the sport you learn to know your body and what it is capable of.

Also you learn how to control your fear. At the beginning there were some situations where I though “thats impossible! That can't be controllable.” . Then I saw someone else doing it exactly the same way I failed. So I had to fight my fear and fucking solve the problem! (Sometime just with anger)

Also the University in Erlangen (Germany) made a study about bouldering as a treatment for depression. link to the paper

So there are a lot of reasons to like this sport and do it but also some disadvantage. This sport is very heavy for your fingers so be careful with them. Don’t start strength training for your fingers before the second year of climbing. You should be very patient with your fingers if you have an injury there it takes a long time to recover and it happens in the blink of an eye. If you still want to train them you train endurance with a rubber ring, rubber ball or a gripper.
rubber ring.jpg
fingerhantel.jpg

If you want to do it and I didn’t scare you to much you just need shoes and sport clothes. Don’t buy the shoes when you are a beginner. You can lend the shoes usually at the bouldering gym, everywhere I went you could get shoes.
If you are not sure if they have shoes and you want to buy some just in case please don't. It needs some time to get comfortable with the thigh shoes and if you buy some at the beginning they will be to lose after a few weeks.

Then you can jump on the wall and try to get up.
But to go up there are some techniques and thats what I want to explain next.
So is there something missing or do you have any tips for people who want to start?

Sort:  

Congratulations @daggelito! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @daggelito! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66227.96
ETH 3571.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14