You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: U-Beer in Thailand: It's actually pretty good

in #booze5 years ago

One thing you forgot to say is the fact that many Thai beers are mixed with chemicals and most of these beer are forbidden in EU, like Chang cannot be imported to EU only the Chang export can be exported because of no chemicals. If you look at the surface of a Chang beer on the sun you will see a beautiful rainbow of psychedelic colors. Not try the U beer yet but will give it a taste tomorrow.

Sort:  

I have always heard people say that about Thai beers but i think it is a myth. Chang and Singha was always available in USA but was more expensive than domestic lagers there... and to be honest there isn't much of a market for it. I don't know about the chemical thing but Chang certainly does have a distinct hangover associated with it. We call it the "Chang-over"

The Chang-over is due to the chemicals, in EU the Chang Beer was the one that has to change its recipe that is why they have done Chang Export without chemicals. I hope you enjoy your time here :)

you know i never bothered to look into this. I can't find any articles about it being banned because of chemicals. However, i am not trying to say you are wrong. I was always told that Chang Export was simply a lager with a lower alcohol percentage (and it does have less alcohol) in order to comply with certain countries that place a restriction / higher import tax on beverages above a certain threshold. No pressure, but if you have access to an article about the chemical ban, i would love to read it.

This regulation was announced in the BKKpost around the time I arrived here from my memories so it was 18 to 20years ago when it was published. But I make a search and cannot find it. Maybe they have changed their recipe. If I can find anything I will send it to you.

Congratulations friend good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61281.76
ETH 3378.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55