You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: U-Beer in Thailand: It's actually pretty good

in #booze5 years ago

I have always heard people say that about Thai beers but i think it is a myth. Chang and Singha was always available in USA but was more expensive than domestic lagers there... and to be honest there isn't much of a market for it. I don't know about the chemical thing but Chang certainly does have a distinct hangover associated with it. We call it the "Chang-over"

Sort:  

The Chang-over is due to the chemicals, in EU the Chang Beer was the one that has to change its recipe that is why they have done Chang Export without chemicals. I hope you enjoy your time here :)

you know i never bothered to look into this. I can't find any articles about it being banned because of chemicals. However, i am not trying to say you are wrong. I was always told that Chang Export was simply a lager with a lower alcohol percentage (and it does have less alcohol) in order to comply with certain countries that place a restriction / higher import tax on beverages above a certain threshold. No pressure, but if you have access to an article about the chemical ban, i would love to read it.

This regulation was announced in the BKKpost around the time I arrived here from my memories so it was 18 to 20years ago when it was published. But I make a search and cannot find it. Maybe they have changed their recipe. If I can find anything I will send it to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51