U-Beer in Thailand: It's actually pretty good

in #booze5 years ago

I am not a fancy-pants person when it comes to beer. I am more of a cheap lager type guy and basically just search for the cheapest way to achieve an end which in my case is to hang out, have a conversation, and still have a beverage in front of me the entire time. U-Beer is a relatively new addition to Thailand and is largely ignored by the local and tourist population. I think that it just might be one of the best tasting cheap beers on the market in Thailand.


source

Singha is the 2nd largest brewery in Thailand after Chang (which is the beer that most people who visit and live here know) and they own a ton of different drinks the same way that Budweiser owns 45 different flavors of beer some of which are named Bud (something) and some of which are not apparently related at all. Singha is attempting to create what i perceive to be a poor man's premium beverage with U-beer.

They say that the flavor is based on "European Lager" and that is really all the tell us about it. I am a connoisseur of cheap lager in Thailand and the only thing I can really say is "well, it tastes a bit different and it costs 10 baht less... i like it" and in my mind that is really all it takes because let's be honest: If you are drinking lager you aren't exactly the Gordon Ramsay of boozing.

it tastes distinctly different from other lagers and almost DOES have a premium feel to it despite the fact that generally speaking it tends to be less expensive than the brews that everyone is accustomed to.

I'm not sure what angle they are going for in that advertisement but please don't drink a U-beer and then go spray pain something because you will likely go to jail. Mostly, i just think that in a land of really really boring beer choices that U-beer is actually something that legitimately tastes a bit different and nice and since it does tend to be one of the cheaper beers in Thailand, i genuinely believe it is worth a try.

Sort:  

Uh it's cheaper than leo and still tastes good for a cheap beer? That sounds great.
I always thought the beer is a bit too expensive in Thailand. One can of leo costs round 1€ and here I can get one bottle for 0.35€ (with a decent taste but hey it's cheap)

Posted using Partiko Android

compared to almost all the countries around here (except for Singapore - which costs more than NYC) and Malaysia (booze is taxed like crazy because it is a Muslim country) Thailand probably is the most expensive for beer. At a minimart a can of beer is less than $1 but compared this to Vietnam, Laos, or Cambodia and Thailand is probably about double the price.

One thing you forgot to say is the fact that many Thai beers are mixed with chemicals and most of these beer are forbidden in EU, like Chang cannot be imported to EU only the Chang export can be exported because of no chemicals. If you look at the surface of a Chang beer on the sun you will see a beautiful rainbow of psychedelic colors. Not try the U beer yet but will give it a taste tomorrow.

I have always heard people say that about Thai beers but i think it is a myth. Chang and Singha was always available in USA but was more expensive than domestic lagers there... and to be honest there isn't much of a market for it. I don't know about the chemical thing but Chang certainly does have a distinct hangover associated with it. We call it the "Chang-over"

The Chang-over is due to the chemicals, in EU the Chang Beer was the one that has to change its recipe that is why they have done Chang Export without chemicals. I hope you enjoy your time here :)

you know i never bothered to look into this. I can't find any articles about it being banned because of chemicals. However, i am not trying to say you are wrong. I was always told that Chang Export was simply a lager with a lower alcohol percentage (and it does have less alcohol) in order to comply with certain countries that place a restriction / higher import tax on beverages above a certain threshold. No pressure, but if you have access to an article about the chemical ban, i would love to read it.

This regulation was announced in the BKKpost around the time I arrived here from my memories so it was 18 to 20years ago when it was published. But I make a search and cannot find it. Maybe they have changed their recipe. If I can find anything I will send it to you.

Congratulations friend good

As a real fan of Beer, I am interested on taste this beer. Do you think this will be exported to America soon?

since it isn't particularly popular here in Thailand I doubt it. They had a massive advertising campaign in the past 6 months and most people still never bothered to try it. I dunno why

Try Red Horse beer, the number one strongest beer here in the Philippines.

Try Red Horse beer, the
Number one strongest beer here
In the Philippines.

                 - cryptoperry


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

haha, i love it when this happens.

what does it mean when this happens?

it just means that you accidentally typed a Haiku poem with your comment.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello,
On my blog / dtube channel you can find many different free accounts :)

my blog (just click)
my dtube channel(just click)


About your passing by, I would be happy, if necessary, about upvotes :)

================================

Posted using Partiko Android

Through your posts, I got to know much about thailand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61205.14
ETH 3376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51