SteemBookLoversMag, No. 6

in #books7 years ago

pexels-photo-57761_Fotor.jpg
No. 6 | 27 June 2017

About SteemBookLoversMag

  • We love diversity. Steemit blog posts should not be only limited to cypto, and tech, and money.
  • We do most of our reading on the Internet. But there are some of us who never forget the books, the ancient and incredible media of knowledge, and pleasure.
  • This is an experimental Steemit blogposts digest for everything about books.
  • You may follow me ( @ygern ) or follow this tag #steembooklovers for updated contents. The authors of each blog posts would be glad to have your upvote, re-steem or follow.
  • Enjoy reading.

Reading. Why I struggle to get my boys to read and why I'm doing something about it.

by @sallyjay

The struggle is real. Getting my boys to read is like trying to get three little octopuses into a string bag. School encourages them to read by handing out "reading points" if I sign their reading diary for three days over the course of a week. That's how we roll at our school here in the UK. Reading points.
I don't want my boys to read because they get reading points! I want them to read because they want to read! read more


Review of "The Flame Alphabet" by Ben Marcus (Novel)

by @bucho

What we get in "The Flame Alphabet" is something equally as surreal, but infinitely more readable. There is a more structured plot, more clearly defined and delineated characters, an obvious conflict (both highly emotional and highly physical), and a beautiful use of language in many places, which kept the story fresh for me. read more


Dresden Files

by @jerryperkinsii

Jim Butchers writing amaized me. Harry Dresden modern wizard for hire. Friends in unexpected places. Police hired. Friends in the church and new fantasy world and universe. Karen Murphy the second lead roll. His brother is what? A vampire? Faries, pixies, riding dinosaurs. But he had such a bad reputation and what followed him even darker but fun. read more


Book Challenge: Book I am embarrassed to say I like

by @vampiretta

As you might have noticed from my reviews I have an eclectic taste in books so I’m not really embarrassed by any books I’ve read and liked. I think people go through cyclical phases of reading highbrow, lowbrow and middlebrow books and anyone who makes it seem like they only read fancy pants literature is probably lying. And really, in this time of iPads, big screen TVs, Netflix and copious other distractions from reading, I believe that anyone reading any book is a great thing. That being said, if you only read one kind of book (be it high or low brow), I probably won’t be able to contain my urge to gently shove you in the direction of other great things I’ve read. Just spreading the book love man. read more


Death by Default

by @bernardjan

Detective Conner Smyth is one of the oddest characters in mystery thriller novels I ever read, but that makes him so human and real, with so much passion for justice that burns beyond his physical, emotional and rational limits and logic. He is the guy who will rise out of his weakness and put himself in the hands of death to save the innocent, especially his friends, colleagues and family members. Yes, he is imperfect, insecure in front of the beautiful woman he loves and sometimes very submissive and humble in front of strong female characters in the novel Death by Default by Trish Reeb. But he is our unsung hero, natural and human, he is one of us. read more


If you are about to run out of voting power, please save it for the authors mentioned above. But I would be glad to have your upvotes for my other posts or follow me.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

You are doing great things!! Didn't know it before 😲

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53