Book Around You #1 - Curation of Book Posts

in #books6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the first edition of Book Around You, a curation project from @steemitbooks. I have to say that I was disappointed when I started looking for book-related posts because there aren't many out there. Hopefully we can help grow this part of Steemit together.

That said, lets get started!

Book Reviews

The Cat Who Saw Stars and Milk Tea by @tin-tin

Great little review of a book in "The Cat Who.." series along with a little bit about the reading spot. This book sounds really good so onto my Goodreads to-read list it goes (just gets longer every day :P). Mystery books are always a lot of fun!

Book Babble #4: My take on Wooden: A Lifetime of Observations and Reflections On and Off the Court" by @adambarratt

I love this style of book review. It has a short background info paragraph then a section of quotes with @adambarratt's thoughts on them (btw, have you ever gone quote-binging on Goodreads?), finishing off with some advice from the book. Looking forward to some more of his reviews.

Stuff I’ve Been Reading -- The 2017 Backlog - Part 2 by @madbitcoins

@madbitcoins did a lot of reading last year. This is his second post which works through giving a short impression of each book he read in 2017. It's a pretty neat idea and worth looking through if you're looking for a new book! I might have to do this with the 170 books I read last year :D

A Book in the Hand

Why You Should Read Books Everyday by @sizandyola

I'm always telling people that reading has so many more benefits than you would think and @sizandyola has done a great job of putting a list together. Numbers 7 and 8 are two points that I'm always telling people. Reading really helps your writing!

Contests/Giveaways

Book Giveaway #2 by @metzli

@metzli is running a neat little giveaway where you can win a free children's book. You can get up to four tickets in the drawing by doing certain tasks and two of those can be earned by commenting. Check it out, and enter to get a chance to win a book for that little child in your life.

Epilogue

Enjoy your reading! If you can, try to support these authors with an upvote. If you're an Bibliophagist (book devourer) consider writing some book posts of your own. Everyone's always looking for books to add to their shelves.


The Steemit Book Project was started by @carn and its goal is to make books more available to everyone. All the profits from this and other posts by @steemitbooks will be used to buy books to donate to Open Library. For more info about the project and ways you can help, read the project's introduction post.

If you write book-related posts, drop by our Discord channel (https://discord.gg/h93nHMu) and post a link to them in our curation-requests channel.

Sort:  

Thanks for the mention! More to come from me, and I'll be sure to check out the others. One thing, I have another "t" at the end of my name (@adambarratt). Cheers!

Sorry about that, I just fixed it. Guess writing posts at 1 am doesn't work so well 😛

No worries, I admire your dedication! I'm in Europe, so have just got up ;)

this is great! glad to see a book review curation project on steemit :D

wow , wanted to do this for a long time , I appreciate your hardwork.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14