The Yellow Zone. Like the Twilight Zone. Only Yellow.

in #books6 years ago

After running around for my get-to-know-nature scavenger hunt, I found I wanted to know more about the environment.

IMG_1935.JPG
The Yellow Zone - my first time here. It was completely empty.

I'm an external reader at the University Library (£30 a year and you can borrow up to ten books at a time. As if anyone could carry that many at once). I had a look on the Library map to see if I could find the right zone:

IMG_1934.JPG
There it was: Dewey classification 500-599 - the Yellow Zone.

I usually hang out in orange or blue zone - social sciences. But now, I was in Sciences - the yellow zone. Astronomy, physics, chemistry, biology, zoology ... I missed botany, it only had two stacks and I had to backtrack.

I found there are two kinds of botany books. They are either very old with only line drawings, if there are any illustrations at all (I found one that didn't have any words, just formulas). Or they are very new, with lots of coloured diagrams and pictures, but so large and dense and heavy that you think twice about carrying them to the nearest table, never mind on the bus.

I was looking for books called something like Yer Basic Rocks or Plants and That. I wanted something that gave an overview, enlarged on the story I had found in the Arboretum about the Ice Age and after.

20180608_134014.jpg
It was a bit disconcerting to read that another ice age was on its way.

Trying to find the right book was very like a trip to T K Maxx: you know the frock you want is in there, you just need to have had plenty of sleep and a good breakfast to have the strength to find it.

Eventually I came across Plants and Empire by Londa Schiebinger, a conveniently small volume that I could carry in one hand. Some of it is about natural abortifacients, and some about the huge fortunes to be made by bioprospecting for new drugs. There's a chapter about linguistic imperialism and how plants get named.

That's what I love about libraries: you go looking for one thing and discover many others.

Sort:  

YEAH someone is spelunking through the botany section! My master plan has come to fruition. 😈😄

Hahaha - so that's what you are up to!
It was seriously twilight, though - there wasn't a single person in that section (I must remember that next time I want a quiet place to work). The concourse outside was teeming with people.
Do you think I should hold a gathering and bring more folks in?

Sometimes I love those sections of the library, because it feels like I get to discover hidden gems. Other times it's spooky. LOL So, you know, gather and share awesome finds as you wish! 😉

Your balance is below $0.1. This is your 2nd notification that your account is running low and should be replenished.

Congratulations @shanibeer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very nice, thank you very much.

You just planted 0.17 tree(s)!


Thanks to @phoenixwren

We have planted already 3697.81 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22728.30
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Yes - I love my library too! When I was young, my mama and I would go once a week every single summer. I was in the Summer Reading Program contests each year, and I couldn’t wait to get to the teen books and the adult books (like a rite of passage). I couldn’t do 10 of those thick science books, but my mama would get 6 or more of the fiction books, so she probably could have at her younger age - LOL!!
Glad you found something that wasn’t that heavy! (And I totally agree about your reference to T. J. Maxx!!)

We used to go yo the library every week, too! Do you know they are really busy and noisy these days? When they run the Summer Reading Programme here, it looks like a tornado has hit the library. Still, I'm glad to see them being used and young people enjoying books. T. K. Maxx - what can you say!

I also love libraries @shanibeer ... In a different life I would have been a librarian, but I'm a bit scatty and not that well organised so I'd probably misplace books ... 👓📙📚

Ah, yes - I was getting books out of one shelf and leaving them on another. How lovely to be a librarian, though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75