A Few Book Reviews {Perfect for National Introverts Week}

in #books5 years ago

Hey guys! So did you know this week is National Introverts Week? I didn't until I saw an article pop up earlier today. Apparently World Introvert Day was back in January, but I seem to have missed that this year. 😉

I believe I am in good company with many other introverts here on Steem. I think that is one of the reasons why I have enjoyed this sphere more so than many others because no one gets upset with you if you need a few days away. Whereas on other sites if I don't post for a day or two I automatically lose "followers". I enjoy making friends and connecting with people, but I also need plenty of alone time to recharge. This is especially true with working in a field where I have to be "on" a lot when interacting with clients. I can only be around people (even online) for so long before needing some real quiet time on my own.

One of my favorite ways to spend my quiet time is by reading a book. No music or television in the background to distract me. Maybe a warm beverage at hand and a cozy blanket if I really want to pamper myself. I switch up what genre I am reading depending upon my mood. I will always love Stephen King as one of my first favorites, but also really enjoy John Irving, Ken Follett, Anne Rice, and countless others. I try to hit classic literature every now and then, but I'm definitely not above some popular current reads (some are definitely better than others). Often I have to read nutrition and fitness books or articles to keep on top of the trends in my field, but do also read food and cooking-related books for pleasure.

IMG_20190312_100154651_HDR.jpg

That's where my first two books I'll share today fit in. Both by Bee Wilson, I finally jumped into "Consider the Fork" after having it on my Kindle for a few years and my mom loaned me "First Bite" after she enjoyed the book. After reading both of these selections, I may have to check out some of her other works, as well.

Though it took me a while to get into CTK, it ended up catching my interest when I started the second time around. The book chronicles different advancements in cooking and how the new technologies impacted what we eat and how we eat it. It was really interesting to go back and really look at how different things that we take for granted now were such huge leaps back then. Everything from cooking over a fire, to different metals used for pots and pans, and of course how the fork came into vogue as a utensil. The history aspect was really intriguing, and of course I really enjoyed the cooking focus. Even now it is amazing to see some of the modernist approaches to food like molecular gastronomy and all of the nifty gadgets you can now find in kitchen stores. I think anyone who really has a love for cooking and enjoys history will find some joy in reading this book.

My mother picked up FB as the grandmother of a picky little toddler. She is trying to do her part to make sure my niece is well-fed (though she's not above spoiling her in any number of ways, haha). I actually found this one interesting right from the start. Though there are some similar themes, this book is more about how we develop our likes and dislikes when it comes to food. She really lays down a lot of research which basically points to much of our eating choices stemming from early exposure and how the people around us eat. Family is so influential, but then greater culture really has a huge role, as well. Some of it makes me angry--like trends in obesity as "kid" food that is pumped full of sugar, fat, and chemicals is marketed to children, but then how many adults still eat like they are children as a result. It is also sad to see some of the research on how girls and adult women have a much higher likelihood of viewing food as something "forbidden" and how men are groomed to think salads are "girl" food. She has a whole section on disordered eating. Many of you may have noticed in our current culture that while not everyone has an eating disorder, so many of us have disordered attitudes and habits towards food and eating.

Though there are definitely some low points, the overall message is that despite our current attitudes and early exposures, it is never too late to change and form a much healthier relationship with the fuel that we put in our bodies. As someone who works with people to try to do just that, I found many great points and ideas to take with me going forward. I highly recommend this book if you find the psychology of eating interesting. It is one I might just read again to take some notes the second time around!

AmazonReview.png

Last, but definitely not least, I can't leave out a quick plug for the @steemfiction first compilation Voices in the Darkness: Tales from the Steem Blockchain. I saw a few of my pals from @steemitbloggers had stories in the book, so I downloaded it from Amazon to add it to my collection! It was a great read, but also just fun to support some of my fellow Steemians on such a cool project. Of course I did a review on Amazon for them, but here is what I wrote:

I was more than happy to pop on to download a copy of this book once I saw a number of my favorite Steem bloggers had written stories in the collection. As much as I enjoy reading blogs, my first love is to have a book (or Kindle) in hand to totally dive in to a story with no distractions or multiple tabs open on my computer screen! As someone who grew up reading Stephen King and Dean Koontz, I tend to enjoy tales of the supernatural. This collection of stories did not disappoint! I purchased the book on a Sunday and finished reading the last selection by Thursday. It had been a while since I had read a compilation like this with different authors, so I had forgotten how fun it could be to jump from style to style in one book. Each author brought his or her own characters and plot line, but it was also interesting to see certain similar themes carried over in a few of the pieces, as well. I don't want to give too much away about specific stories, but you'll find everything from ghosts to super human powers to collective consciousness throughout the collection. And though you might be expecting darkness, there is quite a bit of light...

They have a paperback edition out now, as well. Definitely check it out. I know I am excited to see what stories will be shared in the next round! Bravo on a job well done ladies and gents!

Well, now I need to find some other reading material, so any suggestions are welcome. Shout out to all my other introverts this week, too. Make sure you get a little of that alone time, in whatever form you crave. We need to keep our tanks full if we want to be able to continue to give of ourselves to others, so never feel ashamed of needing some time out!

Happy reading my friends!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png



Banners by @jaynie, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Many thanks for the honor! 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

This sounds like a fascinating book Katie. I love this kind of read and with a grandchild now, I'm sure it will come in handy! What great information for your business! Love it!

I think you would really enjoy it! She's got another one coming out in May that's on my radar, as well. I think you're already doing a fantastic job with that little one, but in case he gets fussy later on there are a few good tips. You'll have to let me know what you think if you grab a copy and dig in!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post is sponsored and featured by @Appreciator in collaboration with @c-squared. Just keep up the good work.

Much appreciated! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @plantstoplanks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

I don't know if I would read that book, but I am just happy to find people who like to do book reviews. I'm lazy and I just listen to audiobooks with my eyes closed on the bus or in bed. Noise canceling headsets make all books magical.

I guess that's one of the benefits of reading a review--it can tell you which books you aren't interested in as much as ones you are! 😉 I have thought about trying to get into audiobooks for times when I'm cooking or maybe on a long run, but still haven't tried yet. I have a client who listens to books while he swims laps. One of these days I'll download one and give it a try. What kind of books usually catch your interest?

Posted using Partiko Android

These days I am mostly into the classics, but that is because I listening to a lot of books from: https://librivox.org/
They also have ebooks.
I also have a subscription to audible, but it's only one book a month and I'm just saving up my tickets while I listen to free ones.
I guess for fiction, I mostly read sci-fi, adventure, history and fantasy books.
I wrote about some I listened to back in January. I kinda planned on making a summary once a month but got really sidetracked during Feb (lot's of vacations and a book that if you read you'd understand I'll give you a hint, it takes place in Dublin around 100 years ago). I plan on writing about the books I've been reading lately next week, I'll dig up my past link then.

Nice, I'll keep an eye out for your next update!

Posted using Partiko Android

Reading is my biggest passion...

Any good book recommendations @wales? :)

Because I don't know what you like to read or what you are into then I can't say. For me I like Richard Brautigan and Rumi to name two, but there are many...

I think the last time I read a book was way back in my later college years. I could say TV and internet has made me lazy. Just watching on a screen to feed me with information. Love your review by the way and hope I could push myself one of these days to turn off the screen and pick up a book.

I think you are similar to a lot of people. TV can be especially luring if you work and take care of children because it is easier to just sit and veg. We do still watch a little bit, and of course I spend plenty of time on here. But nothing beats sitting quietly with a good book in my opinion! I hope you find one soon that can catch your interest! :)

That sounds like a really good read, I used to read so much when I was young but now I do not get much chance too many other distractions.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I definitely have ups and downs with how much time I have to read, but pretty much always have something going. No kiddos in my household, though, so that probably helps on the distraction side of things. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for buying our @steemfiction book, reading it, reviewing it, and now promoting it! Means alot! And you review was great! I'm a Stephen King lifelong fan as well, but I've hardly met a book I didn't like so long as it's well written and interesting. Meaning - all kinds of genres!

Happy to help spread the word! Looking forward to the next one. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I was feeling more introvertish recently. lol

Haha, well hopefully you enjoyed some alone time recharge, too. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87