You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Monthly Reading Review: January Edition

in #books7 years ago

Ethan, you really ought to pick up everything by Jeff if you like Annihilation and Authority. I'm actually intending on reading all of the books again -- everything I've found that he's written -- and write reviews and then a summary of all his work for Steemit. Jeff Vandermeer is one of the great weird writers out there.

Oh! I don't know but he's also got a book about writing out called Wonderbook. If you're interested in writing fiction and you want to know more about it -- far, far more than you'd learn in a lot of other writing books -- you may want to take a look at it and pick it up. Even if you're not interested in writing yourself, but are interested in how writers come up with their ideas or their stories, or how they put them down on paper, or defeat writers block and the Impostor Syndrome that comes with it all, it's a damn good book. Like a Master's degree in Creative Writing, just all wrapped up in an illustrated book.

I love watching Jeff on Facebook. I'm a friend of his (and his wife's) through Facebook and have watched him go from semi-famous author to the NYT Bestselling author he is today. It's been exciting and I can't wait til next wek to go see the movie. He's had to keep quiet about it, but he's extremely giddy and excited too, curmudgeon that he wants to claim he is.

If you enjoy the Southern Reach Trilogy, pick up Borne when you're done. It about a giant flying murderous bear named Mord and a thing discovered on his back who gets the name Borne. Yeah, it's wild and crazy, but as I said, I love the man's writing.

I guess the biggest question I have about Steemit is where to promote posts and that type of thing. I want to find a following of like-minded individuals and I can't tell you how hard that can feel sometime. I'm trying to engage as much as possible with everyone though. I like the cryptocurrency aspect of it but the main thing for me is to really just find some people who I can hang out with online who like the same things. I have many diverse interests and can't help but want to share all of them. If you have any tips, any ideas or suggestions, feel free to float them my way. :) I'll take anything you're willing to share :)

Thanks for the upvotes and the follow earlier. I appreciate it!

Sort:  

I really appreciate the recommendations! It's always great to follow the story of someone else's success. I'm headed over to Amazon to add his books to my list so I don't forget!

Just finished up Authority and moving on to Acceptance now. It'll be interesting to see the movie, for sure. I'm looking forward to it.

As to your post promotion issue, that's what groups are for! I help lead a group called The STEEM Engine, which is a community that has a Discord server dedicated to supporting our members' posts and promoting quality engagement (like your comments on this thread, so you'd fit right in) among the members. If you're interested, you can click the STEEM Engine banner in my post above or visit the group account @thesteemengine to check out our latest curation post and see what sort of things our members are writing about. We'd love to have you come submit an application soon! Let me know if you have any questions.

Thank you again for your engagement on this post. I appreciate all of your thoughts, and I'll be sure to let you know my thoughts on Annihilation next week.

I would love to submit an application. Tell me what I need to do and I'll be happy to do it :)

Sure! You can join our Discord server and you'll find all of the instructions for applying as well as more about our group and our mission! Let me know if you have any other questions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58715.10
ETH 2588.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44