Stephen King's IT (No spoilers, but happy to discuss)

in #books7 years ago (edited)

I grew up absolutely terrified of clowns, so much so I ran screaming from a Block Buster at the site of the below VHS cover when I was 5 years old, which made my mother think I was being abducted... My parents made some bad decisions, as do all parents (I hope it wasn't just mine swinging and missing) none would be more scarring that letting a 4 year old version of me watch a movie/TV mini series about a clown that kills children (I mean just think that through for a minute).

Since the newest adaptation of the classic horror novel "IT" by Stephen King is set for release September 8th 2017 I decided revisit all the horrific memories of this nightmare of a story and read the book, more specifically listen to the audio book version.

This is a very long book, and coming in at almost 45 hours listening time this makes it a venture to start, especially if you don't like have more than 1 book going at a time. However this isn't a problem because the book is very enjoyable and compelling till the end. I had a great time reading it and got through it in no time with the help of a slightly faster reading speed set at 1.25x normal speed, if you haven't tried this give it a go, it's weird at first but you get used to it.

While the Clown still sends shivers down my spine it was a weird kind of nostalgia that hit me the hardest, I did not expect to feel this way about a character like Pennywise the Dancing Clown let a lone a character that invoked the most terrifying nightmares I will probably ever have.

To avoid spoiler and a long post I will just say that I very much look forward to the new imagining of the this evil character. I have included a link to a trailer for it below, give it a watch and let me know what you think.

Sort:  

I remember when this aired back in the early 90's on television. Little did I know what it was about having watched the movie with all the lights off and alone in the house with a mouse running around the living floor.

I became easily frightened by the sewer on the street next to the curb always imagining an evil clown calling out to me, 'hey kid, come over here?'

Upvoted! Would appreciate it if you'd follow me!

Congratulations @davis1t! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61574.21
ETH 3389.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52