[Book] #23. The Freedom Writers Diary by Erin Gruwell - Can Writing Change My Pathetic Life?

in #books6 years ago (edited)

196.jpg


이 글은 "프리덤 라이터스 다이어리"를 읽고 영어로 쓴 독후감입니다. 우리말로 된 독후감은 아래에 있습니다. 같은 내용이니 영어 독후감은 또 읽지 않으셔도 됩니다. This is a bookreview written in English. Korean version of this bookreview is below.

[독후감] #27. 프리덤 라이터스 다이어리 by 에린 그루웰 - 변변찮은 내 삶도 일기로 쓰면 인생이 바뀔까?


Title: The Freedom Writers Diary
Author: Erin Gruwell & Freedom writers
Other: This is a book about how a teacher and 150 teens used writing to change themselves and the world around them.



Can writing change my pathetic life?



Good books can change our lives. I bet everyone agrees with that. Reading seems like an easy and simple task, but that can change our points of view, ways of thinking and even our lives. But how about writing? Do you think writing can affect our lives, too?

I think so if you're writing a great book worth getting Nobel Prize or Pulitzer Prize. Well, any book for that matter, because writing a book - any book - is a wonderful thing to do and it'll surely affect your life. But what about a diary? Not novels, or non-fictions. Do you think just keeping a diary or writing your thoughts can change your life? Just pouring out your thoughts onto paper knowing very well that no one cares to read it, just relaying your life on a sheet of paper? Can that change your life, too?

Here's a book that says, "Yes!"


Source: Goodreads
Ms. Gruwell, the first at the front, and a few Freedom Writers.


Under the title "Freedom Writers Diary", there's this line that best describes this book. : How a teacher and 150 teens used writing to change themselves and the world around them. This book is a collection of diaries or essays anonymously written by 150 Wilson High School students in Long Beach from 1994 to 1998.


Here's what happens when you start writing about your lives.



This was a ghetto area where Black, Latino, and Asians reside. You could hear a gun shot every other day, and all students in this high school knew at least one friend who got shot and killed. Rivalry between races was severe, battle between gangs was outrageous. People hardly expected them to graduate from high school, not to mention going to college. Kids who were thought to be kicked out soon from the school were gathered in 203 classroom, and in front of them a new, young, white teacher, Erin Gruwell appeared, just like a movie.

Since she taught English, she tried to make students "read" books and "write" what they thought about the books, and eventually what they thought about their lives. And that writing changed their lives, forever. As they wrote, they realized the violence and prejudice surrounded them and also realized that they had power to overcome this reality. They started calling themselves "Freedom Writers", modeling "Freedom Riders", the civil rights activists who rode buses to the segregated Southern States.



This book makes you realize how wonderful and awesome writing is. And how important it is to have someone, especially an adult or a teacher, who believes in you.

As Steemians, we're all writing something on a regular basis, and it gets you thinking "how writing on a blockchain can change my life?" Writing on Steemit gives you reward, but there's something more than that. Maybe writing on Steemit can change your life, too. Dramatically, perhaps.



A Few Good Lines from the Book


1.
This writer saw his friend got shot and killed in front of him.

To society, they’re just another dead person on the street corner; just another statistic. But to the mothers of all those other statistics, they’re more than simple numbers. They represent more lives cut short, more cut flowers. Like the ones once placed on their graves. (p. 16)

2.
This girl wanted to pledge a sorority. What she didn't know was there was a severe hazing. There was sexual harassment, some threw garbage or even urine to them.

Then I started to cry. Not because of the smell or my stained clothes, but because there was no way out. I had gone through so much already that it would have been pointless to quit now. Besides, I didn’t want to end up with no friends... Maybe if I would have had to do something really bad I would have dropped out, but I doubt it. It’s just a matter of how far you’ll go to be accepted. (p. 20)

3.
Students read "Romeo and Juliet" in Ms. Gruwell's English class. She asked the students about the family feud that finally led to the couple's deaths.

“Do you think this family feud is stupid?” Like a dumb-ass, I took the bait and said, “Hell, yeah!”

The next thing I know, she’s comparing these two families to rival gangs in this city. At first I was thinking, “What the hell does this bitch know about gangs?”
I didn’t think she knew about all the shit that happened up in Long Beach. I just thought she left school and drove home to her perfect life. After all, what’s it to her? All of a sudden she questioned things that had never crossed our minds before. Did we think it was stupid that the Latino gang and the Asian gang are killing each other? I immediately said “No!”
”Why?”
”Because it’s different.”
”How?” This woman just wouldn’t give up!
”It just is!” I didn’t want to look stupid in front of everybody. But the more I thought about it, I realized it is stupid.
It’s stupid because I don’t even remember why we’re rivals. That’s just the way it is. (p. 33.)

4.
Even other teachers in the school didn't like Ms. Gruwell.

“Let’s see what you can do with these kids, hotshot!”
Hotshot? If she only knew how nervous and overwhelmed I really was as a first-year teacher. She never even took the time to get to know me – and yet she was labeling me. Just like the students I defended, I was being stereotyped. (p. 47.)

5.

My mother always uses little clichés like, “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!” If living in the projects is supposed to make me a stronger person, then I would rather be weak. I’ve spent most of my life living in poverty, being afraid to walk out of my front door because of the risk of being shot. My neighborhood has a way of demolishing any hope I have for a brighter future. “I was born poor and I will probably die poor. No one from my neighborhood has ever made a difference and I probably won’t make one either.” This was my mind-set. For so long, society has told me that because of my neighborhood and the color of my skin, I would never amount to anything. (p. 195)

6.

Growing up, I always assumed I would either drop out of school or get pregnant. So when Ms. G. started talking about college, it was like a foreign language to me. Didn’t she realize that girls like me don’t go to college? Except for Ms. G., I don’t know a single female who’s graduated from high school, let alone gone to college. … So when Ms. G. kept saying that “I could do anything,” “go anywhere,”and “be anyone” – even the President, I thought she was crazy. I always thought that the only people who went to college were rich white people. How did she expect me to go to college? After all, I live in the ghetto and my skin is brown.
But Ms. G. kept drilling into my head that it didn’t matter where I came from or the color of my skin. … For the first time, I realized that what people say about living in the ghetto and having brown skin doesn’t have to apply to me.(p. 202)

7.

So the time came when it was finally my turn to stand in front of the class and talk about my future. As soon as I got up there, I started talking about my dream to be a filmmaker and make movies. I went on and on about my dream but then I added, “but realistically I would like to be a …” Ms. G automatically butted in when she noticed me disregarding my dream. “What do you mean ‘realistically’? Why don’t you go for what you love? Follow your dream.” Then it sunk in. I can do this. I want to make real films that will impact people in their everyday lives. (P. 204)

8.

They could tell Ms. Gruwell anything and everything, almost like she was one of the kids. She understood them. Most teachers aren’t like that; they give you your homework and then send you on your way, never getting to know you. Some of my former teachers have had four or five favorite students in the class and overlooked the rest entirely. Ms. Gruwell is so much different. She gets to know you… she wants to get to know you. (p. 26)


Here are the recent 5 bookreviews that I wrote.
If you follow @bree1042, you can read many more interesting bookreviews!

#18. The Giver by Lois Lowry - To Become the Master of Your Own Life: Extremely Thrilling, and Incredibly Frightening.

#19. Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry - Maybe We Can Make It Different

#20. Messenger by Lois Lowry - The Village You Can See Anywhere, Everywhere

#21. Son by Lois Lowry - The Most Precious of All

#22. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett - Story about People behind the Cathedrals


follow_bree1042.gif

Sort:  

굉장해요 브리님!! +,.+b

칭찬 감사합니다! ;-)

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

머...멋져 !! +_+

고.. 고맙습니다. +_+ (따라쟁이.. 이 표정 한번 써보고 싶었어요. ㅋㅋ)

제대로 읽지 못했지만.... 스크롤을 내린 것만으로도 공부한 것같은 이 기분은 뭘까요 ㅎㅎㅎ

공부하신 것 맞습니다! ㅎㅎㅎ

haha! What a nice post! I think I'd better comment in English since you wrote your review in the language.

At the 'good lines' you left, some of them make me sad. Especially, the witness of friend's death. A person's life merely becomes a meaningless number, adding one more point at statistics. I can understand how harsh the writer's life was with this line. How many deaths should the writer face to realize that ,at final phase, one's die means nothing than just a number....?! What a tragic world for a little child!

By the way, now I'm curious what the movies will be like that she would make.

Whenever I heard the expression like "tens of people" died because of some accident or disaster from news, I thought the same thing. How many is "tens of"? If 90 people died, they'd say tens of. What if one more people died? It's still tens of. If 102 people died? They'd probably say "more than a hundred". It's a person's life, but in news and statistics, they're just "number". It's a sad thing. :(

쿨럭... 저는 아래에 있는 한글 독후감을 읽도록 하겠습니다... 쿨럭;;;
저도 좀 영알못을 탈출을 ...하...
미드 엄청보는데... 왜 ... 힝...

미드 엄청 보시면 자기도 모르는 새에 영어 많이 늘 거에요. 화이팅! :)

약간은 이해되네요, 짧은 영어지만 그럭저럭 이해는 됩니다. ㅎ

읽어주셔서 고맙습니다. :)

This is really incredible bree nim! I believe there is something beyond expressing your thought and forming sentences. Brain activity that is associated with writing exercise and your thought process lead you to further delivery in something... 너무 좋은 글입니다! 고맙습니다 브리님 -

Thank you! If this post is any good, I believe that's because the book was so good. :)

브리님 못하시는거 하나만 알려주세요ㅋㅋㅋㅋ지적인 이미지가 뇌리에 바켜써여!!

음... 요리..? -_-;;

헉...요리...저도 요리....찌찌뽕!ㅋㅋ

안녕하세요 :) 반갑습니다!

네, 안녕하세요. 댓글 남겨주셔서 고맙습니다. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64