You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Joy of Reading

in #book6 years ago

The first book you received as a present, was that a novel? If yes, which one? :D

I also fell in love with The Alchemist when I was thirteen. It was the first book that opened my eyes to Philosophy. I liked Veronika and Eleven Minutes as well and read most of Coelho's other novels. (I stole Adultery from someone's bookshelf haha!) However, I realized throughout the years that I was no longer fascinated with Coelho's writing. Maybe it's my change in genre preference or it could also be his development as a novelist. I honestly didn't like Adultery but I will always, always keep The Alchemist close to my heart. Right now, I prefer to read non-mainstream authors as their ideas are more fresh and their novels are not driven by the pressure to write something because they need a consistent career in storytelling.

It's a bit sad that the current generation is so engrossed with gadgets and social media that most people no longer have the attention span to read real books.

Sort:  

Well said @xaydtrips. My first book is entitled "The Last Airbender" which I think is a part of a huge collection from the series. It has lots of illustrations in it which prompted me into focusing more in arts.

I agree. I think reading the works of non-mainstream authors is definitely a must try. Some of the well known authors have retired, others dead, most of them just producing works since they have already made a mark in the industry.

True! My younger brother prefers watching youtube videos than reading anymore. I mean it's not bad but the feeling brought by reading is really one of a kind. Thanks for dropping by!

That's a nice book to start with. Yes, the Avatar collection is quite huge and has well-detailed plots. Also probably why it came with lots of illustrations.

You should give your brother a book as a present to see if he would change his mind like you did when you got your first book :D

Nice idea! Maybe this Christmas I'll give him one. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44