Weekend Reads - Book Review on Daughter of the King by Ashley York

in #book6 years ago (edited)

It's weekend! I've been posting topics on cryptocurrencies for quite some time now. I'm thinking of balancing my blog out and share some of my other interests outside of the technical and financial world on weekends.

One of the things I enjoy doing on my free time is read. I usually cap off a hard day's work with some bedtime reading. I particularly enjoy reading novels, as I feel transported into their world. These days, I seldom have time to check out which books are topping the charts. Instead, I rely on my friend to send recommendations my way.

Today, I'd like to share a new historical romance novel titled DAUGHTER OF THE KING by award winning author Ashley York.

daughter-of-the-king-new.jpg

This book has a very interesting plot for me:

Set in ancient Ireland, Darragh and Brighit are bound to wed soon via an arranged marriage. There's just one problem -- they can't seem to stand each other!

Brighit was not a typical submissive woman of her time. She prefers to mix it up with the lads, sparring with them and joining them on adventures. Unfortunately this was also the very reason that got her in trouble.

On the eve of her wedding, Brighit decides to join a group of friends on a seemingly harmless adventure. What could go wrong did indeed go wrong, and they were soon ambushed by unknown attackers. When she accidentally murders her attacker in self-defense, Brighit is shell-shocked to learn the attacker is actually the ruling leader of a neighboring clan.

The only person who has witnessed the event is Seighine, the victim's brother. He proceeds to blackmail Brighit and threatens to reveal her identity as the murderer unless she does something for him. Can Darragh and Brighit overcome not only their own personal relationship issues, but also literally survive from Seighine's accusations and threat?



This is the kind of plot that can keep me awake into the wee hours of the night! And the story didn't disappoint. Here are some of my thoughts:

Pros:

  • Great Plot: Nothing beats a great story for me. From the get-go, the author managed to capture my attention. If you like plots with plenty of mystery, suspense and intrigue, dashed with a nice adventure and romance, you should definitely pick up this book!
  • Lovable Characters: Love how the relationship between Darragh and Brighit developed. From their initial spiteful acts toward each other to their transformation and acceptance of each other. It simply is a joy to read. Nobody likes a pre-arranged marriage, but this is one instance I'm rooting for theirs to succeed!
  • Superb Storytelling: Another aspect that I must commend. The pace was just right, and the build up was great. That there is an unresolved problem overhanging the lead characters throughout the story was an excellent strategy to keep your interests perked. The author is an expert at keeping you into the story, unhooking just enough at each step before unveiling the huge climactic reveal in the end.

Cons:

  • There really isn't anything not-to-like about this book. The only thing I could think of was perhaps a clearer detail as to what transpired in Brighit's mind when her hostile perception of Darragh slowly changed. I knew at what point it happened, but I just wasn't sure why it happened.

All in all, this is a fantastic story and would not hesitate to recommend to others! Pick it up this weekend if you have some free time.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

You got a 2.08% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @technerd888!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You got a 66.67% upvote from @minnowfairy!

You got a 31.25% upvote and resteem from @singing.beauty courtesy of @technerd888. Thank you for using the @singing.beauty UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @singing.beauty by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of EACH voting round! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63