Let's Build: Bonsai Rock Landscape, Bigger and Better [Bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago (edited)

landscape.png
Source

Let's build a miniature landscape

A few weeks ago I started building a #bonsai #landscape, which could be termed as a #saikei. I started with a flagstone, rocks, and some mud.

Under the guidance of a fellow expert in rock design, I formed a mud wall, which she terms a mud dam which will be used to hold the soil where the trees will be buried to grow in. At the end I was a bit skeptical that this project will be able to sustain the heavy rains of our local climate.

20180318_135208.jpg

Now a few weeks later I am ready to expand on my previous design.

If you would like to review my past work on this project, view my last post here.

Renovation Preparations

First I placed my project out on the deck to have a look at it. It is all dry now, and I am ready to expand the walls to greater heights.

20180331_142445.jpg

Next I noticed that the rocks I placed around the walls were not going to be helpful to the view of the overall design. Initially they were helpful in providing support against the inner frame wire and the soft mud. Now that the clay has hardened, the support of these rocks are no longer necessary. When I add the bonsai soil inside the walls, that will provide additional support to the walls.

My goal is to build the walls up to become higher. With these rocks buried fully under the soil level, they will serve zero visual purpose. I would prefer that the rocks be a visual part of the design, as they will match the small proportions of the bonsai trees. So I'll be removing all the rocks, except for the featured flat rocks that expand beyond the height of the full wall. Any small gravel rocks or pieces of clay stuck to the middle of the flagstone floor will also be scraped off. This area needs to remain very flat for the third phase of this project. More about that at the end...

Reinforcing the Wall

After carefully chiseling out the rocks with my chopstick, there are many cracks and crevices forming around the base of the wall.

I have more fresh mud/clay which I will be applying. I can use some of the wet slurry to fill in these gaps. Any parts of the wall that are not firmly attached to the flagstone, I will be adding more clay around it to glue it down more firmly.

20180331_143809.jpg

There are also some pieces of cork buried underneath the sides of the wall. I'm using a chopstick to scratch off the clay around the cork, so it can be removed. These will become the drainage tunnels. There are also some areas that might be blocking water from draining, so I'll be using the chopstick to excavate those areas, to provide additional drainage.

Moisturize

After doubling the height of the wall with fresh mud, I decided to use some fresh water to re-moisturize the older wall sections. This allowed me to smooth out the sides a bit, and also help bind the top of the wall into the bottom with a stickier layer of clay. I realized while I was doing this that any parts of the clay wall with a sharp edge would probably end up crumbling away from rain and heat stress. So I did my best to smooth it out. Natural hillsides usually have a smooth earth surface, due to mudslides, with only the rocks cutting through the landscapes.

20180331_152050.jpg

Deep channel for soil, and water to flow through.

Now that the walls have been doubled in height, I think it should be tall enough to hold a small tree's roots inside the basin area. Approximately two to three inches of wall height. My future trees will hopefully be maintained very small (less than 8 inches max), to make sort of a forest design within this rock landscape.

As a last adjustment, I also adjusted the shape of the inside of all the walls, so nothing was beveled inward over the center. It needs to curve up-and-out from the the base (no inward lip), otherwise it will be impossible to remove the trees and soil in the future (for routine root maintenance) without damaging and breaking the hardened clay wall.

Observing Multiple Perspectives

Here are some glimpses of the new landscape as seen from different points of view.

20180331_152036.jpg

Two sister mountains, chiseled into the #landscape from the side.

20180331_152045.jpg

The ominous fortress of Angband, or Barad-dûr and Mount Doom in Mordor.

20180331_152104.jpg

Multiple drainage tunnels along the sloped end of the flagstone.

This is the far right side. A cork was used to hold the space open under the mud until it dried.

20180331_152115.jpg

On the right front side, I added an additional hole to the right, so water would not pool up on that side. The ring sort of bows around here towards the sloped end.

20180331_152121.jpg

At the zoo, they used to have a pen that looked like this for the lions to climb around on. I have never seen a lion that lives in a cave in real life. Don't they usually live on an open savanna?

20180331_152143.jpg

An additional hole had to be excavated behind the nearest mountain stone. This was an area that seemed to cause water to pool up, and should be solved by this new tunnel. You can see a slight indent here in the center, where I was able to drill through with my chopstick.

End Result

This is what it looks like so far.

20180331_152024.jpg

There will be one more stage of work for this project, and that will involve the preparation of the bonsai soil, trees, and rocks to fill the inside. We'll have to wait for this to dry out again before that can be started.

Look forward to an update from me on this project in another week or so.


thumbnail-landscape.png


Bonus

As you know, I love to share bonus random photo captures of mine to represent the dazzling phenomenons of the season.

20180331_141659.jpg

Something as simple as flowers, which we often take for granted, are formed from the formidable efforts of trees, bulbs, and perennial roots that store up energy for this one-time annual display.

We had a professional tree care arborist help us to prune this overgrown pear tree. Now I am really happy with the results a year later. You can barely tell it was pruned aggressively, and he did a good job of not overdoing it to leave an ugly stump behind. There is still much balance and symmetry to appreciate.

20180331_141809.jpg

Probably my best macro shot so far.

20180331_141802.jpg

On a very tiny weed I happen to enjoy.


Thank you for checking out my post. I am an amateur #bonsai hobbyist, #gardener, and #artist, and I love trying out new things, making errors, and breaking a few traditional rules to learn how to do things in a way that works for me.
Unless sources are cited, all images and information within this post are original works of my own. You are free to use my images so long as you provide a link to this post and credit back to me @creativetruth.
Support my friendliest followers in the comments. By exploring their profiles, I believe you will find some surprisingly excellent photos and information about plants and trees that I think you will also enjoy.
Chat with me and fellow gardeners, bonsai experts, and supporters in my #Truthville channel on discord. https://discord.gg/c5gB7P3
I am currently seeking fellow bonsai enthusiasts interested in supporting #teambonsai to empower the value of searchable #bonsai posts on steemit.

Small, but growing...

teambonai.gif

#teambonsai

Have a glorious week!
@creativetruth

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

I can't help but to think of a castle when I look at that job you did. Is it going to be very heavy to lift when it's filled with soil? It looks exactly like the name suggests, an entire landscape!

Can't wait to see your next steps, I've been learning a lot from your posts, understanding new terms and being able to express what I'm doing in a different language than the one I use most of the time, it can be tough but I'm having a great time working and sharing my work it as well. I would have never thought I could learn so much in a little ammount of time, I also enjoy quite a bit to see your progress and the different seasons that you have for a change, here we strictly have a full year Sahara-summer weather.

That pear tree looks really beautiful, even though it has white flowers, they look as colourful and full of life. It's a real treat to have so many trees around, You surely can enjoy a sight like that, thank you for taking the time to share it with us. Is that pear tree the same one from your newest entry? Have a great week and again, thanks! Even something as small as those blue flowers, can have such a huge impact to the ecosystem and still look too damn awesome in the way. Cheers!

Yes, you are probably right. Perhaps I made a Freudian Slip with the mud and rocks, because I have always loved big castles. I got to visit a few once when I visited England, years ago.

Yes, that is also the same pear tree I am picturing in all of my posts that mention it.

I am pleased to be associated with you in discord together with @creativetruth. I used to work on Bonsai for 1 - 2 years but changed hobby after i took up mobile apps development in 2013. But I still keep them a few pots of Bonsai though. Hope I get back the urge to make good those abundant Bonsai again
Cheers

Thanks you very much for your sharing complete tutorial how to build bonsai rock landscape...i have upvote and resteem your post in order to make more people get benefit from your valuable information, greeting friendship from me @abialfatih...,success always for you...

hopefully the project in the work it runs smoothly and successfully, a good post.

thank you for sharing knowledge, you have a good idea, good luck project that you are doing now, success always friend @creativetruth

Good post friends hope that what the plan is running successfully.
I upvote and resteem

thank you for sharing info about his bonsai my good friend .. and please help me once my friend yes @creativetruth

Good post. Can’t wait to see what the final out come will look like.🧙🏼‍♂️

Could not find a gandalf emoji!😂

hi @creativetruth I like the way you listed step by step to build a mini landscape. For me I used to work on small plant bonsai but has put aside a several years.
Since I join Steemit in Jan 2018, I wanted to post bonsai in Steemit but could not find bonsai community
You try to promote #teambonsai, how can i take part ?

Anyone can use the #teambonsai tag. Hopefully people use it to help others find their bonsai posts. We use #teambonsai because we are also friends and followers supporting each other.

Most of us only use it if we are posting something about #bonsai. I don't really mind if you post about similar topics with the tag, as long as you intend to continue to post about #bonsai once in a while. It would be lame if somebody used it, and all they ever did was post cat pictures. :)

@creativetruth Sorry I have missed your responses. As discussed in the discord, we can use the tag in the post itself and post the post link to the discord group since it is small.
I am in total agreement not to use the #teambonsai for irrelevant content
Cheers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63891.49
ETH 2753.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66