STEEMIT: ART #17 / Recreating The Bokeh Effect

in #bokeh7 years ago (edited)

final2.png

The Bokeh effect comes about when your subject is in the foreground and their are lights in the background. The foreground gets the focus and the blurry out of focus background turns lights into tiny orbs that create a pleasant feeling for some.

These sorts of photos are typically taken at night, but the same effect can happen during the day.

I wanted to walk through the steps required in making this effect on demand and use this knowledge to make the next set of assets for my Steemit logo art series.


image3359.png

Step 1: Find an image with the bokeh effect

I used this one from unsplash.com.

image3359_analysis.png


Step 2: Create a representation of the bokeh effect

I use Inkscape for my approach, but at this point you could use anything. The downside to physical mediums is that it should be large enough so that it can be applied in larger applications.

As I am ramping up designs for t-shirts, I know I will need to scale to 300 dpi and still have it look good. It makes sense for me to use Inkscape as vectors can scale to be large enough where my initial design dimensions don't matter.

The bokeh effect can be broken down as having the following components.


edge.png

EDGE FADE

Half of the border is slightly lighter than the rest of the circle then fades into the color that represents the majority of the color seen.


opacitytable.png

OPACITY

There is an opacity to these shapes that allows new colors to be seen when the shapes overlap.

Based on this table I made, I'll be choosing a 20% opacity as that level is still bright, yet I can see through the shapes. 10% is too dim based on the original image.


skew3.png

SKEW VARIETY

There are several skews used and occasionally there is no skew on the shape. The skew shifts the shape to be an oval and adds to the diversity of shapes.


color.png

COLOR PALETTE

This particular image stood out to me for its color palette. There are several colors here, I couldn't imagine working together, but here they are.


Step 3: Apply the techniques from step 2 and place bokeh!

Finally, we have gotten to the fun part. I need to go afk, but here is one way to apply our bokeh techniques.


final1.png
final2.png


I would have never thought to try a bokeh version of the Steemit logo if I wasn't lurking through the looking for niche chatroom. Thank you.

Sort:  

not usually a big art person, but I like how much science goes into this.

That's a sort of knowledge that I would probably never come across if not for steemit :D. Thanks for this great post!

It's a really nice effect. Always learning something new here !

$1.217 USD/STEEM
Volume: 16.9666 BTC, 40074 STEEM / Average Price: 0.00042338
Last Updated Mon Jul 31 21:12:13 2017
Learn More About Me Here...

$1.266 USD/STEEM
Volume: 48.1439 BTC, 96742 STEEM / Average Price: 0.00049765
Last Updated Tue Jul 25 23:07:06 2017

boken affects are make wonderful an art or photo i see this 1st time and may i try it...keep it always @rubenalexander

Cool bokeh effects on steemit logo. Thanks for sharing :)

Really amazing effect.

Thanks for sharing!

It is amazing to see how our eyes react and respond to things in different lightings
I just can't keep my eyes of this one haha
Great work @rubenalexander

Such a great logo!

i prefer the real bokeh of a good lens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48