Restoring Balance to a Steemit Blog - Commercial vs Personal Content

in #blogging8 years ago (edited)

I've pretty much become a Wal-Mart greeter around here and I'm perfectly happy with that, but I've also noticed that I let my more personal side fall by the wayside and I'd like to fix that. I mean, I love helping people out here in order to encourage adoption but as The Simpson's put it, "all work and no play makes Homer something something." In other words, I'm gonna shake things up a bit.

In my video about how to have a fulfilling Steemit experience, I explained the dynamic between content that we produce for others and content that we produce for ourselves. The former earns more money because it's giving your audience what they want while the latter generally earns much less and should be considered its own reward. In this respect, I've been guided by the invisible hand of the market to produce easily-digestible help videos for all the newcomers here on Steemit and as a result, my blog has taken on more of a professional steem-branded flavor. It's highly positive reception by the steemit community led me to establish a professional support center, which will be opening its doors next month, and I'm very happy to be doing all that... but I'd like to restore balance to the piedpiper blog now so from now on, you can expect a healthy balance of my trademark community service content along with an array of personal musings, poetry, stories, anecdotes, music, reviews, and perhaps even the occasional drunken rant. It'll be good to loosen up a bit and I hope you'll join in the fun.

Sort:  

Poetry? stories, anecdotes, music? reviews, and perhaps even the occasional drunken rant?

Heck, Gabriel, I thought you were a hard bitten anarcho capitalist trying to figure out a way to relieve widows and orphans of their pittances. How did I read you so wrong?

lol the ancap douchebag market is more than saturated here already. No need for another 😜

I am highly looking forward to this.

Great to hear that your full human side will be exposed. It's not fun wearing a happy mask for a long time. Sometimes you need to breathe.

Yeah I also began doing only steem-centric things, but then I remembered I could do other stuff as well, and it turns out that works too! :D

I love this! I've been thinking about this for a while, I think we should have like 2-3 blogs on one account, and we could sort our stuff by topic,and whether they are commercial or more personal. I hope Steemit adds that ability in the future. So we could organize our work for our followers.

this can be done by sorting your account name as being associated with a tag
the link could look somthing like this https://steemit.com/@craig-grant/illuminati

so the tag could be like another blog, does not work this way now, but i think it could be an easy upgrade from a dev standpoint

great idea

I'd love for us to have our own little mini websites within the steemit website that we could create pages, and design how we wish. Pretty much what you are saying, only I would love to see something like wordpress incorporated with it to design our own pages :)

I can't wait to see your next posts! I don't care about curation reward and wait for 30 minutes.I want to upvote it now.

Haha thanks

Good for you. Multiple persona dilemma all over again. Sounds familiar :)

Cool news.
Speaking about music, I heard you are a fan of Tool. (true?)

Please make us a review of "A Perfect Union Of Contrary Things", Maynard's biography.

In the meantime, I'll be tracking the latest news about their upcoming album !

Great idea!

"...perhaps even the occasional drunken rant."

I look forward to these ;)

Sounds awesome scarlet speedster!

There's definitely room for both activities, hope you find the time!

Thanks! I just needed to punch through the wall I had unintentionally built around myself. Should be fine now :)

Nice video on earlier video post. Look forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74