Is blogging for everyone?

in #blogging5 years ago

I have read a post by @tarazkp this morning where he ponders about his journey on Steem:
https://steemit.com/thoughts/@tarazkp/becoming-a-better-person

Anyone who is familiar with writings of @tarazkp will testify to his hardworking nature, tenacity and dedication to this platform. He posts 3 or 4 times a day articles, every one of which is a refreshing food for the mind.

This got me thinking about blogging in general. Do you have to be a philosophical person to be able to blog? Do you have to love writing? Is this path for everyone?

Of course, there are various kinds of bloggers on this platform. Some post videos, some more text, some focus on pictures and some - even on audio. And there are some who make their art with the combination of those 4 mediums.

Here's what I think: daily blogging might seem like a burden from the perspective of the person from the street. Imagine this - you get back home from work, all tired and stressed out and instead of watching TV, you fire up your computer, create something and later share it with people, most of whom you will probably will never meet in person.

Or in the morning, when your entire family is still asleep, you get up one hour earlier and start blogging. Your mind and body are screaming at you, "What are you doing? Let us sleep a little! This is stupid..." But you push through and by the time your family gets up, the world has the chance to read your thoughts.

Is this for anybody? Of course, any person in the world, who has internet connection and some kind of device to type could do it. But it doesn't mean anybody will, right?

The way I see it, you have to have one of 2 things - either the drive to create or some passion, like a hobby and the desire to show your creation with friends.

I have the drive to create and actually don't function well if I don't. I become grumpy and impolite. Can say nasty things to my wife without even meaning them. But when I create and share it, I'm calmer, more stable, more secure and more centered.

My wife @laputis is different. She is introvert, unlike me. She doesn't have the desire to share her deepest thoughts with the world in the form of writing. But through Steem she discovered her passion for making comics, specifically making comics about Pinky and Spiky.

Even though she would get home tired after a long day at school, most of the time, she would still make a drawing in her little notebook. She wouldn't write an essay but she would still express her creativity.

Then she would show her comic to me and we both would laugh at the silliness of Pinky and Spiky and their imaginary friends.

Is she a blogger, in a traditional sense? No, but she still shares her art with the world.

Laughing is important. It keeps us sane. So in some way, creativity keeps us sane too. And through extension, blogging also keeps us sane.

So I think a world would be a much better place to live if everybody who has internet connection wrote a blog. And those who don't have electricity or internet, would write a diary in their notebook. Even with pencil.

All of this is a form of self-therapy. And after 22158 posts, when you become good at this, like @tarazkp is, it becomes a therapy for your 5642 readers too.

What do you think?

Sort:  

Was therapy required before we had pencil?

I'm not a writer at all and struggle each day to find something that I hope is of interest to someone. Blogging isn't for me, but I do like building my stake 😊

The most important thing is to create that which interests you. Your enthusiasm and passion will be contagious. Yes, Steem is great for building your stake...

Posted using Partiko Android

I spent 1/3 of my day just for commuting. I love reading Great post by great blogger like @tarazkp while commuting. But I know I never be a good blogger. I wish steemit could rewards its user just by reading Great content :D
I'm in love with Appics lately, it's simple and easy to use :)

Reading while commuting is a great strategy. I also know that @tarazkp sometimes writes his posts while commuting too.

I agree with you to write blogs daily and express your thoughts, you need to be a creative person to have a desire. And it’s good that someone, thanks to our platform, found himself and began to express himself

Hopefully in the future many more start being creative because of this platform which rewards the users.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love doing my daily vlog on Dtube and share the latest crypto news with DLike.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope your audience is engaging with you and fuels your creativity in some way.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is all the Steemians that fuel my creativity because I love curate and discover great content to digest.

I agree with the idea of self therapy but writing a diary is not the same as blogging.

Blogging (sharing your feelings/daily life) is also not the same as writing.

I noticed many Steemians are no writers and success has nothing to do with posting a few times a day. There are people very successful and they only post once a week. And guess what? There subjects are not different from other Steemians, not more refreshing (unless you are very low educated and have no general development and life experience at all (hard to believe).

Being successful at Steem works completely different as in real life. You need rich friends, people who upvote you because you are you. The response over here (comments) are rare. I wonder why.

I wish you a great day

Posted using Partiko Android

It might mean two things: either your upvote isn't worth less than 2 cents or that you don't comment enough to get noticed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Maybe in real life you also need rich friends to become successful...

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you do or people with influence

Posted using Partiko Android

Or if you can't find people with influence, become influencer yourself...

Posted using Partiko Android

Blogging, oh how I hate the word.

Sharing information with others and talking about things of interest.

I do not think there are many people who want to author a blog. However there are millions of people who like to share, discuss, argue, and ponder via social media.

It's all creativity. Long-form content, biye-sized content, videos, interviews, podcast, drawings, music, memes, poetry. Basically anything that comes to mind.

Thanks for the mention.

It is definitely a bit of therapy for me and I do think that many people would benefit from creating something. When I came on here I was concerned about low-quality posts but, that is what it is going to be most of the time as, quality is a subjective preference and interest is going to drive judgement. I am hoping the future of application SMTs gives everyone a home.

I have the drive to create and actually don't function well if I don't. I become grumpy and impolite.

I do too and I think it has to do with an inability to resolve thoughts or emotions. Most of life these days is targeted expression for a result. While people worry about freedom of speech and censorship, they don't spend too much time concerning themselves with the freedom of thought true free speech demands. Creation has three steps: thought, word and action; and from the action new thoughts are derived.

I am digressing :)

Yes, everyone should create, even if what they create sits locked in an attic until after death like an unknown and reclusive artist.

You beat me to this post so, I think I will write a little about quality later :)

I'm so looking forward to your every post. And actually feel bad if I don't make the time to read them all.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am glad that you enjoy them. Sometimes I feel that I should post less text so more people can read if they choose because the length scares many away but, I write as I write each piece - so it is what it is :)

Never forget that you are not for everyone...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Steemit is a very helpful platform for those who would love to improve on their writing, blogging ,vlogging and even creative skills. I admire a lot of good bloggers here and their posts serve as my guide or inspiration to push myself to better my craft. Thanks @organduo for sharing your thoughts and mentioning a bit of trivia about you and @laputis

Yes, this trivia is what feeds Pinky and Spiky stories...

Posted using Partiko Android

For most people blogging is hard. Sharing a thought or idea is easier. Conversations.

You're right. Conversations with a friend over a cup of cuppuccino.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31