[beer] Day Three: Micro Blog + 7 day beer challenge

in #blogging7 years ago

piwo (beer)

Or as I like to call it piwko (pronounced ‘peevfkoh’) when referring to it po Polsku.

79059EA4-E863-4E9C-8FF6-2CEE0EEE8B04.jpeg


I'd ultimately prefer to refer to it in Greek but the common word for it is pronounced beerrah (μπύρα) which is pretty boring and borrowed. I recently found the word zithos (ζύθος/ζῦθος) but no one uses that any more - not since Byzantine Greek was the empire’s common tongue. No Darth’s here just Digenis.

3203D5EF-AE51-4770-8D99-E2CFC1C6AA14.jpeg
Note where it says “10th and 15th CE.” My commentary: f*ck the Ottomans.

D9725366-7E0C-4721-B4DC-B867653994EA.jpeg
It’s never too late to learn Greek (or Polish) - I’m talking to you.


wczoraj (yesterday)

vfchoh-rahy’ (like ‘rye’ in rye bread)

Lubię piwko ale nie za dużo. I like beer but not a lot. So I’m no expert. Typically just to unwind - I’m far removed from my “competitive” drinking days. Yesterday was one of those unwinding days.

The day was actually mellow from the start. But before I knew it, it was lunchtime. A former colleague was back in town and a small group from work had a lunch planned. We were going to the local authentic ‘English’ pub that plays WWII speeches in the bathroom. We got the artichoke fries for a starter - which are amazing. And of course I ordered the fish -n- chips. But it was more like the lightly fried fillet on some fries, but edible nonetheless.

1B3C492C-3E3E-4BC9-AFFB-E1CB98D2ED1F.jpeg
Looking towards the street.

971838D0-1220-4CC6-B347-55ED598E16FE.jpeg
Looking towards the booths.


gdzie jest piwko?

(where is [the] beer?)

Since it was lunchtime, no one ordered a beer so neither did I. I was looking at a stout that was on the menu but it will have to wait until next time. I did eventually get to have a beer when I finally got home.

The work day ramped up a bit and I got home later than expected. I already ate dinner so I just wanted something to wind down. I guess that’s my typical m.o as mentioned above.

430C786F-71E3-4E20-BDC4-D7530B5CB738.gif


Żywiec !

‘zhiviets’ (the ‘zh’ is kinda like the ‘g’ in genre)

I’m sure you’re all thinking: “Finally the beer!” To be honest the day may have been more interesting than the beer I drank. But here it is, the according-to-the-label self-proclaimed “No. 1 beer in Poland!”

The color is a clear yellow-brown-gold. It’s rather light ‘bodied’, not much head or foam and not too much carbonation either. In all honesty I drank this one straight out of the bottle so the color and foam are purely recollections from previous experiences.

The flavor is low-key sweet and sour, with hints of bitterness. Which for beer aficionados, from my understanding, is considered a good thing. For me however too much bitterness is not yet an acquired taste.

My overall rating is between drinkable to good - but I’ve had better Polish beers. This one, as usual, did what it was supposed to do for me at the time is was imbibed.

ED859C4B-440E-4A3F-9AFF-D2F86BB90F25.jpeg
Money shot one.

3E800CB7-4F94-4233-AAD7-E67ADFD9EADA.jpeg
Money shot two.


Cheers!

Εβίβα!

Na Zdrowie!


Thanks to @trumpman for nominating me to take part in the #SevenDayBeerChallenge!
Nominating @lubiekrowy to partake in the challenge! Because she only posts about architecture and still only has one post!

Previous beers below - they will get better, I promise. (I mean the beers - my posts are awesome.)

https://steemit.com/writing/@hrissm/blog-beach-wine-sup-n-stouts-winter-sun-day-two-seven-day-beer-challenge

https://steemit.com/blog/@hrissm/day-one-blondes-and-mushrooms-seven-day-beer-challenge

Sort:  

Thanks for the nomination. I’m glad that you remember that I don’t drink beer 😂

That is why I nominated you!

I see, you want my stomach to hurt 😞

No, just because I nominate you to do something doesn’t mean I expect you to do it. It’s also a way to encourage you to post more.

Great post! Loved how the story was unraveling. As you said, zywiec is not the best out of polish beers but it's well drinkable. Agreed on that :) and glad it helped you relax in the evening!

Lubię piwko ale nie za dużo.

Ładnie napisane! Brawo :)

Thanks! Thank you! Agreed! Me too!

Dzieki!

poli wraio magazaki!!!! giayto eixes treli empeusi ki egrapses olo auto to post!! :)

Akribossss!!! k ithela na piw mia mpira ekei ala kaneis den ithele na mou kanei parea!!! Xaxaxa

Thinking I'm gonna be drinking coffee for a few days lol

Then it’s a good thing I didn’t nominate you.... yet

Lol, give me some recovery time!

Haha yes sir. It’s up to you when you start though too !

WOW!!! What a post!!!

Eventhough I don't drink beer, your post.....looks so indulging @hrissm!!!!

Thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60323.94
ETH 2395.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54