Mooning to the life

in #blogging6 years ago (edited)

Helmikuu 2018 - 1770 – kopio.JPG

I've been sick for the past few days. Feeling feverish without any fever and feeling nauseous. I even threw up yesterday.
I've still been working though, in my job and in my life. I've still not managed to do some things.

The plan was to drop off the EOS 500D to the mail today to be shipped out to Africa, but we suddenly got a time to bank negotiation. We've been waiting to get an appointment as we are planning to buy a house, so this kind of got in the way of our schedules.

The time I we were finished (and we'll get a decision from the bank in 3-5 days), the post office was already almost closing. Even if I maybe could have made it, I still didn't want to go outside in the -20 Celsius degrees to save one day from the shipping.

It has been waiting too long already so one day more doesn't hurt anyone, I hope.

But as a good thing, I saw some awesome photos my photographer friends had taken of the moon. I have an old Canon 100-300mm lens so I wanted to test how good photos I can get from the moon using it. The photos are not that sharp and I can't get close enough, but these still look quite nice.

I even didn't need to stand outside, I had just pointed the camera to the right direction and used remote control to get the photos with different exposure times.

What an easy life.

Helmikuu 2018 - 1769.JPG
Far too long exposure time.

Helmikuu 2018 - 1770.JPG
Better exposure time

Helmikuu 2018 - 1771.JPG
And too short. The moon is going dark.

The three images above can be seen in full size by clicking on them.

The moon is a symbol of darkness, even though it's actually really bright in the night and in the darkness.

The moon isn't dark. At least unless you are on the dark side of the moon.

I'll need a better lens for this.

Sort:  

If anyone's on the dark side of the moon, be careful not to be caught by the moon nazis.

No but what if it's all a lie - and the dark side of the moon is manned by moon Soviets?

Sure, and Laika's death is a story to cover something way deeper.

I once took a picture of the moon with my friends phone through the binoculars....it turned out great....i need to nag her to send it over.

And sorry u aint feeling that well...get better soon. :3

I've only watched my friends moon through the binoculars.. I turned on great.

Wait, this is not a private chatroom.

How do I delete this message?

@atopy oh hey nice idea! 👍

That turned out great! I've tried a few times to get a good moon pic but I've never gotten results that good. Did you manually change the exposure or did you use built in bracketing?

Thanks! I'm still trying to work on this a bit more, as I'm not completely glad with the results.

I manually changed the exposure times, as in situations like this the results will rarely be good without manual adjustments.

Get bettee soon! What kind of a house are you going to buy? How big?

We've been looking for mostly these "rivitalo" apartments :) 4-5 rooms and around 95-120 square meters. We've been living in a rental apartment in the city for long enough and now we want a small yard of our own.

We live in apartment. It's our own but we really would like to have our own yard.

Hope you'll find your future home soon! :)

I'm really hoping the same too :)

One thing though, we have had this "Viljelypalsta" in our city rented for 3 years now. It's given us some gardening to do, even though we still don't have a yard but it's still been fun :)

Yeah, viljelypalsta, that's convenient! My parents have been renting one before they bought a summer cottage that is quite near to the city. It's only 45 min drive from their home. They do all the gardening there now but live in the city in block of flats.

I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling well @apsu, I hope you’re feeling better soon! I too am in the middle of bank negotiations and am awaiting my dreams of buying a house to be realised!! It is exciting times hey!! Very nerve racking! I have everything crossed for you and also for myself! Love the middle pic! Very nice shot! Feel better soon!!

I forgot to mention, but the cropped photo of the moon is from the middle picture.

I think.

They all look quite similar to me. All disappointments. All the pain.

Why Am I not seeing any stars in these photos? Especially in last 2 Photos?
BTW, take some rest & get better soon!

Lookilook, Stars around the moon!:


I did cheat a bit. Click the photo to see it larger.

Why Am I not seeing any stars in these photos?

They are clearly hoaxes. The moon is a hoax! XD

The explanation is kind of boring, but it's just that the sunlight reflected from the surface of the moon is too harsh so it will overpower all the stars. To see the stars in the photo, one would need to shoot with two exposures for each, one for the moon, and the other for the stars, and then make a composite image in post.

Is that a common procedure in photographing?

Very common. HDR photography comes to mind. Composites have been used to fix the lack of dynamic range in photographs almost as long as cameras have been around.

Cameras have generally had notoriously bad vision when it comes to seeing both very brightly lit things or very dark things in an otherwise perfectly exposed picture. Over- and underexposing the shot and then combining the two exposures has often been used to overcome this flaw.

Today's cameras come with pretty good dynamic range already, but it's still far from perfect, so there are times we will still have to bracket our shots, to create more dynamic range and then tweak the photo in post process to bring out the details that would otherwise been lost in the shadows or highlights.

In case of the moon and stars, the process is a bit awkward though. As the moon is so bright it will not only cause the stars to become invisible, it will, if you try to expose for the stars while the moon itself is in the frame, create so powerful halo, it will practically cover all the nearest stars to it. To fix this you'll have to first shoot the stars from a clear spot in the sky, then either wait for the moon to enter the picture, or turn the camera towards it and then make a new clean exposure for the moon. (The order itself isn't important though, only that you don't try shooting the stars and the moon in the same frame.)

Oh, thank you for your informative answer! I never thought it would be so complex. It's probably not for a professional but at first it sounds like it. I'll read it once more to memorize better. :D

Btw. I just made a moon&stars composite like the one I described in this conversation. I just had to try it out in practice.

Cool! I actually just read it. :D

I'm sad that you're feeling bad in these days. I hope you get well soon. You should try online shopping if shopping malls have that feature in there. That moon photos are simple but looks amazing. I don't believe that moon is symbol of darkness. I think it's peaceful because when there is no stars in the sky, only shining thing is the moon.

I'm feeling bad that you're feeling sad. We have working tap water, we don't need wells. :P

I'm not sure why stars are not visible though. Well noticed though, but it looks really great when it's the night sky with only the moon. Nothing more. Nothing less.

Then let's get out of bad-sad paradox or it will never end hahah.

Oh man! The last picture is amazing. I never took a photo like this with my Edge 6.

I hope you're well now

Well if you follow the tip of @atopy I think you could get such a photo using a binocular :)

I'm not sure if it could actually work though.

Oh sorry to hear you've been sick. So that's why.

If I had a DSLR camera I'd take a shot at the full moon too! Pics look good! I only get the first shot like yours all the time using my smartphone. 😂

Well you can get really good pictures with some pocket cameras too, DSLRs require special lenses to get really good moon photos :)

But thanks!

well, yeah. I dunno. Maybe when I'm serious about photography. Lol

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 20:26:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 24.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28