Best Time To Post: Part 2

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

With my previous post What Is A Good Time To Post? I tested a theory about when would be the best time to post. I focused on the US because all my post are in English so I figured that I would get the best results when the US was online. The purpose was to have maximum exposure and get as many views as possible.

The theory is that around 8PM EDT (3AM CEST, 5PM PDT) will be an ideal time to post because most people will be home from work, done with their chores and ready to get their Steemit on. My post would have an exposure of 6 hours until 12PM PDT (9AM CEST,3AM EDT), my assumption is that at that time the US west coast will call it a day and get ready for bed.

I posted my blog using Streemian at 8PM EDT (3AM CEST, 5PM PDT).

For those that don't know about Streemian, this is a handy tool for (among others) automating curation, voting, and scheduling posts.

What Time IS IT-.png

The results

At the time my post was submitted, I was fast asleep but when I woke op 4 hours later the post had received 27 views, 6 remarks and 7 upvotes. This may not seem like much but the post I submitted earlier that day (brilliantly written of course) The Impact of Exclusives On Gaming at 8.30PM CEST (2.30PM EDT, 11.30AM PDT) had only 18 views. I received less upvotes on my experimental post compared to my earlier post but that has more to do with bots voting at 0% and 1% ( on the post I submitted earlier I received 12 comments and 45 upvotes).
The blog I posted earlier that day had been on Steemit 6,5 hours longer and I also promoted that post in Steemit chat to get more upvotes.

So It seems like my experimental post actually had more exposure than the post I submitted earlier that day (27 vs 18 views).

It is also interesting that the views and comments all happened directly after I posted. After 3 hours the post stopped getting views, comments or upvotes.

The Follow-up

I am intrigued by the results and want to continue experimenting with posting at different times to determine which time is the most effective to post.
I will follow up with 3 additional tests and compare the results.

- Step 2:
This post will be the opposite of step 1. I will post this at 9 AM EDT (3PM CEST, 6AM PDT). This means that the post will have exposure during the day in the US until 12PM PDT (9AM CEST,3AM EDT). This leads to a total of 18 hours ! of exposure in the US. Added bonus is that the Europeans will be waking up at the end of this cycle, so it will be interesting to see if the post will get some additional love from the Europeans.

US-Time-Zones-Map2.jpg



- Step 3: I will post this around 4PM EDT (10PM CEST, 1PM EDT). I have had my best results with posting in the afternoon (CEST) in the weekend so I wonder if I can reproduce this with posting in the US at the same time (in the afternoon during workdays).

- Step 4: This post will be submitted at the (in my opinion) worst time: 3AM EDT (9AM CEST, 12PM PDT. I expect that this post will do the worst but it will be interesting to see the end results.

Overall Results

results step1.png

I have received some interesting feedback about this test. Please keep it coming and let me know your thoughts on the matter.


Related Posts
What Is A Good Time To Post?



Sort:  

Can't wait for further results. Thanks for the experiment and the interesting way you are doing it.

Thank you, I will follow up with part three tomorrow. I won't have time to post tonight and I want to see what happends with this post

Great, I'll keep a look out. Take your time and get good results.

Awesome. So bad for me because at that hour it's like 4-5 in the morning here.

Thanks, This experiment is really fun.

Very interesting. I will stay tuned for the results !

I will post the results of this one tomorrow and continue with the experiment. I will skip the weekend and then continue on monday.

Thank you For this @xervantes.

Upvoted, Resteemed, and I was already following.

:)

Steem Trust Meme.jpg

Thanks for the support

Cool idea man, keeping a track of views. Maybe we can find some actual numbers, graphs on daily activity and activity throughout the day, to better give us an idea of what's going on.

Thank you for putting this together @xervantes ! You have my full support

Good Idea. I will gather the data and make a graph.

Thanks again, Your writing is in my head since the last post, but my fingers don't listen. Every blog I make takes it's toll on me, and the best thing I could do, is chill and review it, while waiting for a good time to click POST. But Alas, my fingers win out every time? I'm hopeless.
But appreciate the good advice. keep posting and some day.....?
Cheers

Just use Streemian so you can schedule your post. I have used it twice now. Works like a charm, I can even post while I am at work.

Going there now :-)
I'll scoot you some coin, If it works, when & if I make it work LOL
Thanks again

Very good post :) I like this info :)

Thank you, I will be posting step 3 on monday, stay tuned :)

Cool...and Yes I waiting :)

Upvoted. Just what I was looking for. Thanks.

Thank you. Keep in mind that the time zone in which you live also matters. Posting at night might not be ideal because you can't reply to comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54