You don't like my content? Too bad.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Just because I don't care what you think, doesn't mean I don't care what you think...


I hear a lot of talk these days about people not liking other people's content and I am getting rather tired of it. For instance, this is my blog and I am responsible for what I post and how I choose to promote my post and how I engage with my commenters. I think It would be really strange to complain about someone's post and their choice to not promote it, but isn't this essentially the same thing? I don't think it's any of my business to decide for someone else what is considered "quality content" and what is not. Am I going to go through my life worrying about what other people would like me to post and how I choose to be seen? Will I start asking people what I should wear next? Or what I should buy at the store? I don't think so. Where do we draw the line?


I think it's rather simple to just ignore a blog. I think it's rather simple to not try and understand why somebody chooses to promote their post with bots or to try to network to increase upvotes, we are all in a different boats here on steemit and floating in the same sea so everyone makes choices that are best for themselves. The community is strong but at the same time everyone is looking out for themselves and in my opinion this will never change. It may be the one flaw in the platform that cannot be changed through a HF. People are people and when they are experiencing FUD they will instinctively re-think their tactic to better insulate themselves. Using bots, revoking delegations, un-following, and un-engaging all together. This should never be questioned in my opinion, every steemian has their own choice to maintain their blog in the way they see fit in my opinion.

It's unfortunate that people are people, this is just the way it is and it's never going to change. There are so many idealistic conversations going around that suggest this can be changed if we work together and I think in small doses this is true. Things will always come back to selfish ways when a person feels FUD if they are not careful. FUD is very contagious and it can spread like a virus and I have seen It happen over and over again and I don't like it at all. One can spend all their time talking people down from the rafters but one conversation after they will be back to FUD and back to selfish ways. It's human nature.


This is a work in progress. I never blogged before I came to steemit, all I did was post things that I thought were cool in my everyday activities on facebook for 12 years and I feel this is what everyone else did too. They did whatever they wanted until they got the reprimand. These guidelines are what made it so popular and it didn't seem to interfere with everyday like the steemit platform does and especially the discord(although this proved to be wrong). It's a huge transition moving to steemit from other social media sites and has a way of changing our everyday lives to the point where it's much more addicting than all the others combined. For me it's not a problem because I am not pinning all my hopes on the success of steemit although I am an investor and would like to see it moon, I don't rely on it. This is where all the judgement about "quality content" comes in and people reacting to what other people are doing as they feel it is impacting the platform in a negative way. In my opinion the only thing negative about the platform is the evil of mankind doing what it does best, trying it's hardest to control things that are not meant to be controlled through technology.




Steemit logo

Discord




@Vladivostok

Sort:  

I'm really 100% with you about this, what people choose to blog about and how they choose to promote it or get reward value is entirely the choice of the blog owner.

I'm confident that we will see this platform grow and prosper, but it is going need engagement to do that - what makes this place so unique is comments on posts - lively discussions and real interaction, that for me is what adds the real value.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

This is my thought too, without engagement there is no hope. The negative engagement is what is killing other social media sights, and without engagement this will die too. I love the people here and spend most of my time on discord engaging but work really hard to keep up with everything and build friendships. Sometimes it makes all the difference in whether of post is good or bad, if you know where the person who wrote the blog is coming from and actually care. Really appreciate your engagement and thoughts

yesh.... i sez this to peeps all the time, they like "this/that is a shit post". i respond with something along the lines of "its in the eye of the beholder".

for instance i am pretty certain that most of my philosophy peeps have no interest in cars and vice versa, nut there may be some exceptions. same as those interested in my food recipe items probably don't care too much about my insurance expose stuff AND my moozik community probably dont give a shit about my cat.... but you know who does care about those things? the people IN those specific communities!!!

We really need to stop comparing ourselves to others and feeling as though we have the right to force our autonomy and beliefs on others, Particularly when it come to things that are SUBJECTIVE such as this.

But its hard to fight the HOOMAN condition and leave the ways of old behind. The way forward is not the path behind us.... but there is still some learning to do on the front for hoomanity ;) all we can do is the best we can till the rest catch up to whats going on.

I always love the way you put things in such an understandable way, I think you are great Mang! As if this platform is not hard enough as it is and anyone truly working it knows this. Shit post is the funniest thing I ever heard and I feel like if i hear it again I am going to take a photo of some dog shit, post it, and bot vote it up to $2000 :) Appreciate your insight brother, I see you just posted something so I am going there next :)

Thanks mang!!!! Well i dooz my best and try to keep it light hearted, however it can sometimes be difficult to get people to see things beyond their own perspective. if we are willing to utilize empathy, compassion and understanding (which tend to be part of our natural thought process mind you) , then we gain the insight needed to neutralize the kind of aggression for others we see in these kinds of situations... but what can we do? some of hoomanity has further to go than others ;)

PS when i first got on th eplatform there was a guy who posted a video of himself opening his mail (and getting a utilities bill i think) and that racked in 60SBD and thousands of upvotes. I still dont understand why or how.... but i still dont give a shit ;) not my monkeys, not my circus.

long and short do yo thang baby, dun worry what others are doing, cause while we are out there looking at others grass and complaining how green it is compared to ours, we are failing to tend to our own grass.... you feel me ? but thats just me :)

that's what I am talking about, some people got a way to go, we are all in a different boat on the same steemit sea is why I feel, and it's very difficult to judge a fish till you've swam in his skin.. So why bothering judging at all, I would rather learn about someone and find out where they are coming from, and if I don't like a post maybe it's just me. I don't even like my own posts sometimes....I wonder if should just start downvoting myself :) All we can do is keep our side of the street clean. I totally agree with you on this one....thanks for being you:)

Just be the best you that you can be and fuck what the rest of the world thinks or sez bout it, much love mang.

well thought out, and agreed. however people need to remember that when they are asking for an upvote or any kind of approval from a group who votes, they are actually risking someone saying they dont like it, because people are entitled to their opinions and protocol for voting whatever they think is quality.

the trick is to not take it personally, or if you really value that person or groups opinion, take a look at what they are saying and see if you want to do things differently.

above all, we should always be challenging ourselves to branch out and learn new skills. i've fought making videos for the longest time. now im determined to get better!

this is all true, people are at all different levels here, for me it is very difficult to do everything! I work many many hours a day to improve and my rate of improvement is very slow so I am always trying to get better....I am like you. I am determined.

Many of us out here/there like the old adage: if you don't like what's on, change the channel.

Right, or just go back to facebook. Doesn't make any sense to be on a de centralized plateform to be told what to say. It's a lot of what's wrong with the world right now

Now this statement is totally worth the emphasis

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

I completely agree- complaining about content on someone else's blog is like complaining you don't like a certain shop- just don't go there then, simple! A blog is a personal outlet for communication, don't like it don't come.

WE think alike ..I don't know where or how this common sense was lost but it's truly lost. Time to find it again. I like your analogy, nobody is going to force to shop at a store I don't want to shop, even my wife has a hard time making me do it ..Steem on!

Couldn't agree more. If you like fine, if not that's fine, too. Simply stay away if you don't like it!

Totally brother, I don't know why it has to be so hard. I guess for the same reason people cause traffic having to look at an accident.

Curiosity killed the cat.

I do like it tho 😘 nice brain.

haha, thank you :)

you are right and this happen to me so many times

I am so tired of hearing it. Giving suggestions is one thing, but unsolicited advice is annoying.

Hahaha that's the right spirit! As long as you're good with it, it doesn't matter! Keep it up :)

Posted using Partiko Android

My feeling exactly, Thank you :)

Ppl tend to be crybabies, and capitalism tend to make ppl assholes, this site have little of both, and for some individuals bring the worst of both things.

yup, I just want to do my thing and try my hardest and learn, I am here to help people and spend hours a day helping, more time helping than posting. I want the worst of both worlds out of my universe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58584.45
ETH 2302.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48